Phone Scoop

printed November 28, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1177&r=25502

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola RIZR Z6tv

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

4.28
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
 
Page 123 4 

Nice phone, not for texters

 

Dec 2, 2007 by crudis01

I received my Motorola z6tv two weeks ago. The primary reason I purchased it was for its strong rf signal I had read about on-line. While I did find the signal to be solid, I found that my work LG 8350 to have a much, much stronger signal in even the weakest of areas.

The voice quality on z6 was strong, and those I spoke to said I was very clear. I also felt that the audio from the phone was loud and clear, and I am hard of hearing, so this was important. I also found that it worked well with the 4 bluetooth headsets I tried with it, a Jabra JX-10, Jabra BT-125, Plantronics Voyager 510, and a LG BT-730Z.

The battery life was acceptable on the device, but it did not meet the listed talk time, falling approx 30-45 mins short. Recharge times were very fast however, so this helped to make up for this shortcoming.

The keypad is very tough to use for anyone who texts a lot, the location compared to the open device was less than ideal. I found I continually mistyped words, and misdialed for that matter.

The display was crisp, but I was disappointed that Moto hasn't found their way to 200 thousand colors yet. Also, as is typical in Motorola, it takes abysmal pictures. In this case, you now just get 2 mega pixels of garbage.

I did find it very easy to transfer items to the phone via bluetooth, pics and ringtones both, as well as obx objects. Ringtones were clear and loud, and as I mentioned before with me being hard of hearing, this was nice.

I will be returning this phone for the Venus. I'll be giving that a whirl to see if I find it easy to use the keypad and to see if it also matches the signal strength of its sister LG8350. I'll throw a review for that down after I have had it for a couple weeks.

If you don't text often, or need continual simple access to the keypad, this phone was very nice to look at and easy to use. Hopefully its longevity is just as strong and doesn't die after a year as is typical with many, many Motos I have owned in the past.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


z6tv review

 

Nov 14, 2007 by hoppyjr

First, I believe that Psycho was using this review forum to vent his frustrations with the carrier and therefore not give an accurate description of the device (which is what folks read here for anyway).

As such, this is a fine phone. I am not a slider/bar phone fan, but I do like this one as you can lock the keys and still use BT commands. The reception is A+ and the clarity is typical Motorola / Verizon, which is very good. I'd prefer a no-camera version, but no such luck.

If you are looking for a reliable phone with a camera (decent quality camera too) and a music player, this one deserves a look. I don't care about cameras or music players and I LOVE the phone so far.

Enjoy!

Hoppy

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


!!!BUYER BEWARE!!!

 

Nov 14, 2007 by psycho dramatic7

Verizon sent me this phone as a free upgrade because i've had continuous problems with my cheap LG VX8700 metal phone. Everything was fine until i activated it. You can hear your voice when you speak into the phone. This is during the placement of a call, while the call is in progress and afterwards for a few seconds. I live 3 blocks from a tower and my signal is not the problem. I believe it is the TV chip inside that was causing the RF noise. When I asked people how my voice sounded they said it was muffled and a bit staticy. [...]

Ed. note: Removed rant unrelated to phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Wonderful

 

Oct 30, 2007 by marisphen

Wonderful phone. The only complaint is that the TV rarely works in my area(Central NJ) but Verizon says they are working on it. Other than that great phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


slick little phone

 

Oct 11, 2007 by ifixem

Switching from the Razr Maxx was quite a hard decision to make, but so far so good.

Pros:
nice form factor
good build quality
excellent receiving board
sharp LCD

Cons:
So far my only gripe is the lack of flash and autofocus for the camera.

Holding the camera button to access the viewfinder is strange but not a huge deal. I'm the first to say it's a phone most of all, but I did spoil myself with the Maxx's autofocus and ridiculously bright flash. Texting is deceptively easy. I have very large hands and I can actually get around the smaller keys quite easily (low to no profanity involved)

TV is a nice feature, and the moto is a far better phone than the Samsung tv phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Gr8 so far

 

Oct 10, 2007 by TK4988

I just got this phone after going through 2 other phones which I have written the review on them as well, the Samsung Gleam and the Casio GZone Type S.

this phone is much better than I first thought. it has a good grip, and nice to handle. one of the the other people wrote about the camera button that goes to TV first, and did not know how to avoid that, it is simple. Just push the camera/tv button, hold it down for a 2-3 seconds and that will take you directly to the camera. another thing is that you do not see the video button any where on the phone, you have to go through the manue to get to it, through get it now, then Photo and Video and then New video and that would start the video.

PRO's:
Great Display
Great Sound Quality
Great Reception
Great comfort in holding the phone
Great Pix
Simple to use
few but good selection on ring tones

Con's:
So far NON

I really do like this phone, it is a keeper and well recommended. I did not get it for the T.V. I got it because it felt good and I wanted a slider and a phone with great reception most important of all.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I am supprised!

 

Oct 8, 2007 by peanut4

Very solid phone! Menu is not slow like other motorola phones. Screen is beautiful and dont have to always slide open the phone for use. Very easy to use and fun, tv works better than I thought it would, very clear! Love it!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


OUTSTANDING

 

Oct 7, 2007 by radiodeeej

Verizon if you would just get away from the "Standard UI" this could be a near perfect phone...

Pro's

Rugged Phone
Loud Ringers
Strong vibrate
Clarity of calls wonderful
Verizon Mobile TV pretty cool
Love the key lock on the side

Con's

Standard UI
Can't Change the themes of the phone
Another Bluetooth Crippled Phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Solid, simple, phone. Keeper!

 

Oct 7, 2007 by jpatkinson

PROS:
1. You can lock the handset mechanically [button on R side], but sliding the phone open de-activates the lock. Close the phone, and the lock re-activates!
2. Verizon menu system without the nasty RED.
3. Micro-SD slot on the top.
4. Black rubberized back material stays put.
5. Combo ring/vibrate feature.

CONS:
1. Unfortunate collection of ring tones, out of box.
2. TV feature is short push of TV/camera button, instead of the other way around.
3. Can't find a way to set default phone number for contacts.

Bottom line is that I think this is a great phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page 123 4 

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1