Phone Scoop

printed August 21, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1363&s=h&p=3

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Palm  ›

Palm Centro 690 (CDMA)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

4.07
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 12 3 456...11

help!!

 

Feb 10, 2009 by angelinekeene2009

i absolutely love this phone, and when i figure it out i will even more!! but i need some help with it...i cannot figure out how to get pictures sent && how to set a wallpaper. plz help me somebody!!!=) email me...sexytakenmamma20@yahoo.com if u are willing to help me figure this phone out.=) thanks alot!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


why me?

 

Feb 3, 2009 by Car2njunky

i believe i am being generous with the rating. why? i have had this phone since april 08 and in the last few months it has started to soft reset when ever it feels like it. i also wish the camera was better.i tried to customize this phone by getting an new pen/stylus combo.... it stopped reading my sd card. i have never been able to complete a hard rest. did i mention the getting the battery cover off would test the patience of a Jedi? ( not anikin of course)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


just read the review not the name

 

Feb 2, 2009 by nuggetfan94

Okay first off i got this phone about 3 days ago... 2 days ago it broke. The boot loader would leave the screen and the phone wouldn't take me to the main menu. I then went to verizon and they gave me a new one. that same night my new one broke.
It is a very cool phone i must say though
within the 3 days i had it it was exciting. the performance was great, the Internet not so much.
now to the pros and cons
Pros
hot-sync- you can send applications to your smart phone
Great performance
cool touch interface
qwerty keyboard
customizable interface
camera
Cons
terrible Internet
short battery life
doesn't fully charge when it should
squished in keyboard

so if you want to take your chances with this phone... GOOD LUCK! it is a very fun phone and has a great efficiency so you can get what you want done. if not try other fun phones out and they might just be better than this one(might-will)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Updated Version of Palm Centro for Sprint in Green

 

Jan 31, 2009 by MissSLM07

I did my 30 day exchange yesterday and I switched from the Pink Katana Eclipse X to the Centro and I love it.

Pro:

The color...I love the green. They call it Olive green but its more like a Spring green.

Its compact size. Its still a little thick but still fits in my pocket with no prob.

Palm OS is very easy to use.

MMS capable unlike the BB Curve I originally wanted.

I like that you can change the theme colors.

Takes nice pix.

I love how text messages are threaded like IM messages.

I read a lot of complaints about the construction of the phone. They said that the plastic feels flimsy and cheap??? I don't think so. It has a pretty solid build.

Cons:

The battery life is ok but wish it was more around 5.5 hours on a single charge instead of about 4.

This is my first PDA and Im glad Palm made a PDA for beginners like me. Kudos to Palm.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


most useful phone

 

Jan 15, 2009 by thegreatmrrico

Personally, I've always had a palm. I love their OS, style, and how simple it is to do anything you would want to do on your phone. I have had the Centro for about 6 months now. Before that I had the 755. Don't see too much of a difference between the two other than size. The thing I love most about palm's is the millions of freeware out there. There hasn't been anything I wanted to do with it that I couldn't find. Even random things like reading the bible and even a contraction labor timer can all be done with free applications. Plus the built in kinoma player makes it possible for me to watch movies, listen to music, even watch tv through my computer at home. who needs 8g memory with free features like that? Install Orb on your computer at home and that's all you need to do. Orb is free. Anyways, great phone. Too bad with the announcement of the Palm Pre, I know I'll be switching soon. The Pre looks amazing. Hopefully soon people will realize palm's superiority.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


great phone

 

Jan 6, 2009 by JL9000

i traded in my instinct for this phone and i have to say it was well worth it i love this phone the internet browser the camera everything about this phone is great the only con would be the battery

true story: i was givin my lil one a bath and the phone was knocked outta my hand all the way into the bath tub of bubbles took a lil while to find it when i got the phone out after a few shakes and drying the battery phone still works perfect

would recommend this phone to any one

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Centro for Verizon, Does everything I need it to

 

Dec 4, 2008 by queueman

For those of you not familiar with Palm, the functions include calendar, address book, memos, and to do lists. All synchronize with your computer, using either USB or Bluetooth. The Centro has a QWERTY keyboard and touch screen. The Centro also has infrared beaming capability.
The Verizon version of the Centro comes with Documents to Go, Google Maps, and Pocket Tunes. A nice feature is that, if you have someone's address in contacts, you can map from the contact and get driving directions to or from another location. The functions are nicely integrated.
Pros and Cons:
Pros:
• As a phone, the clarity is the best of any cell I have had. It is as good as a land line.
• Size-it is small enough to easily carry in a shirt pocket.
• Full QWERTY keyboard.
• Excellent screen resolution (320x320)
• Decent camera 1.3 mega pixels.
• Documents to Go includes Word, EXCEL, PowerPoint and pdf reader.
• E-mail and web functions work well. I got the e-mail and web package for $29.99 per month.
• The intuitive nature of the Palm operating system.
• Ergonomics-it is easy to hold and use and has both a keyboard and a touch screen. (It is, however, slick like a bar of soap. I got a "sticky" form fitting case, so it has never slipped from my hand.)
• There are literally thousands of applications available. I have purchased Holidates, which can add holidays from many countries and religions, as well as moon phases to your calendar. For entertainment, I've added Spider, Free Cell and Scrabble. I also have a dictionary.
• Memory-The Centro has 128MB of storage. I have used less than half of it. The Centro will also accommodate a 4 gig micro SD card.
• Pocket Tunes Deluxe Version is included. It is easy to import MP3 or WMA music files using Windows Media Player.
Cons:
• Battery life needs to be improved. In summary, the Centro does everything I need it to do, and it does them well. I've had my Centro for about five months and have had no problems so far.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Centro's Sound

 

Nov 18, 2008 by Shop2kill

I have had the Treo 700, Treo 755 and the Centro 690.

PROs - Great screen, etc, etc, etc. Everything works great except

CON's The SOUND! On the Centro it's horrendous. If there is the least bit of noise (like someone breathing) you can't hear. You have to lock yourself in a closet to get quality sound. My husband has the same phone, same problem.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Excellent All-Around Phone

 

Nov 11, 2008 by Gighive Editor

This phone has treated me well! I recently had a BB Pearl and found that I was just paying extra service fees for the size.

This phone does everthing I need it to do and is very pocket friendly.

The only con are the buttons, but I have gotten used to them, especially having used the Pearl.

I recommend this phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone...Big Problems

 

Sep 14, 2008 by crystalb_honda_lover

This phone is great for surfing the web, texting, signal strength, basically everything you want and intend the phone to do, it does.

Pros:
Fast Internet
Full keyboard
Great Signal
Easy menus
Terrific size

Cons:
*VERY SHORT battery life
*Mine does hard resets on its own, deleting information all throughout my phone (thank goodness I always sync up with my computer)
Sometimes even does the hard reset in the middle of an important phone call
*The keys are cracking, I have a hairline size crack between my home key and phone key

Overall, I do like the phone, just need the kinks worked out. From what I understand it just may be the one bad apple out of the batch, we shall see once it's replaced. I'd buy it all over again, good phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 12 3 456...11

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2