Phone Scoop

printed April 20, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=127&s=h&p=4

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SCH-A310

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  7  

Average Ratings

3.63
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 123 4 56789

Decent Phone

 

Aug 21, 2003 by J Thompson

Have the a310 in the ny metro area on verizon. pretty good service overall.

pros
nice size
easy to read
pretty cheap
has pretty respectable analog reception when necessary

cons
horrible battery life
marginal clarity for microphone
drops calls too often
not Get It Now capable so stuck with crappy Samsung rings
Ringer volume very poor
Vibrate only goes constant, doesn't pulse, pretty weak too

Overall I like this phone but more so because I'm on verizon now and not sprint. The battery life is not very good, one day is a plus. It will frequently say its out of batteries and then go to 2 bars left after dropping my call. I have already gotten a new phone and have the same problem, and fully charged the battery 3 times after running it empty.

Other than the battery I like the phone, sometimes i don't come through too clear but i can always hear fine...lastly the ringers stink and even if they were good u cant hear them the volume is so low.......and they vibrate isnt that good, ive had it go off in my pocket without feeling it .

I would recommend going with LG phones over this one. Better service, better batteries, get it now enabled.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I Love This Phone

 

May 4, 2003 by goldo

I have previously owned 3 cell phones. The Samsung A310 is by far the most rugged and has the best clarity of any previous phone. I wear hearing aids and cannot use a number of available phones as they interfere with the hearing aid. The Samsung A310 gives me better reception than my home land-line phones. The features are extremely easy to use and the display is large and bright with the blue back light. I strongly recommend this phone to everyone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Waited this long!

 

Sep 17, 2002 by mroberte

Welp, I went to go get the phone today to replace my really old audiovox cdm-9000. The audiovox was on its last leg. I waited about 4 months for this phone to come out and so far, and maybe about 3 hrs of ownership I'm satisfied with it. I might return it though in the 15 days I have to get the motorola 720. Though its mediocre, I wish the phone had a calculator on it since I am always doing something with a calculator. I do like the interface ALOT better than the previous phone I tried out (LGIC VX1). This phone has basically everything that the vx1 lacked, ie easier navigation, voice activated calling, voice memo. But so far I don't have many complaints about the phone and its SOOO much better than the audiovox. I like the colors though I wish I could assign colors to individual callers instead of the groups. I'm sure the battery life on the phone isn't up to par so I will invest in the car charger and maybe a better battery.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Can you hear me now? Nope.

 

Oct 22, 2004 by Trilla12

This wireless telephone is the first I've owned, but I still realize its problems.

PROs:
Exterior multi-color screen
Large, bright internal display
The Push-Push game (except for the unbeatable Stage 28)
Scheduler

CONs (here we go):
Ringer is almost SILENT at the highest volume level (5), calls missed!
Can barely feel the vibrate, calls missed.
Battery life horrible. Bad reception: People can't hear me. I often hear the comment, "Your phone sucks."
Old-fashioned extendable antenna does nothing.
You have to hold the phone at an awkward position for people to hear you.
Ringers are so cheesey and quiet, horrible selection!
"Invalid Phone #" message all the time w/ phonebook
The "Animation" wallpapers are ridiculous (sailboat? dragonfly?)
Push-Push's Stage 28 is literally impossible to beat.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nice little middle of the line phone

 

May 4, 2004 by jaronspencer

It makes calls, offers good voice quality, has decent reception, and is nice and compact.

PROS: Smallish, light, easy to use buttons, bright display, battery life (it was good for me)

CONS: No color screen, phone-books entries, limited ring tones

You get what you pay for and since my A310 was free I can't complain. A good little phone coming from A Motorola StarTac. I think I got use to the Moto format for phone books because the Samsung seems to be missing things. Limited phone book title length, limited types of numbers for each entry (what is a person has two mobile numbers?), other phone book features aren't very helpful. The calendar and alerts is nice but unless you get the data cable forget it. Pain to enter everything via the dial pad. Quick silence buttons and easy to switch from vibe to ring is nice. The Minibrowser is really just for bragging. Tough phone, I've already dropped it a dozen times and it just keeps on ticking. Outer LCD changes to a dozen colors which makes for a fun feature. The games are OK, but nothing to woo over. Still haven't figured out the answering machine feature or "whisper" mode.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great phone but complicated

 

Jul 13, 2003 by Laketica Ketiriun

Many things to learn about this phone that make it too complicated. To dial a number from your phonebook w/o using voice dial or one of the 500 slots of speed dial (like you will remember all of them!), it takes a lot of button pressing to get to the phonebook and then to the right name and then to the right number and send.

Had a little trouble with the outside little LCD display's color (very pretty though... once it works), don't know if there are software glitches or what, but sometimes the phone seems to get confused unless things are inputted exactly the way it wants it.

Lots of good stuff for this phone though. Very pretty phone and bright blue keypad, very big and clear letters on the LCD display, lots of ringtones to choose from (although the melodies are kind of boring usually), clear reception with Verizon (best reception out of all services so far), sturdy antenna, and size is very ideal for a flip phone with so much stuff on it. Games are a lot of fun, even if there are only 3: best games ever played on a cell. Battery life is pretty good: lasts for quite a while.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A310 Rocks!

 

Jul 12, 2003 by Cathy Lee

I've got this phone for three weeks now. Everything is working perfectly. I really like its size and style. Voice Dialing is a plus. When you look at this phone, you can see the quality, not some piece of cheap plastic. Samsung does make good phones.

After Cingular and AT&T, I think Verizon has the best reception. No dropped calls so far. The battery life is pretty OK. Don't think I need to buy an extended battery. Phone recharges fast. Overall I highly recommend this phone to everyone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Solid Phone

 

Jun 15, 2003 by Doctor V

Solid phone. Great signal and battery life.

Yes! The doctor is rating a Samsung over his very own Motorola T720.

This phone does NOT have a color screen. In my opinion, that's why this phone is so solid. I have not experienced or heard of any bugs. Standard battery will work just fine for most users. Holster works well.

As of June, 2003, this is the very BEST choice for equipment with Verizon Wireless.

I simply cannot say enough about this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


umm.... good? GREAT!

 

Apr 11, 2003 by steven bridgeman

Let's see, I loved this phone so much that I sold one to my mom and dad and they love it too. Not a 5.0 because 10% chance of the phones have a bad battery or bad phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Glad I went ahead with Samsung

 

Jan 20, 2003 by Luke Tankersley

I was looking at the Moto T720, Moto V60i, and the Samsung A310. I've been pleased with Moto products in the past, so i was leaning toward them. I have had no previous experince with Samsung, so was a little shy toward them. I made the leap and bought the Samsung.
It is a very good looking phone. It's small, yet large enough to use comfortably. Battery life is average. Reception is very good, besting all the Motos my co-workers carry. The CDMA technology is the only way to go here in hilly NE Alabama. I've had GSM, and it doesn't penetrate the hills and valleys like CDMA. Europe and Asia can keep it.
The web-access is neat, but too slow, and not enough information available to be of real use. The ring-tones are a little lame, but that's the only complaint I've got.
It's great for what it is, a phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 123 4 56789

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1