Phone Scoop

printed October 18, 2017
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1213

Home  ›  Phones  ›  LG  ›

LG VX-8550 Chocolate

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.78
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      

To bad you can't eat it...

 

May 25, 2008 by CSIdude42

So I have had a taste of the LG Chocolate for about a month and it is sweet! I don't typically give a five star rating but this phone was the best phones I have had in a while.

PROS
> Small, sleek, compact design.
> Camera gets an A-
> Fast and responsive operating system
> Touch sensors
> I never dropped a call on this phone
> SEND and END keys on the key pad
> Nice colors to pick from
> Music player is top of the line!
> Slider is AMAZING

CONS
> The wheel is accidentally take you to the wrong places.
> The CLR key get hit a lot on accident

I would like to make a note on the slider on the phone. It is the best I have delt with. It is not going to get flimsy on you after a couple of weeks! Also the phone has a great, vibrant screen that is great for the sunny days out side. Also the battery isn't too shabby. At one point I was trying to kill the battery with a lot of texting because I thought that I would go quickly. If you balance your calls, text, music, and net usage, you will be fine.

Like I said, this phone is great. But being that it is in the running with enV2 in price at the time... it will all come down to your key board likings.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall, excellent phone

 

Jun 23, 2008 by twalsh3

I have had this phone for well over 8 months now and I have to say Im very impressed with it.

Pros:
Call Quality
Quick interface (different themes)
Screen is nice
Camera is above average for 1.3megapixel
Scroll wheel
Verizon Music ID pre-loaded
Build quality is excellent. Slider still functions perfectly and I have dropped it a few times on concrete and might have a scratch or two but no harm to screen or use of the phone.
Sliding lock on side.
LG quality
Good battery life.

Cons:
Standard VZ interface, not many options there.
Messages are not threaded.
Cant download 3rd party apps.
2.5mm headphone jack. These suck.
Not much internal storage (can do 8gb microSD).
Finger print magnet like most phones.
Keyboard could be a bit better.

Big big improvement over the original Chocolate. Easy to use and good phone quality. It is proposed as a music phone, and 3.5mm headphone jack would of beneficial. If you do not need smartphone functionality, this is one of VZ's better phones.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       reviews continues below...


Better than expected

 

Aug 27, 2007 by TheDuke

Upgraded from the LG 8100, and was a little wary of getting a slider phone, but this has been very sturdy to date. The music player is very nice, and sounds great through my headset. Feature packed, and I have been very happy with the phone so far. I used to sell phones for RadioShack so i've seen quite a few, and the new updated Chocolate has exceeded my expectations to date. After seeing my phone, my wife retured her GZ'One Type S and is getting the 8550 as well. I went with Black, she is getting midnight blue, and I hear they are coming out with Green soon.

Pro's:
-Fantastic speaker phone
-Great call clarity
-Works well with my bluetooth
-Music player is easy to use
-Programmable shortcuts
-Big clear screen
-Plenty of save/memory options
-Love the click wheel
-Can talk with it open or closed
-Touch sensitive buttons much improved
-Hard Send and End buttons
-Slide seems very solid, very sturdy
-Lock/Unlock button on side
-Can see time even when still locked
-Tons of phone setting options, if not all centralized

Con's:
-Camera doesn't show well on screen
-No flash
-Got scratched a little on a minor fall, but not bad
-Standard battery could have a little more MAH
-Voice commands a little clunky

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Hot Chocolate

 

Aug 5, 2007 by TroyH

Lets start here
CONS:
o Nice camera, Clear pics / Video
o user friendly MP3 interface w/ music button
o nice click wheel with options and lights
o Great speaker phone
o And wow something no one mentioned in other reviews, more bluetooth services...ie object push so on
o comes with the VZ NAV
o Dual clock
o Well designed interface
o And i could go on but finally, the price and its a sleek eye catching phone

And Now the Ugly truth:
I have been through 3 8550's in 1 week, the slider breaks and the censors were not working properly. but aside from that great concept, poorly put together. you probably wonder why five stars. ill take it back until they get it right!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


LG VX CHOCOLATE

 

Jul 28, 2007 by GJMOO7

This is a great phone.For starters,the sound quality is very loud when talking on the phone.The phone locks rightaway when the slider is down.The camera takes decent pictures and decent videos that can be stored as wallpaper as well. The MP3 Player isn't that loud as it is on some other phones but with the stereo ear plugs it is awesome.The battery life is very,very,very good.I have 535 songs on a 2 GB card and the battery lasted for 7 hours of continous music playing combined also with taking phone calls and making some calls and receiving and sending text messages before i had to charge the battery. Anyone who claims to have some problems with their phone should have it tested by a VZW tech.
Furthermore,you can access the mobile web and read e-mail without interrupting the music player.All in all this is just an amazing phone and you can also download ringers from 3rd party sites and use them as ringtones.Way to go LG and Verizon.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Really nice phone.

 

Jul 27, 2007 by spankynuts

This is a really nice phone. I decided to not buy the music essentials pack from Verizon since I have a card reader and a 256MB Micro SD. I am able to transfer pictures, videos, and music to the phone which is all well and good except I can't set the music I put on there as a ring tone like I do with pictures to wallpaper. The interface is really nice; it does take time to get used to since it's a whole new GUI. I like how I am able to set the speed of the wheel as well as sensitivity with the buttons. It fits nicely in my work pants or jeans without bulging out. I have no problems with the slider, but only time will tell. I have the black one and it has a nice piano finish, but easily marked up with fingerprints. I do not like the fact that I cannot enable speaker phone before I make a call; it can only be enabled during a call which can get kinda annoying. The sound and voice quality is great on it and gets better reception than my E815. The lcd is crisp and bright. They should come out with more colors, the black is classic, but the other two colors are lame. Overall, great phone and I hope it lasts the whole two years.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


pretty good

 

Jun 8, 2008 by lgchic5

So far, I've had my chocolate 2 for about 8 months. It's still kicking though.

Pros:
-sleek
-dedicated music button
-awesome navigation wheel, and lights up too
-slide
-clear pictures
-best music player for a phone
-small
-fits in pocket
-good speaker
-nice big clear screen
-pretty color (mines black cherry)
-has background music

Cons:
-couple dropped calls
-accidentally click clr button, hate using it w/ texting
-cramped keypad
-keypad is hard 2 press
-screen gets easily scratched
-gets lots of chips easily
-short battery life
-takes forever to text
-2.5 head-jack

Overall, the pros and cons are equal. the phone's pretty decent, i just hate the keyboard and how it gets scratched easily. i how the music can be background though. I'd prefer the lg enV 2.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Go check it out

 

Aug 6, 2007 by towdler

This phone is so sleek..it's worth taking a look at. Camera takes great picture. Screen is cool, nice, huge and crisp. MP3 player sound is super nice...Nothing bad to say about my new phone, I dig it!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


vx8550, so far so good

 

Apr 4, 2008 by bowhunter17

I bought this phone about a month ago, and have been waiting to submit a review after playing with it for a while. My vx8100 was a great phone, and I was a little hesitant to switch, but I have been 100% satisfied.

Pros:
Call quality is fantastic
Really good looking; small and light
Easy to use. Navigation wheel is great
Slider feels solid
Music player is top notch
Quality pictures
Good size keypad for such a small phone
Battery life is exceptional

Cons:
I'm not a fan of the 2.5mm headphone jack.

This is a really great phone. I had to be really picky to even start a "cons" list. I'm happy with it so far.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Coolest Chocolate Ever!!

 

Aug 6, 2007 by watzan

Thank you LG for coming up with this even better better version of the Chocolate!! I love the sleek design and the swivel. The display is beautiful. Call quality is, as always, perfect.
MP3 player is really great.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 234...11

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2017 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1

This is a preview. Click for full glossary page.