Phone Scoop

printed October 25, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1208&s=h&p=4

Home  ›  Phones  ›  BlackBerry  ›

BlackBerry Curve 8300

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.67
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 123 4 567

So far....great!!

 

Jun 18, 2007 by mrsDiene

I recently upgraded from the Pearl to the Curve. While I liked the Pearl, my overall reaction to it was "meh." Even after only a couple of days I realized the Curve is by far the better choice for me. I love this phone! The larger screen and keyboard are the biggest pluses. The Pearl and Curve are my first forays into PDAs so I am still getting used to the RIM software and functions. My biggest complaint is that certain functions are not intuitive, i.e., changing the "profiles" to change ring tones and picture for entries in the address book. I think Motorola and Nokia do this very well. That said, after taking some time to really learn the phone, I am extremely pleased with the Curve.

Pros:
- Very nice keyboard
- Manageable size, but not too big
- Screen is very readable
- Sound quality is great

Cons:
- No GPS (but this is not fatal to me)
- Not so extensive choice of ring-tones

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Just as I would expect from a Blackberry

 

Jun 16, 2007 by justin10985

I have to say I have owned many phone, PDAs, and Smartphones. This is by far my favorite. To name a few phones I have owned, the HTC 8125, 8525, Palm Treo 680, 750. The Samsung Blackjack, BB Pearl, BB 8800 and now this wonderful device the BB Curve. I have only owned it for 2 days but already I love it and DO NOT CARE if it is not 3G or does not have wifi. For one, I do not live in a 3G area, secondly I own a laptop so Wifi is not so critical if it is not on my phone. People that complain that a BB cannot edit documents, big deal. It is a lot faster then any Windows Mobile phone I have ever owned, gets better service and BESIDES A Blackberry's PURPOSE IS EMAILS. I get emails on my BB faster than in my inbox on Exchange or anything. GREAT DEVICE, and If you are having thoughts about getting one, just go ahead get it, you will be happy. TRUST ME I KNOW. I use to be a Retail Sales Consultant for Cingular Wireless.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


More than Happy!

 

Jun 15, 2007 by Thannah4

This is a fantastic phone! I upgraded from the Pearl and am more than happy with my decision. It has all the great features of the Pearl, but new and improved. My biggest issues with the Pearl were the ringtones (extremely low and not really ringotnes at all but somebody playing with a keyboard??), the low speakerphone, and the keyboard became truly annoying after some time.
Now I have an easy to use full querty keyboard, much better and louder ringtones, and a speakerphone that I can actually hear clearly. If you're thinking about getting a Curve, go for it. It's the perfect blend for people like myself who want functionality and a sleek look. Blackberry really came through on this one!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Curvaceous

 

Jun 6, 2007 by flyutahguy1982

WOW! If I was to summarize the new 8300 Curve, that would be it WOW! I am so hard on phones and it takes a lot for me to be pleased. I work for At&t and am always trading up to the latest and greatest phones.

Phones recently owned:

SLVR
Samsung Blackjack
Motorola Q
Samsung Sync
Treo 650

I bought the Q when i was with sprint as my first PDA/Smart Phone and I was amazed. Until about three days into my ownership. I loved the fact that you could edit microsoft office documents and that it was windows based. That is what sold me on the phone. I quickly learned that the salesman misinformed me and that you could not edit documents. It started to get sluggish so I bought MCAFEE PDA virus scan program that was recommended to me and it never found a virus.

I bought the BB 8300 just a few days ago and wow! I thought I was living it up when I had the Q and the Blackjack, boy was I wrong. My co-workers all have the Pearl which never did a whole lot for me only because of the keys having more than one letter assigned and it was a little too small for my bad eye sight. When I first bought it a friend handed it to me out of the box "give me the battery man" I begged, "dude the battery is in it" shaun replied. Yes it is that light!

Pros:
Camera takes amazing pics.
Expandible memory
Size
Larger screen

Cons:
I dunno, haven't figured out any yet but I will for sure post any that I find.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Couldn't ask for more...

 

Jun 6, 2007 by styxzy

I was an HTC/Cingular 8525 User and thought it offered everything. I was wrong. I got the curve and WOW is this thing amazing. Everything is easy to get to and it's smart enough to know exactly what I'm looking to do before I finish typing.

PROs
-Great Size
-2Megapixel Camera
-Stereo output
-Bluetooth
-Full Qwerty
-Almost reads my mind
-Corporate Email is so easy to manage / file emails

CONs
-3G
-WiFi

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Blackberry has finally satisfied me!!!!

 

Jun 3, 2007 by hucworld

Having just came off the 8100(Pearl) and going between that and the Blackjack, I think I am finally happy. This device is sweet to say the least. Like another poster said the only draw back to me is the multi shop icons on the home screen. At first the phone was lagging and crazy slow but I am guessing once it caught up with itself all was right with the world. The camera is cool, and I am in love now that I have a full QWERTY keyboard and a nice camera with a Blackberry!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


AWESOME!!!

 

Jun 28, 2007 by twkroberts

I am going to keep this review simple. I've had many phones, PDA's etc... This one by far is the best!!
PROS:
DITTO TO ALL OF THEM!

The only con would be the non 3G / No Wifi. other than that this is an awesome phone/Blackberry! I will not own anything else but a Blackberry!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


BlackBerry = God.

 

Jun 8, 2007 by 2wdsux

I'll keep it simple, because RIM still does.

All I need is texting, e-mail, and a device that doesn't lock up or power off.

I can't praise RIM enough. My 7130 was sick. My 8100 Pearl was as well. I held off on the 8800 cause I personally didn't need GPS. But hell, that is amazing too, use it once. Even for TeleNav chargint $9.99/month, it's worth it. Anyway, the 8300 Curve is like a Pearl on steroids. All the features, sans internal GPS, plus the 2.0 megapixel camera.

Buy it, I mean try to get your at&t rep to offer the MIR in store, but if I were to shell out $299.99 for a phone, I'd SERIOUSLY overlook the Treo 680 or 750 and the Samsuck Crapjack.

But hey, I only sell these things, so what do I know? ;)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good, solid every day phone

 

Jan 24, 2009 by imakethings

Before the 8300 Curve, I owned an LG Vu (which I ended up losing). So I bought a used 8300 Curve.

===PROS

- Bright screen (great in the day time)
- Auto adjusting screen brightness
- Loud ringtones
- Small, light and sturdy build
- Great out-of-the-box software
- Email and SMS in one place
- Ringtones are great
- Signal and sound quality is great (AT&T in Minnesota, US)
- Good quality photo from camera
- Camera has flash (doesn't work that well in pitch black darkness though)
- Easy to get around the phone
- Email client supports IMAP and POP3

===CONS

- Battery lasts one day under heavy use
- Original themes suck
- No external SD slot
- Cheap plastic ring around trackball
- Sometimes there are short delays when moving around the phone (nothing to get frustrated about though as most phones do this).

All in all, the curve 8300 is a great phone. After using a crappy lg touch phone for 6 months, the curve was a breath of fresh air.

If you're into social networking (i.e, Facebook, Twitter, MySpace), this phone is a great choice. Everything on the curve is reasonably customizable and the community surrounding blackberry devices are second to none. You're never alone if something goes wrong.

If you want a phone that has great support from both developers and users, Blackberry is the way to go.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Business Phone

 

May 27, 2008 by precipice

Great business phone for corporate email and all around business use.
Pros
Size
Email integration
Camera
Music Player
PDA features
Nice screen and backlight
Cons
No Video
No G3 - Edge is slooow
No YouTube
Memory card behind battery
No WiFi

But, for everday business use, it is hard to beat. Might eventually updgrade to newer Curve models

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 123 4 567

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2