Phone Scoop

printed April 16, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1255&r=28792

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Gleam SCH-U700 / Muse

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  69  

Average Ratings

3.49
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 123 4 5

Good phone!

 

Oct 25, 2007 by s_c_novak

Pros:

Phone is very easy to use!
Paired with Bluetooth Jabra BT500 with no problems.
Clear display screens.
Slim design.
Nice working camera with lots of settings.
Clear sound.
Great music player!

Cons:

Poor ringtone selection.
should have other living wallpaper themes.
No Back-up assistant.
Slow software.

Overall the phone works better than the LGvx8100 or the KRZR I had.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Samsung U700 Gleam

 

Oct 20, 2007 by Zoltar

This is an attractive, light weight, full featured phone. I did have to return my first one due to completely freezing up, however the replacement has been flawless.

My pros mirror those of other reviews. One little thing not mentioned is one of the few pre-loaded ringers is the old fashion "bell-type" ring of an old rotary phone.

Calls are very clear and the camera and video functions work very well, with lots of settings and options.

Cons - nothing of concern for me so far. I dont use Bluetooth, so I can't comment on that.

Fingerprints, shmingerprints

I tend to 'fat finger' the 9 and # key when texting.

This is a solid phone, well worth your $150.00

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Great Phone

 

Oct 20, 2007 by pandafish78

Pros:
Text messaging learns words, clear screen, easy menu layouts, thin

Cons:
Battery life,fingerprints

I picked up this phone with my new every 2 moving up from Samsung a930. Love the look and feel of the phone. The user interface is much better than the standard Verizon interface. The predictive text is capable of "learning" words and automatically has the names in your phone book included. Battery life isn't as long as I would like. Backup assistant isn't available for download but transferring my numbers manually gave me a chance to delete some unwanted numbers. Mobile IM works much better than the version on the a930. It doesn't fail where the a930 needed to be reset constantly. Overall a great phone!

Edit

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Gleam Review

 

Oct 16, 2007 by muldary

I have been using Moto KRZR for about a year now, and I was passing by the Verizon dealership when I spotted this model from Samsung. It didn't strike a memorable impression when I held it clam-closed, but when I opened it up, I was amazed.

The combination of gold and black colors makes this phone look very sophisticated. There may be other colors though. The phone is also very thin, about as thin as the old RAZR but not as heavy as KRZR. The keypad is made out of metal, which yields very good tackiness-feel. The sound, both ringtone and other, is loud enough for someone like me, who needs a good speaker on phones. I found other features on the phone helpful, too.

As other people have indicated, yes, this phone is a fingerprint magnet. Hold it around for a minute and it will have your prints all over it. For me, I don't need my phone to be dust and fingerprint-free all the time, so I didn't mind this much.

Overall, I'm very glad I had purchased this phone. It has already impressed my wife and a few other friends. This will definitely keep me happy until I buy another phone (hopefully) sometime next year.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


My Gleam Review

 

Oct 12, 2007 by Krossfire

I also am confused... I see no dent in the phone and like it enough to trade my v9m for it. I will agree the no backup assistant is a gripe but that is not Sammy's fault.
Pro's
* Crisp screen
* WAAAAYYY better battery than v9m
* Bluetooth pairs very easily
* Reception is very good
* Living wallpaper
* doesnt get hot like the 8700
* Many more but that is the important stuff, other than it was 1/2 cost of the v9m I traded for it.
Cons
* Backup assistant
* ringers are bad..very
* fingerprints... but they all our lately

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A Solid Slim Phone

 

Oct 11, 2007 by jason1980

I must confess after reading the other reviews. I was a little apprehensive about getting the Samsung SCH U700 AKA Gleam. My prior phone was the Motorola Maxx VE but the side tones were driving me batty.
The gleam has excellent reception, and the voice quality is on par if not slightly better than my Razr Maxx. The display is very crisp and easily read. It paired with my Motorola H550 easily enough. The phone itself seems very light compared to my previous Motorola.

My only gripe so far are that the Backup Assistant doesn't seem to be available for this phone. As of 10/11/07. So I had to pair it with my other phone and send the contacts over via Bluetooth. And the ring tones included with this phone are utter crap.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Sexy!

 

Oct 9, 2007 by jarcher2828

We just got this phone in the store a couple days ago and I gave it a spin.

Pro's

1. Great looking phone
2. Great Camera
3. Great Screen
4. Cool Display themes/backgrounds

Con's

1. Fingerprint magnet
2. Slightly slower OS

PS: Regarding previous reviews...
Back up assistant is available under the Get it now/Tools on the Go. No dents on our phones here. It must just be a way that they shipped/stored the phones at that store.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall a good phone with a few minor setbacks.

 

May 6, 2008 by man_of_blue6153

I recently switched from Sprint to Verizon and got the Gleam. What first attracted me to it was the way it looked. It has got a nice shine to hit that makes you feel like you are looking into a mirror. Has a really cool feature with it. You can have an animated wallpaper on the main screen which is pretty cool. But... The memory is really bad. I only downloaded about 6 ringtones and 4 games and I am already using almost 98% of the phones memory. I would suggest this phone to buy, but just watch hw much space you fill up on it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Bad Reception

 

Nov 30, 2007 by GaHard

I've owned this phone for 2 weeks and the reception is terrible. Everyone I talk to says I keep cutting in and out. I notice it on my end too. I will be trading it in for a Motorola Razr2. The phone looks great and is easy to use but the call quailty is horrible.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not all it seems

 

Oct 8, 2007 by gris

I had this phone for about two hours and it had to go back.

Pros:
1). Good looks but, again fingerprint magnet.
2). Large keypad. (Good for us older folks.)

Cons:
1). Backup assistant no where to be found on menu.
2). Back of phone has a dent on the back. When we (Verizon cust. serv) and I looked at three others, they were the same way. Poor manufacturing.
3). After numerous attempts, I could not get this phone to pair with my bluetooth in my Volvo although the website said it would. Cus. service also tried about four times. I have never had a phone fail to pair.

Considering Verizon puts the phone through strict testing,?????????????

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 123 4 5

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2