Phone Scoop

printed July 26, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1208&s=h&p=3

Home  ›  Phones  ›  BlackBerry  ›

BlackBerry Curve 8300

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.67
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 12 3 4567

OFF THE HOOK

 

Jul 31, 2007 by shtuppie

Ok guys im a guy who has like every phone out there from pda's to iphones and this phone is just amazing, camera great, blackberry messenger unreal, speaker crisp clear, phone size and look sexy , this is the phone of the year , just one question i have for all your blackberry fans if u want to forward an e-mail and want to hide where the e-mail came from how do u do it ??? u can't select and delete doesn't work
but for the rest its just a great great great phone

Best regards
Shtuppie NY

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A device that "just works!"

 

Jul 1, 2007 by mbranscum

What a refreshing change to buy a phone/pda that just does what it's supposed to do, and does it very well.

As a "frequent buyer of PDA cell phones" I can say this is clearly the best I've tried.

Pros:
Call quality/reception
Build quality
Excellent battery life
Great browser
OS runs third party and java programs well
Loud ringers and notifications
3.5mm stadard stereo plug
Excellent tactile keyboard
2 megpix cam with functional flash

Cons:
Didn't come with a holster or case

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


This phone covers it all...

 

Jun 25, 2007 by BlownBigBlock

I've had this phone now for about 3 weeks, and couldn't be more pleased.

After having a RAZR, and a SLVR, I was looking for a upgrade for texting/messaging along with easy access to checking E-mail accounts.

Initially I looked at the Nokia E61/E62 or the Blackberry 8800, chose the Nokia because of the larger keyboard, but after 2 weeks, felt too large for what I was used to, menu performance was slow, the only positive was the QWERTY keyboard had a nice feel about it.

Back to AT&T and looked at the 8800, this phone also caught my attention. After going back and forth I went with the Curve and couldn't be happier, the reception is great, menu performance is awesome, it's a very easy phone to setup and use. The key spacing is great compared to the 8800. Sound quality is great, some features I haven't even used yet. Battery life is so-so, I do find myself charging it almost every other evening, but that could be an indication of how often it's being used.

Although I've never been one for a cell phone camera, took a couple photos this weekend and the clarity is quite impressive for what else is included in the package.

Definitely two thumbs up for the Curve. :)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


BB 8300 > BB 8800 > BB 8100

 

Jun 18, 2007 by Djanifer9512

I won't waste space here, so I'll keep it short. This phone is awesome.

Pros
+Stereo BT
+3.5 Standard Headset Port
+4GB Micro SD Support
+Ability to Create Folders
+Size/Weight
+Keyboard
+PTT
+Streaming Music
+Reception/Call Quality

Cons
-GPS not built in, but GPS Reciever available $99.99.

Overall, 6/5!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The More I Use It - The More I Like IT

 

Jun 18, 2007 by mifrancis

I have had the phone for 10 days, still don't know how to use all the features but have used enough of them to feel I can add my 2 cents to all the other reviews. I am coming from the LG 8600 on the Verizon network. I have never used a Blackberry before.
Cons:
The feel of the phone - it is amazing that the phone has a qwerty keyboard but you can still use all the other features (making calls - playing music, reading email, silencing the phone, etc.) with one hand (and I have small hands). The keys are nicely spaced. It is very well made and feels it.
Speaker phone is so good that I can easily use it hands free in the car (I still got a bluetooth headset for hands free dialing - voice recognition is good as long as you use a first and last name).
The media player is excellent - plays .mp3 files - and you can set any of them as a ringtone. I hooked up my headphones from my ipod and could not believe the sound - as good as the ipod. The speaker on the phone is loud - not stereo of course.
The camera is good (for a phone) and it has a flash!
Email comes in great - accessing the internet is good - but I do not use the internet that often (mostly to check scores and weather - note - no gps without purchasing added equipment). I do check my email quite often.
The phone book is easy to use, I thought calling would not be as easy as on my 8600 but it is.
Transferring music, pictures, videos to the phone is very easy (unlike most Verizon phones) - backing up contacts is easy (software included - unlike Verizon).
Cons:
I can't really think of any yet. Will have to see how it stands up to use over time but suspect it will be fine. Wonder if they can every make a screen that does not get fingerprints?
This is a blackberry phone that can be used just as a phone without the data plan (but I don't think they sell it without one). If you just want to use it as a phone, get the cheapest plan - but don't be surprised if you find yourself upgrading the data plan to a higher plan. MIF

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The Curve is Truly a Crackberry

 

Jun 16, 2007 by pepsijunky

OK so I could easily do a comparison review between the Curve and the Pearl and why the Curve is the perfect upgrade. I have never before thought of even having a blackberry because I deemed them too business oriented. But, once the Pearl arrived I was always intrigued, then came the Curve and I had to buy it even at 25% off full price, Pretty steep. It was so worth it though, this phone is amazing. Anyway, on to the proz and conz.

Proz
-2 mp camera that looks brilliant and almost better then 2mps.
-Sound quality, speakerphone, & earpiece all are terrific upgrades to the Pearl and really phenomenal in general.
-Qwerty keyboard is so nice, the cramped suretype keyboard was OK but after a while it was too much on the hands.
-Browsing speed, e-mail, applications are all fast and very nearly flawless, at this point for me, 3g is overrated.
-Design, size, weight, color all meet my expectations fully.
-I really enjoy the colors and set-up of the at&t/RIM operating system, it works well for me.

Conz
-I guess there is always something, camera could have more megapixels? video? 3g? wifi? Nah, not necessary right now.

Basically, I fiended for the phone after reading the reviews on here, everyone was right, this phone is money. Go get one, now.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Excellent Phone

 

Jun 7, 2007 by celnut

I have had the Curve about 5 days now and love it. I am extremely picky about my phones and have had almost every phone & Pda Cingular/at&t carries.

Pro's

2MP Camera takes excellent pixs (for a phone)
Improved media player over Pearl
Good Reception
Qwerty keyboard
Speaker-phone & Earpiece are nice and loud
Spell check is a plus

Con's
Too many at&t shop icons (can be hidden though)
Wish it had video capture~

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The Very Best Blackberry Has To Offer

 

Aug 20, 2007 by jaskat

When it comes to cell phones I am a seasoned veterans. I average 3 cell phones a year. SO when I say that this is one of the best cell phones out there this is based on experience.

Pro: If you wanted reasonable inexpensive phone that can do everything that you need on a business and personal level and not feel like you are carrying a brick around that also has and excellent media capabilities for you entertainment purposes then this is the phone for you.

I would go so far as to say that this phones is just as good or better than the more expensive IPhone at a 3rd of the cost.

Cons: No Short Cut key to lock the key pad, have to go through the home screen icons. That is a small inconvenience for such a great phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Back in Blackberry

 

Aug 10, 2007 by mwo2616

After just returning the blackjack, and Exchanging it for the Curve, I must say that this is the most complete and awesome phone that I have EVER HAD!!!!!!! The Screen is incredible, the ease of setting up your email accounts, and the bluetooth connection just make this phone Great! Blackberry Desktop Software helps you transport music and photos to and from your blackberry! 2.0 mp camera takes good pictures, and the Telenav feature is DA BOMB! Sound quality and clarity here in the Dallas area is perfect! What more can I say????? I love this phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


AWESOME PHONE

 

Jun 19, 2007 by schartzr

I switched from the Blackberry 8800 to this phone for basically the camera. But I got alot more.

Over all the phone is smaller lighter and just much sleaker. It looks cooler I think, (not that the 8800 wasn't) but this is just a little more HIP. ;)

Pros-
Battery life is great
Camera
the Stero head set
AWESOME speaker phone

Cons-
Nothing as of yet but i am sure I will find soemthing the longer I play with it.

This is a great buy for any one.

INVEST in this.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 12 3 4567

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1