Phone Scoop

printed August 1, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1372&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  BlackBerry  ›

BlackBerry Pearl 8120

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  87  

Average Ratings

4
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
 
Page 1 2 

Bane of my tech life- BlackBerry Pearl 8120 Frost

 

Apr 11, 2010 by cfields1985

I bought this on the recommendation of the T-Mobile salesperson; ignoring my wife's advice. Three days later the salesperson was telling me "to be patient" and that I would "get used to it". Since then, the BlackBerry Pearl 8120 Frost has only given me problems. There were long delays in doing simple things like making calls and texting. Going through the menus was a nightmare; they are like trying to find your way through Alice's Wonderland. Soon, the phone started to have glitches- it would freeze, strange error messages would appear, etc. I could no longer depend on the alarm function- I lost my job because the alarm failed to go off entirely during a difficult time at my former company. I spent a great deal of time trying to get the device to work only to have it malfunction again and again. I contacted RIM/BlackBerry and repeatedly had my messages refused. When I finally was able to get one through, I never received a response. I ended up sending the device back through T-Mobile's warranty exchange. I was only able to get the same product, and the new BlackBerry is doing the same things as the previous one. The only difference- this time the "2" button sticks.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


GREAT PHONE!

 

Jul 20, 2009 by msdympls

Out of all the phones that i have had,and I have had a many. This is the best phone ever.And oh by the way it is my first blackberry. It is small very womanly phone. I have had no dropped calls, and the speakerphone is great. Went to TEXAS in June and it was great,no problems whatsoever. Also takes good pictures.Texting is easy, overall just a good phone,I WOULD recommend this phone to anyone!! I cant find any cons!!!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Happiness

 

Apr 4, 2009 by sprawk

Pros:
Wifi, easy to use, suretext, menu style, mature (unlike the SideKick), efficient, convenience keys, BB ops system

Cons:
Screen is not as clear as the Bold, needs a better camera, hitting the alt key a thousand times get old.

Easy to use, fast, can even handle the BB App World store and apps! Up the memory, put in a nice cam and enhance the scren and it'll be a dream come true.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


waste of money

 

Dec 15, 2008 by lilshawtstufff

Im very iffy about this phone. At first i really did like it but over time it got really boring and it restarts itself constantly. the T-Mobile store didnt replace it for me but instead showed me how to do a backup and restore. After I did it the problem was still there. its just very annoying and i think it has to do with the loose battery cover. I like the suretype because i was familiar with T9 on my old razor and the suretype is so much better. i like that this phone is slim and i dont mind that its not a full keyboard, but i would prefer it. the sound on it isn't that good. The speakerphone is so horrible, i can hardly hear when it's on. I don't need all the bells and whistles blackberrys have so i'll be exchanging it for something a little more simple. I will miss putting themes on it though, that's really sweet that you can give your phone a theme. I personally wouldn't recommend this phone to anyone because it really needs to be fixed restarting on it's own. idk if it is just mine or not but it's extremly annoying and unfortunatly the only way I can get it fixed is if I file a claim for a new one. Thanks for reading and I hope my short blurb helps someone considering the Pearl.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Improved, but with flaws

 

Nov 18, 2008 by BBgirl1786

I came from the 8100 and while I thought that was a good phone, but 8120 is by far better. But it still has flaws.

PROS:
suretype is improved
camera is much much better
video camera
size is still nice
sound is nice
improved media player

CONS:
suretype is still frustrating
keypad lighting is not as bright as 8100
shuts off randomly when put in standby mode
reboots when put down hard or dropped
memory card needed formatting or else it wouldn't work
sometimes the buttons decide not to work
although size is nice, it's uncomfortable to type on for a long period of time

There are more pros and cons, but overall, although I really like the 8120, in the last few weeks it has given me problem after problem.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


First Blackberry

 

Nov 11, 2008 by TMobRulz

Wasn't sure what to expect as this is first Blackberry. Like its "business sense". It does it all w/o it being a kid's phone.

Pros: Screen, camera, trackball (this is not a touch screen and that's fine w/me). Software is pretty responsive. It is s sturdy, Overall a handy, useful phone.

Cons: Keys are a bit small for bigger fingers, but you get used to it. Texting takes a while to learn, but no problem. Set up takes a while, but then it's done.

Like it lot. This is a good business phone/organizer...NOT a toy.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good phone

 

Oct 8, 2008 by dallyman

Used this phone on the T-mobile Network

Pros:

* Regular Headphone Jack!
* Good Music Player
* Takes Video (Most Blackberry phones don't)
* Plenty of free games, apps, and themes
* Wi-Fi calling
* Good call clarity
* Stereo headphones included
* great Internet experience especially if you use Opera browser
* Good integration with many messaging programs
* Good integration with FaceBook using an app
* Good battery life (especially when using standby when not using the phone)
* Memory card slot is easily accessed on the side of the phone ... You don't have to remove the battery like many other Blackberry phones

Cons:

* (worst con) You must remove the battery often (sometimes twice daily if you use your phone often) otherwise your messages, phone log, and Facebook applications
* Low on-board memory
* Cannot load apps on the memory card
* Often drops calls when going from a UMA environment to a regular network, but has no issues switching from a regular network to a UMA.
* Phone has poor use of RAM ... using the web browser eats up the memory quickly ... will cause crashes if you are not watching your memory status
* Camera does not take good outdoor photos at all and it is not as crisp as many other 2MP cameras that I have used

Even with cons, it is my favorite Blackberry (owned 7 Blackberry phones) and it is a good phone all in all.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page 1 2 

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1