Phone Scoop

printed September 20, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=119

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Sony Ericsson  ›

Sony Ericsson P800

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  3  

Average Ratings

3.38
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

BAD BAD BAD

 

Jan 3, 2005 by Kidzone_d500

This phone is so bad!!! i had it before my samsung, it was really bad!! its put me off sony ericsson forever. if ur gonna buy it, save ya muney. cos this phone is terrible.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Smartphone w/the Right Service

 

Jul 22, 2003 by Omar Rehiem

Ok let's get to the bad part and get it out of the way now. After using the P800 for a month I can only ascertain two negative aspects to the device.

1) No keyboard
2) The use of MemoryStickDuo instead of a standard MMC or SD card.

That being said, I just don't know where to begin with all the good parts. First off, I guess I should state that I am currently using the phone on T-Mobile USA service. I have the 5000 Anytime minute plan with the ($20 a month) unlimited data (GPRS) add-on. The service itself is sweet and runs smoothly enough to let me focus on using my new toy for all that it is worth.

I think that the first thing that gets you is the size, and then after that you realize just how much the phone will do for its size. Everything about it runs with no problems. I wanna make a phone call, no problem as this full featured PCS has everything, even voice command. I wanna sync it with my desktop, no problems. Started out using the cradle, but went to Best Buy and bought a $50 BlueTooth dongle (for my PC), now I can sync the moment I walk in the door from work. I wanna take notes, JotPro (similer to but much better than Grafitti) is so easy to use, that I have forgiven Ericsson for not including a keyboard. I wanna execute all of my PIM functions, no problem; everything I need and then some is all here. Wanna surf the Net, again no problems as the standard (built-in) browser runs smoothly enough; and then I downloaded the Opera browser (free at Opera's website) and not only did that get better by leaps and bounds, but I must admit that it has become the signle best online experience that I have ever had with any handheld. Opera does possibley the best table reformat that I have ever seen and then it does it on the fly, AND actually runs faster than the included browser.

Anyway, I cannot recommend a PDA/phone more than this one. True the price is stiff, but look at what you're getting. You can find a better price on Ebay; got mine for only $500

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


P800

 

Nov 3, 2003 by dalvin3d

I LOVE my p800. I am a busy professional and use pda all day long. I am pleased to not have to carry a phone and pda everywhere I go. Having them both in one has been a blessing. I use a jabra bluetooth headset so working with the pda and using the phone at the same time has not been a problem. I have not had any reception issues so far. The last three phones I have owned have had major reception problems. The only disappointment I have with the phone is the memory stick duo limitations. I would like to have more storage capacity. Other then that I have no complaints about this phone. I am very pleased with its features and its performance.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


P800 is great!

 

May 1, 2005 by ashman

Its so helpful when people give bad reviews without citing specific things they didn't like about the device.

If you are looking for a pda/phone and don't want to spend a ton of money, then this is a good choice.It's a bit dated, not a quadband phone, but this is only relevant to people in north america. Its Symbian, not Palm, there is no acrobat reader for this phone, but if you download the latest software from ericsson you can sync it with Outlook 2003 no problem. There are some cons about the phone, things that newer phones will do, and certainly if you have the money go for the P900 as it has improvements over this model, but for me this has what I need.

Pros
-------
- easy to use
- respond time is good
- syncs with outlook
- battery life is excellent
- phone functions very well
- has bluetooth/infrared/speakerphone
- mp3 player
- screen can be viewed outside in sunlight
- large screen, bigger then Treo 600

Cons
-----
- camera quality is poor
- no acrobat reader
- no T9 predictive text
- cannot have mp3 as ringtone
- a bit bulky
- 128MB memory card limit, larger cards not suported
- memory stick duo is proprietary, not easy to find, but they are on ebay
- no profiles for ringers

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I love my P-800

 

Jan 29, 2003 by JEAN-LOUIS ROY

I got my P-800 on January 3, from UK to Canada. It is an incredible phone. It is easy to use but offer so much possibilities it will take me a while before I explore all of it's possibilities. It is the tool I was looking for for years, and I cherish it very much. I already induce friends to buy one although it is one of the most expensive phone on the market. It is worth every dime.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


is cool this cell phone but the price is to expensive

 

Apr 1, 2003 by David Medrano

well is i have one of this i wil enjoy it because is a really good phone but it to expensive

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


p800 still one of the best

 

Jul 26, 2004 by isprobi

I bought my p800 after looking at Motorola mpx200, siemens sx56 and color Blackberry. Provider is AT&T Wireless

Pros:
1. Great reception and sound clarity.
2. Lots of application for anything you can imagine http://www.handango.com
3. Reliable and responsive Symbian OS.
4. Loud ring volumn.
5. e-mail and internet access

Cons:
1. Only 4096 color screen

I use my p800 as a phone, mp3 player, movie player (you can fit entire DVD on 128 MB cord using SmartMovie), pop3 e-mail client, web browser and as a portable memory device (who needs a thumb drive?).

The only better phone is Sony/Ericsson p900.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Got it right!

 

Jan 9, 2004 by sl1m

I've been using the P800 for about 4 months now and I must say that Sony Ericsson got it right! The first all-in-one device to flawlessly deliver multiple applications over an intuitive interface that just happens to be a phone! We can start with the cons:

The phone will sometimes lock up while trying to process info too quickly, so be patient in your time between issuing commands, about average time between. The phone's response to your commands is so quick sometimes, it can lure you into thinking you're working on a Pentium!
Con #2, getting use to navigating patterns could take some time, but once you find your niche pattern, it's a breeze. The phone does not navigate like your old cell phone. if you're a tech savvy person, this is not a "con" at all!

Too many pros to list, but I'll list the high impact pros:
Ability to use MS Office apps
Point and click functionality
Quick access to all apps while on a call
copy and paste capabilities from other apps to phone, easy connectivity to PC and many more!

I upgraded mine to 128MB, so multimedia is not a challenge for me to store and upload. I recommend using the Sony Ericsson HBH-65 blue tooth headset for optimum use.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2