Phone Scoop

printed July 24, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=120&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  NEC  ›

NEC 515

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  4  

Average Ratings

2.08
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
 
Page 1 2 

Expensive garbage.

 

Aug 23, 2004 by waterpumper

I paid a lot of money for this phone and I have been completely disappointed with it.

Pros:
Nice Display

Cons:
Poor Battery life
Cross talk when making calls
Drops calls with full signal strength
Reboots on regular basis
Restart after crash can take up to 5 minutes

I have had this phone replaced under warranty 2 times now. Every time this phone has had these same issues. I urge you to avoid this phone at all costs.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


nec 515

 

Jul 18, 2004 by daydre

the phone seems as though it is fairly good seeing that the price is not. when/if i have bad connection i would upgrade to GSM AMERICA since only att wireless carriers this phone, i think. but so far the phone seems like it works well, i just ordered it yesterday and fedex doesnt deliever on the weekends. so i do hope that this phone is good.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


The more I use it the more I like it!

 

Mar 1, 2004 by bizibill

To start with, the documentation, instructions, user help, CD and website for this unit S T I N K S !

Having said that, the phone is very good. Very clear audio, and usually two or more bars of signal strength and is mostly intuitive functionally. The advanced features such as Internet usage, TTY, IR, USB and mMode all take quite a bit of digging and playing around to get them working and I am still learning but once you have it down I think it's a really good product.

NEC-get your act together and this will sell, it's a nice piece of engineering.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


DON'T GET THIS PHONE!

 

Feb 24, 2004 by fonecat

This phone is a piece of crap. The ONLY thing truly wonderful about it is the high-definition screen. The graphics are truly awesome. It also has a good speaker. However, I need strong signal strength, IR capability, and good battery life. This phone fails on all counts. The IR is useless as it is only good for exchanging data with another NEC 515. Signal strength varies wildly. Repeated dropped calls. The ringer volume isn't great, and ALL the ringers are music... no ringtones that sound like a phone, if that's what you want. One nice feature is "accept" and "reject" selectors on an incoming call.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nice display, pretty much it

 

Jul 30, 2003 by ynotbike

I have had every phone, and the only thing i have to say about this phone is thats its pointless. It has a very nice display, but not user friendly and IR communication dosnt work properly when trying to set up a dialup conection with a palm or pocketpc.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


HDM!

 

Aug 15, 2003 by Luke Skywalker

Is this a nice phone or what? HDM? Yes it is. The resolution on this baby is awesome. And, the ringtones are crazy! World's first quad-band phone - I love the fact that it supports GSM 850/1900/900/1800. One question, is this the same ODM that did the Panasonic GD-87 (I can't wait for the x70!). You want to talk about confusing menus? The NEC 515 has them just for you. Yes, the screen, resolution and polyphonic ring tones are great, but at $300 they better be. Also, where is the external display and User Guide? Did anyone see the User Guide that came with this phone? I guess it's supposed to be on the CD-ROM. If one can get a camera-phone with Bluetooth for $149, how can one justify $300 for one without either? Looking forward to the NEC 525, but at what cost???

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not baddddd

 

Dec 15, 2003 by JustMika

Well, I am new to this GSM network and it appears that all of the batteries for the phones are nowhere near what they were on the TDMA network. I am told that I should allow the battery to discharge 3 full times and recharge it fully before this battery reaches its maximum performance. Well, I will write back and say whether it improved or not. As it stands, I am not too thrilled with the battery life.

The phone itself is a great phone. I especially like the larger color display, the ringtones (though the volume could be a little higher), the case is now available and really like it! I love the external led light that you can assign for different people. Even though it was a waste of space, its creative. I would have also preferred the caller id display to be on the outside. But, there is help. The NEC 525 with the camera has an external display, but no case yet! You can't win em all!!

Overall, I think the phone gets a 3 out of 5. Go get it, and if you are with At&t, you can try it out for 30 days. If you don't like it, just take it back! Nothing to lose!

Thanks for reading.... Happy Holidays!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


NEC 515

 

Oct 17, 2003 by Matt420

I bought this phone in September. I have not had a problem since I bought it and it seems to have better RF that my GU87. I live in Chicago and it picks up a Cingular signal well where ATTWS has roaming agreements. I think that most of the RF problems are just with ATTWS's network. Thank God for roaming agreements.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


NEC 515 Could be better

 

Aug 13, 2003 by dan327

I just picked up this phone from ATTWS and for and expensive new phone it could be a little better.

Pros - good battery life, no antenna, auto dimming color display that stays visible for as long as needed, sim card makes it easy to take your personal info & phone #s into a new ATT phone.

Cons - This phone is too big compared to other flip models, has no holder available yet, no exterior display, the mmode - menu and top two buttons do not light up at night and are hard to feel, some functions are not user friendly.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page 1 2 

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2