Phone Scoop

printed October 23, 2017
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1284

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SCH-R400

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  16  

Average Ratings

3.1
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      

Only a basic calling phones.

 

Jul 25, 2009 by made_for_review

This phone is not fit for anyone use to good items. I have a lot of problems with it.

Pros:
Record Sounds
OK calling
Memo Pad is useful.

Cons:
Scratches easily
Only one speaker

You have to pay for ringtones, and theres only a small selection.

If you are using the phone in slide up mode and slide it down, it exits out what you were doing, very annoying. This also means most of the time the phone will be up, wasting battery life to light up the letters.

My phone is random now. The sound just comes and goes. Yesterday I was in the middle of an important call and my whole phone went mute. Which means no calls, no ringtones, no sound.

Takes a long while to get used to for texting.

Internet is slow.

Have to pay for games.

If you try to send ringtones to phone, it will not work. I have tried them all.

My camera stopped working. Now all the pictures are completely green. Very strange.

Recorded sounds don't sound so nice.

Texting Inbox only holds 70 msgs.

Takes a long time to receive pic msgs.

Downloads take forever.

Bluetooth doesn't work.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I like the phone, I would recommend it.

 

Mar 16, 2008 by Shaunna920

I bought this phone about a week ago, and I like it so far. I have service through MetroPCS, which I believe is one of the only companies carrying this phone.

PROS--->

-It comes in a deep purple color.
-It has a nice sized screen.
-The keypad is very easy to use.
-Has a camera phone, with a small mirror to take pictures of yourself.
-The camera is very simple to use with a shortcut key.
-The camera can be adjusted.
-Bluetooth capability.
-Text messaging, picture messaging, and a feature called "postcard is a different type of picture messaging--I like it!)
-Web browsing, aim, and 411 in the @metro menu.

CONS--->

-I can't call some friends who live locally, but have a long distance number(even though I have the long distance plan) ---but they can call me, and I am able to text them.

-The ringer isn't very loud, but it has a strong vibrate feature, that I can feel vibrating in my purse.

-It doesn't have very many preset images for the wallpaper, but you can set your own pictures as your wallpaper.

-The volume adjust button on the side of the phone will only turn down the ringer volume, not the text alert volume, so you have to go into the menu to change it.

Overall, I like the phone. It's slim and fits in my pocket well. I like the camera, and that its a slider phone. The phone locks automatically when you shut it, so it's super easy to use..

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       reviews continues below...


slicker than your average...

 

Mar 6, 2008 by missautumn

So i just got my phone today and for the most part I love it so here goes..

Pros:

-It now comes in this awesome deep purple color which is way better than the standard silver

-Its sleek design, it actually looks a lot better in person than in the picture

-light weight

-its a slider..woohoo I hate flip phones

-the keys lock when the screen is closed automatically

-the camera is decent

Cons
I haven't really had it for too long but so far this is what I have noticed.

-you cant make recorded sounds your ring tones, but hey I had to give it a try anyway

-the keys are a little hard to text with.

-the background light doesn't stay lit for long like my old samsung and i cant quite figure out how to fix it.

-you can't set text messages and calls to different sound levels

I wouldn't recommend this to someone who is really into camera phones or wants a lot of goodies to come with their phone, because its pretty basic.

Overall its a cute sleek phone, cute color, and it does all the things I need it to do. Also the camera phone is a nice addition.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Big Mistake... I Bought this Phone!

 

Oct 9, 2007 by MetroPCSguy

PROS =
• Small and easy to carry
• Nice screen size
• Photos Good with adjustments
• The slide open is very user friendly
• Good looking phone
• Tip Calculator works well
CONS =
• Sound very poor hand held and Speaker Phone is USELESS! Listener gets echo, hears their own voice and/static. I hear the voice breaking up and choppy words with a good signal strength.
• Extremely short battery life & standby. (EXAMPLE...I fully charged it yesterday morning and since then I made only 13 min of calls, Took two photos and 36 hrs later it needs a full charge!)
• Alarm complicated to set up.
• Navigation button needs small hands with finger nails.
• Rings are not very loud at highest setting.
• Instruction manual poor.
• Cannot update software from phone, must send to Samsung to update it and be without phone.
• Headset + charger have to share a thin slot with an extremely fragile swing open cover that easily breaks off
• Cannot use a wired headset and car charger at the same time
• No Camera Flash
• Voice recognition & dialing makes many many mistakes
• So new that the bugs are not out.

I cannot in good faith recommend this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Solid Samsung Slider

 

Sep 28, 2008 by 2fast4u2fast4u

The Samsung SCH-R400 is a very good choice for MetroPCS users. I have the silver one, but I have heard about a deep plum color as well. The phone is made of a matte plastic. This is excellent because the phone hardly gets any fingerprints. The phone also has an easy-to-read, large, colorful display. The keypad is excellent. It has excellent texture and spacing. Texting and Instant Messaging is a breeze on this phone. Call quality is satisfactory. The navigation toggle is a bit cramped, but not too bad. This phone has a good battery lasting up to two days of texts, calls, web browsing, and using the camera. The 1.3 Megapixel camera takes good pictures for a phone. The speaker phone is average. MetroPCS coverage is okay. I usually get at least one bar here in Southern California. This is by far the best cell phone MetroPCS has to offer. I would highly recommend it. (note: the phone has an internal antenna, Samsung has placed the antenna at the bottom of the phone (notice the hump) this makes the phone get a slightly less powerful signal then typical phones)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


do not buy this phone

 

Apr 4, 2008 by jeremy217

this is an ok phone if you want a phone to do the standard stuff like calls, text (not pics or audio doesn't work on mine), web(only works half the time) and stuff like that.
if you want a phone that is a high quality phone don't buy this one. only way to get a different ringtone then stock you must buy it off of @metro or online that means no bluetooth or text message ringtones. you also cant send anything over bluetooth just make calls.
the speaker for music and calls doesn't work well(it is the headset not a different speaker on the phone)
if a friend or a complete stranger was to ask me if this was a good phone to go with i would say flat out no.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Simple and decent yet in accord with todays technology

 

Nov 15, 2007 by MACKDEEZY510

The Samsung R400 has the basics of what consumers expect from a phone and a little more.

What moved me to buy the phone was its decent style in appearance. It is a slide phone. You also don't see this phone against the ear of the majority. This phone is offered through Metro PCS. (I haven't seen it on any other wireless providers rosters)

After purchasing the phone and using it, I was fully able to determine what the PRO'S & CONS were.

The Pros:
* Decent style
* Slider
* Bluetooth capability for a Wireless Headset
* 1.3Mega Pixels camera phone
* Tip Calcultor for when you go to restaurants
* Unit converter i.e. pound to ounces & more
* Phone seems sturdy and well constructed
* World Wide Web internet (you can search google) I can even get directions, check yahoo mail, Google maps. I was surprised.
*AOL Instant Messenger
*It has speakerphone
* Voice Services (I don't really use that)

and now the CONS:
* You CAN'T transfer or receive files via Bluetooth (however, you can do so thru text messaging)
* Even if you receive a sound file, via text message, you CAN'T set it as a ringtone.
* The battery life is not long. (through normal use, the battery will last about 24 hours; I noticed this when phone was new)
* You can't customize what your arrow keys are.
* Volume is not that loud even on highest setting
* Sound is not that crisp and you hear some echoing at times.

I'm overall satisfied with this phone, but, it doesn't give you that "cutting edge" feeling like todays latest phones. This phone is under Metro PCS, so service is limited to Metropolitan areas, (unless you add money to your account and use thru roaming)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


i like it.

 

Aug 26, 2007 by mzbabiblu16

i just go the phone yesterday and i kinda like it now. i mean..nothings happened to it yet. and true it has no video recording but who needs it though? despite that..the phones nice. it's slim, if you want it comes with a case thing to hold it,blue tooth compatible..its cute! =D

i like it though.if you don't have the text messaging feature on it then you can't receive picture messages though.thats like the only downfall on it.you can receive text messages but no picture messages if you don't have text. if you do have it then i guess the pictures and text can be received. you can also send picture & audio files as well.

i like! =D

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Ok phone

 

Sep 6, 2007 by jfields87

My friend has this phone and is an ok phone. I think that the Samsung SCH-A870 is better

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


.

 

Aug 24, 2007 by heywardmns   updated Jan 7, 2013

.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2017 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2

This is a preview. Click for full glossary page.