Phone Scoop

printed April 18, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1347

Home  ›  Phones  ›  HP  ›

HP iPAQ 910 Business Messenger

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  69  

Average Ratings

2.7
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Just bought it 2 weeks ago

 

Sep 23, 2008 by JTTXEuless

Originally, I bought the Nokia N95 8GB US a little over 2 months ago, mostly because of the camera and video capabilities, and also have never fully gotten over the "not an iPhone" regret. After much experimentation, I finally realized that I needed a real business phone, with a real typeable keyboard for email, and strong datacom features like HSDPA and WiFi. I also wanted to ensure it had a large library of available business add-on apps.

PROS:

HSDPA is FAST on the AT&T network. I'm getting real DSL speeds.

Touch screen is responsive and quick menu changes.

GPS satellite acquisition seems a lot faster than the Nokia N95.

CONS:

The keys are a bit small for large hands. I like the Motorola Q'a keyboard the best.

The touchscreen controls are too small for fingers.. you have to pretty much use the stylus. Yes, I know.. it's not an iPhone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Long Term Review

 

Apr 21, 2009 by BigRig

Pros

Features and lots of them! I'll just keep it simple here but very fast Internet 3G on T-Mobile I have not experienced any down load problems or slow e-mail speeds.
The Stereo Blue tooth is sweet especially when streaming audio to my JVC Stereo in my truck (I just use the stereo remote to control the windows media player) or laptop I also suggest investing in a good Stereo Bluetooth head set Plantronics 590 works well for me. File storage is good upgraded mine to a 8gig micro SD works just fine. I leave it on for weeks at a time with no crash's or hangs.(Have Had the key board hang though. Theres a patch to fix that available for download on HP's Web site)The windows operateing system is a breeze to use Touchscreen works ok with the stylus or even a pen if you have a screen protector like I do. I love how simple it is to sync with my desktop and laptop keeping my spreadsheets and data,music and video files up todate. As well as using it as a tethered Modem at times has been a lifesaver on the road.

Cons:

Touchscreen is small as well as recessed. Needs to be a bit larger and a flat flush screen. But only a minor complaint Now.
Have had issues with the stereo bluetooth that was fairly simple to resolve.Have seen a few complaints on other sights were some one was haveing the same issue and didn't know it was just a simple setting fix. To sum it up when i first got the phone I was kind of disapointed since I was switching from a Blackberry. and lost a lot of blackberry features. But after haveing it awhile I truly have come to love this phone. It was well worth the 500.00 I gave for it even though I rated it a 4 and not a 5 I'd truly buy another

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Great Phone

 

Jan 22, 2009 by mrstaticx

I like the phone, I go through alot of phones and so far the iPaqs have held up the best. I used to own a 6515 and I trashed it, that thing could withstand a 5 ft drop onto concrete. So when I purchased the 910 I also purchsed and aluminum case in which to protect it.

PROS

- I used microsoft outlook and having a windows based phone makes it incredibly easy to sync.

- Tom Tom, again since its microsoft based all you need to do is install tom tom and your good to go!

- External GPS receiver - you can buy an add-on from HP for $25. I dont have this but I heard it really does help your gps signal.

- Contrary to what phone scoop says the 910 does in fact have a vibrate feature.

- Stylus is in a great location, it fits well and I have yet to lose it which is a great accomplishment

- Looks great
- WIFI
- Touchscreen

CONS

- It is a microsoft based phone so you know it has glitches. The keyboard locks up randomly and it needs to be reset.

- It freezes occasionally when receiving text messages. Usually just need to let it sort itself out and it will download them just fine.

- when typing in a text the characters show up a bit after you hit a key

- Recessed touch screen, i was hoping the screen would be level with the rest of the phone to help keep it clean

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not what I expected from HP

 

Sep 29, 2008 by ipaqsucks

I waited many months for this phone and couldn't wait to get it. I paid premium money for it. I've now had it for almost three months and its currently my main cell phone. It turned out not to be what I had expected from a reputable and professional company like HP.

Pros:
-Great reception, Not a single dropped call
-Lots of features
-Completely unlocked
-World Phone
-Full keyboard, although I do find the keys to be small even though I wouldn't classify myself as having fat nor skinny fingers.

Cons:
-UNRELIABLE, this phone needs a reboot every morning otherwise it will crash and operate very slow.
-SLOW, most realized when swapping between applications you can actually see the window being drawn out. Even though I monitor and keep task manager clean of un-necessary applications this still appears to be an issue.
-GLITCHY: keyboard will freeze and not operate from time to time, touch screen will still work. A hard reboot always resolves the problem.
-GPS: takes too long for it to pick up signal. By the time it starts to display the route I'm usually at my destination.
-BATTERY, has a huge battery. The touch screen appears to take a lot of juice. If used a couple hours a day battery will drain out by night. If used just as a phone and some email the battery will usually last you two days. Takes approximately 3 hours to fully charge battery.
-MISSING FEATURES, has a few vital features missing such as you can't specify a custom ringtone for alarm clock???
-SPEAKER, the speaker sucks real bad, not much more volume compared to the end you place on your ear.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This phone sucks sooooooooo bad!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

Jan 14, 2009 by catman3211996

This phone is so annoying! I don't like how the touchscreen uses a stylus because i don't like to keep holding the stylus in my hand and ill put it back in when I'm done using it and then when i need to use it again i don't like how it takes kind of a long time. I also don't like the battery life because its too short. Another thing that i don't like about this phone is that when i get a multimedia message it takes forever for the message to download into the phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1