Phone Scoop

printed April 24, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1289

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SGH-A737 / SGH-A736

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  59  

Average Ratings

3.64
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Great Little Phone. I Highly Recommend

 

Nov 7, 2010 by clutchxp

I picked up this phone at my local WalMart to replace my Pantech Impact, which I had for only two months. At first glance, I thought this phone was not going to offer me much, but when I booted it up, here's what I found.

PROS

- slider phone (makes it easier so you don't accidentally call someone)

- it's red and black (two colors I like)

- quad band world phone

- audio for both speaker phone and regular sound clear

- I get full bars on this phone where I am

- can send and receive texts just fine

- small and compact

- keypad locks when you slide phone closed

- screen is bright and clear

- keypad lights up pink (even though it's a red phone)

CONS

The only cons that I have found are these:

- Because it's a slider phone, the keys are flat, which makes it really hard to either text or dial a telephone number.

- I tried to access the My Stuff section on my microSD card and there was an error message that came up reading that my media card was not formatted. It asked if I wanted to reformat the card. I shut the phone off and turned it back on and it's okay now.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


SWEET

 

May 28, 2009 by fer712

this phone is great easy to use great features this phone has it all not good for people with big fingers. good for texting

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Samsung A737, a good phone

 

Jan 6, 2009 by wolfdude359

I have owned this phone for 7 months, and am so far very pleased. I knew from the get go that this phone would be different from all my other phones, and this is no exception.

Pros:
*Very light weight (only weighs 3.16 oz)
*Slim
*Durable (I have dropped this phone MANY times, and still works like new)
*MicroSD slot (I love the expandable memory)
*MP3 ringtones
*Wide range of Voice (GSM, UMTS) and Data (GPRS, EDGE, & HSDPA) coverage capabilities
*Bluetooth 2.0
*Large internal phonebook (1000 enries, plus added capacity in SIM)
*MP3 player
*Good camera resolution (1.3 megapixel)
*Assorted tools (calculator, calendar, alarm clock, and various conversion tools)

Cons:
*Relatively small internal memory (50 MB) (requiring a MicroSD card in order to hold more than a couple full length MP3's)
*Gets rather warm while charging or screen is left on long
*Battery life (I find myself charging every other day, but I find that to be expected as many new phones require much more power)
*Screen scratches (I also find this to be expected, as the screen isn't protected like on a flip phone)
*MP3 Ringtones are required to be smaller than 300k (which either limits play length or reduces MP3 quality, a fact I have learned to live with)
*AT&T MEdiaNet (web access) button being located on the center navigation button (something I have also had to get used to)

All in all, I find this to be a WONDERFUL phone in and of itself. Anyone who complains that this phone is not like their old phone needs to realize that all phones are not created equally.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Multi_Featured Phone

 

May 16, 2008 by CellManiac1

This phone is amazin'. I recived this phone on April 7,2008. When I first got this phone it had minor probs. Like Little overheating. When You have this phone 4 at least a month. There aren't really any problems... I got this phone as a (refurb) for 39.99.... it was an amazin price... The battery life is longer than i expected it 2 be... The music plays perfect on this device.... This is one of my first at&t samsung phones. I'm a razar/motorola guy....... I switched from sprint 2 at&t.... In my opoinon sprint had bad billing and customer service... A Damn SHAME..... I would recommend this 2 any friend or family memeber.... The Camera is great/With MicroSd Storage don't have 2 worry/With MicroSd

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Overall Phone

 

May 2, 2008 by laoboikaven

This is a great light weight phone with great features.

Cons: Camera is decent, buttons look good, great sound quality whether it's speaker or ear bud. Durable, I've dropped it on the side walk and didn't get a whole lot of scratches.

Pros: Easily get smudges on the screen, freezes when your receive a text message, if your watching a video and your get a text message it slows down a lot. When you have the button lights on for a long time the back of the phone tends to get hot.

Other than that, it's a great phone. I've had it for about a month now and the last slider phone I had broke cause I kept dropping it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


cool

 

Feb 12, 2008 by nilo

What a nifty little phone, first day I had it I knocked it into the sanitizer bucket at work(I'm a cook) naturally i freaked. not to worry, I pulled it out, and it was soaked. I could see the water sloshing around in the screen. I opened it all up, let it dry for a day, and it still works after a month now. don't try this at home, or work. great reception for my area too.

pros: fun phone, my honey has one too.
water resistant
good features

cons: darn att center button, kept jumping me to the INTERNET, had to disconnect service manually because i still think its the menu button(from my nokia days)

overall a good phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This phone..is awesome!

 

Feb 2, 2008 by lukeyduke45012

Ok, so i bought this phone about 2 1/2 months ago. I have to say, its been a good one. Its been the best phone i have ever had. I am horrible at my phones ok people. I break like 30 phones a contract, its bad. Not this baby. The slider is awesome. I can be anywhere and talk on it and i don't even have to slide it up! The unlocking option is so easy and helpful when you need stuff right away. The MP3 player is awesome! The only thing i have to really complain about, is they didn't but a speaker on the outside where the ringer plays like most phones. Ok, so its a slider phone and it comes out of the ear piece, so what! The chocolate has a speaker. Nbd tho. I love it. Parents, if your going to get your kid a phone form ATT, do it up man! Get them this one ok. I was a victim of the ATT buying out Cellular One, im glad i was! Cell-one sucked hardcore. Att gets way better service and their phones are saweet! None of my friends have ATT, but oh well. I have the Lime Green one and i love it. I cant wait for my contract to be up so i can get another one of these bad boys! Buy it! Get it? Got it? Good!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great little slider phone

 

Jan 6, 2008 by ColsTiger

I just bought this phone for my daughter as a Christmas present. This is only the second Samsung model I've purchased. Her first phone was a Samsung SGH-c207 that worked well for an entry level phone. I tend to be a Motorola guy even though I've been carrying an Apple iPhone since June, but she wanted this little Samsung and I couldn't argue with the price.

Pros:

Very fast downloads when in a 3G area. Currently we don't have 3G in our hometown, but in Atlanta and San Antonio 3G was prevalent and speedy.

Talk time better than anticipated. Reviews say only about 3.5 hours, but she hasn't had any problem with the battery dying quickly. Stand by time is similar to our other phones. She usually charges it about every four or five days.

Loaded with features. Camera is much better than the old VGA cameras. This one is 1.3MP.

Cons:

At&t advertised this phone at $24.99 but that was only if the account had a qualifying data plan. Of course this wasn't in the advertisements on television or on their web site so it was a little bait and switch which is so common among all cell phone providers. The final price after the mail in rebate was $49.99 so I can't complain too much.

Keypad is tiny but not really any smaller than the RAZR that she had used for the last 18 months.

The phone doesn't come with a mini SD card, so if you want to listen to music and not store it on the phone's memory, then you'll need to buy one.

You'll need to buy the Samsung stereo headphones with the incorporated mic. It's a 2.5mm pin and won't work with your standard ear buds. Also, there is not an adapter so you can use the more standard 3.5mm headsets. I picked up the Samsung headset on ebay for about $10.

Overall, it's a neat little slider phone for the money. It wouldn't work for me because I like the organizer and mail features on a smartphone, but for someone that just wants a durable, fun, little phone, the Samsung SGH-A737 is a great choice.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


nice phone

 

Dec 5, 2007 by patroldawg

This really is a good phone. It does what Samsung advertises. Several people here are complaining and marking down the phone because of "poor screen" or whatever. People should be aware of the phones specs before they buy. The resolution, battery life, all that stuff is here on phonescoop for research before purchase.

Pros:
1. Simple and easy to use
2. Good battery life
3. Excellent screen res. for the phone's price point

Cons:
1. Protecting a slider screen can be a pain
2. Samsung's failure to standardize charger ports

Why can't all phones just have mini USB charge ports?

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A737 - Gets Hot In Back of SIM Card

 

Jan 7, 2008 by fayem

I have had the A737 for about 2 months now. I really like the phone over all. The only complaint I have is that it gets very hot on the back where the SIM is located and also you cannot change the main screen to other selector colors, other than orange. Also when a call comes in, it shows the caller id information on the left side, it would be better if shown in the middle of the screen and the center navigation button should be programed to to to the menu, instead of the internet browser. I am on my third A737 Blue phone in 2 months. I am trying to find one that does not get hot on the back when I have been talking only for 5 minutes. The 2nd A737 phone go so hot that I could smell it. It smelled like it was going to catch on fire. This is something I feel the manufacture should look into before someone gets hurt from the phone overheating.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 234...7

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2