We're giving away 10 HTC One (M8) harman/kardon edition phones for Sprint! Enter now!
Phone Scoop

printed October 2, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1330

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola i335

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  24  

Average Ratings

2.96
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Excellent Rugged Basic Phone

 

Mar 13, 2009 by hdtravel

If you like a phone that is rugged, basic and just well works good as a phone than you will like the i335.

Pros:

Low Cost
Loud Audio
Clear Audio
Loud & Clear speakerphone
Easy to use
Rugged rubberized case
Has cool walkie-talkie feature

Cons:

Display is kind of low resolution

Works on the Boost iDen network.

Really nice for those that just want a simple, basic, rugged phone to talk to people.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Stay away from Boost Mobile & Motorola!

 

Nov 29, 2008 by badi335

Short version: Stay away from Boost Mobile & Motorola!
Long Version: I bought a Boost Mobile Motorola i335 less than 3 months ago. It died on me. It worked fine one afternoon when I placed it on the table, yet found it inoperable 3 hours later. I never dropped it. I didn't do a thing to it! It had messages in the negative zone (-1 messages, for example); the buttons didn’t work, and I could not turn it off. I had to take the battery out to turn it off. When powered up, the phone wouldn't boot up. I talked to two service reps that couldn't help me (names withheld). They gave me a phone number to Boost’s Customer Care. Apparently, the repair / replacement division is closed 8:00pm PST despite Boost's website claim of “business hours, 4am PST – 11pm PST”. This piece of garbage cost me $60, and it lasted less than three months. Update-- As of Nov 26, 2008: 1) I wrote Boost's "Customer Care" center and asked for the names of corporate officers so that I could write them over my problems. I never received anything; i.e., I was totally ignored. After all, isn’t that why Boost's website has on its web page: “Have a question?” But, I found their leaders on my own and will be writing Schaumburg, IL, corporate, expressing my extreme dissatisfaction. 2) As of yesterday, Nov 28, 2008, the incoming text message on my new (2nd)“durable" i335 phone doesn't work (this 2nd warranted replacement is 10 days old, mind you). This is the sole reason I upgraded from my i205 phone. Does anyone know, does Boost Mobile / Motorola intentionally turn off features to make it appear there is a need to upgrade, meaning $$? Despite the i335 looking good and having pretty lights, that doesn't mean a thing if it's not reliable. Motorola and Boost Mobile reeks of bad business.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Good Value

 

Dec 9, 2007 by duker665

Gives you the much needed rugged quality at a much smaller size than the i355. Very nice

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I335 is a pretty decent phone

 

Nov 28, 2007 by CoachDad

I've been using the phone for a few days now. It's a pretty decent looking phone. A bit on the long side but manageable. It seems to have all the same things that most other Nextel phones have as far as functionality goes. I haven't had any issues with dropped calls or anything of that nature. I like it

CONS

Charger door on side (flimsy)
Length ( would be a bit nicer if compacted)

PROS

Slim & Light
Bluetooth
Meets military specs (good if you drop phones)
Carbon Fiber look

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not worth it

 

Feb 8, 2012 by canicallyou

I would call this phone a phone you'd want to use if you were really really desperate. And even when you are desperate, it's not very reliable at getting a signal. It's not user-friendly in the least compared to most basic phones. In the week I had to use it, I had a problem with calls cutting out, messaging, and it shutting off. At least you can drop it off a building and it'll still work right? Then again, I never tested that.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


good basic phone

 

Jul 23, 2009 by knuckleballer34

My favorite of the three iDEN phones i've had the chance to use over the summer. It's basic and doesn't pack much pizazz, but there's something to admire about that.

Pros:
-good reception and call quality.
-speakerphone is outstanding, better than the i776
-walkie/talkie mode with a claimed six mile radius. I didn't use it, but it's a feature that might come in handy for some users
-keypad is well built; backlight is strong in the dark

Cons:
-mobile web is almost non-existant.
-gps wasn't anything to write home about
-i know it's boost, but there's no excuse for such a small screen on this phone.

The i335 is a basic phone with great reception, call quality, and PTT capability. If your looking to use mobile web at all, this is not the phone for you. But for such a basic phone, I really liked it a lot. I'd recommend it over the i776

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good for a while.............

 

Feb 5, 2009 by kaylaandjohn9106

At first this phone was wonderful. About 5 months after the purchase, I would be in the middle of a conversation and the phone would shut off for no reason. The battery is not very good either. It would stay charged for about 6 hrs. a day. I loved this phone at first, however in the end it was a loss!!!!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


great phone

 

Dec 7, 2008 by Grown_n_sexy

I brought the new i335 by boost mobile and i got to admit its the best phone boost mobile has come out with,along with the i776 phone.i been a boost mobile customer and owned most of the previous phones they had and the i335/i776 are great phones. both the i335 and i776 both have 100% clear display/resolution,slim,bluetooth,etc and a new text messaging upgrade,which means you no longer gotta wait for a incoming text message to download as soon as it comes it,it opens

PROS of the i335

-Slim & Light

-Bluetooth

-Meets military specs (good if you drop phones)

-Carbon Fiber look

-100% clear display/resloution

-text upgrade no more waiting for a message to download

-longer battery life

CONS of the i335

-battery cover is hard to take off

i recommend the i335 and i776 to everyone those are the new generation of boost mobile phones and alot better

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nice looking JUNK!

 

Nov 8, 2008 by GarthKlaus

A good looking, easy to use phone that has a nicer display and is much smaller than the i305 it replaced. For 91 days...

It started acting up and then just gave up. Nextel refferred me to Motorola; Motorola told me Nextel would honor the warranty. Neither will stand behind this phone.

Conclusion: If you want a good looking, compact Nextel phone and don't mind replacing it three or four times a year... at your cost... this is the phone for you.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Getting There

 

Jan 10, 2008 by premiercom

This is the way Nextel needs to go. Catching up with the rest of the carriers. Nextel is still in there. I like this phone. Many of my customers are changing over to it for it's rugged design and bluetooth capabilities.

Pros:
Small
Thin
Bluetooth capable
No dropped calls
PTT
Small price

Cons:
New battery
New Car Charger
New Charger

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1