Phone Scoop

printed July 25, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1205&r=25004

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SGH-A117

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  19  

Average Ratings

2.95
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

" Just Bought This Phone"

 

Jun 23, 2008 by bguitrau

I just bought this phone on 06/23/08. the reason why i bought this phone was because i was currently with alltel and i had the motorola q i really love this phone,but i wanted anouther phone so i called att and the phone i wanted they did not have so i bought this phone for 14.99+tax which came to the total of 22.74 which is not but i have seen and read reviews on this phone and i hope it lives up to what the good things that people say about it also 2 things i dont like about this phone is
-no camara
-no bluetooth
-no mp3 ringtones
but this phone will have to do untill the next
any quistions or comments email me @
guitrau2010@yahoo.com

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


gray font in menus a problem

 

Dec 27, 2007 by simple-one

My dad bought this phone as a replacement for the phone he accidentally ran over with his car 6 months after renewing his contract. (Good reason to get the insurance.) Anyway. The man is 77 years old. He bought this phone because it was the cheapest option. Problem. The menus are all gray. It is not until you pick an option that the font is black. I have tried EVERYTHING. I even went to an AT&T store to look for another phone. The same phone on display did not have gray font, but they could not sell it to me because he has an active account. I found the same one at Best Buy with different packaging. Same gray font.
If you are under the age of 40 and just want to make & receive calls...great. (You probably have a fancier phone) But just know if you need to read the menu or go through your contact list and your eyesight is fading, this may not be the phone for you.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Good entry level device

 

Jul 29, 2007 by webdr

This is a good entry level phone. The internal antenna isn't too limiting, it still manages good signal strength.

Not many bells and whistles but is Edge capable and battery life is pretty good for this type of phone.

All in all not a bad starter phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


My samsung phone

 

Jan 7, 2011 by samsungphone

I bought this phone for $55 with a $20 rebate in August 2008.
The main and only reason I bought the phone was it was among the cheaper range and I wanted a phone which has a flap. I like its display telling me who's calling and I can just open the flap to answer the call.But you can reject the call if you activate this setting(Open to Answer in Extra Settings). :)
A main problem I found about this phone is you have to manually copy one contact at a time to the SIM. So When I had to reset my phone it has a "copy all to phone" option, but no "copy all to sim".
After going through the reviews I discovered that few users complaint about the grey font and black and white display.
There is an option in the settings -> display where in you can chose rainbow for the text display and also set random wallpapers. Hope this helps..

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A good phone to have

 

Mar 13, 2009 by Smiles16

Pros: Good phone to text on and to call from. Nice look and good battery.

Cons: Has no service in some areas, freezes a little bit.

Summary: I got this phone after my tracfone had crapped out on me and lost my minutes I had on it. So I switched from tracfone to AT&T Go Phone Pay As You Go phone. But I keep on getting calls from telemarketers, but I don't answer them. I believe the calls are due to AT&T. I don't know. Don't quote me on that. All in all, this phone does what you need it to get done. I would recommend this phone to anyone who just loves to text and call.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Avoid at Any cost

 

Oct 13, 2008 by Cell Saver

I've had this phone for a month and the power button already sticks making it difficult and at times impossible to power on. The screen also freezes at times. The side volume button is also too easily pressed while holding the phone.

On the plus side, it is small, the keypad is large considering the phone's overall size and lights up in blue. The keys are not too hard or soft. And the speakerphone is good sounding.

All of which matters for nothing if you can't use the phone after a month. Hense my rating of 1.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nice basic phone, terrible signal.

 

Jul 22, 2008 by foggy

I am on at&t and am in the middle of my contract when my moto razr v3xx took a dive into the ocean. I needed a cheap basic phone just to use till i can renew my contract and get another razr.

This phone is small, light weight and overall a good looking phone. It doesnt have any bells or whistles, just a basic phone to make calls and text.

The good:

Small, light, inexpensive, good temp phone, great battery life.

The bad:

Horrible cell signal. I swear that if i am not within eyesight of a tower, this phone does not have any service. I drop calls left and right with this phone. It's made for at&t but it seems to not work very well in my area. My razr worked just fine for cell signal.

It's hard to hear people on this phone. The volume is just so low even turned all the way up. The speaker phone is just a joke.

The volume buttons are placed right where i hold the phone so i'm always hitting them, as well as the ring volume, which is also very low.

Only polyphonic tones, not a great selection but you can d/l some from at&t.

Overall, even though the phone is cute and compact, it's not going to cut it for me for the remainder of my contract. Whats the point of having a cell phone if you need to be next to a tower for service. So i've already ordered a used razr for the at&t network on ebay.. just like my old one.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


big disappointment

 

Jul 10, 2008 by knuckleballer34

This phone turned out to be an absolute catastrophe for me.

Before my AT&T contract expired in January, I had broken my SonyEricsson phone and needed a quick fix for two months. For $49, the A117 was the right phone at the right time.

I was pretty content with what I had gotten with the phone. It looked pretty nice and had an awesome keypad. Layouts were simple, and there were no gizmos, gadgets, etc. I never used a phone for more than calling and texting anyway, so I could live without having bluetooth and mp3 ringers.

And that leads to the major downfall of this phone: it has the absolute worst recpetion of any phone that I have ever had or seen. And i've had over a dozen cell phones, but this one takes the cake. I could live with a bare basic phone, but I couldn't live with one that had terrible reception.

If your looking for a quick fix like I was, shell out the extra 20 bucks or so and get an A127. Those have much better reception!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A717

 

Sep 4, 2007 by Versed

Nice size thin, nice phone, good connections, fast hsdpa, love the screen. Somewhat faster and nicer then my kids sync's. And we can share chargers. Price is fair.

I guess some don't like the outside screen, or lack of it, or its small size whatever. As long as I can pick up the caller I.D. its all I really need.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nice Basic Samsung

 

Aug 24, 2007 by LazerWolf

This is almost the perfect phone if all you want is something to make and receive calls on.

There are just enough features like text messaging, speakerphone, ability to download ringtones and some graphics, and full featured phonebook.

No camera, or bluetooth, doesn't come with any games.

Appears to get fairly good battery life, and seems to hold a signal pretty well. The internal antenna makes for a compact design. Very nice.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1