Phone Scoop

printed October 24, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1130&s=h&p=3

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola W490 / W510 / W5

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  26  

Average Ratings

3.46
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
 
Page 12 3 

Don't buy Motorola Phones!!

 

May 20, 2009 by vasquez05

I bought this phone after having a Motorola Black pebble phone that only lasted a year due to the fact that charger port stooped working. I would connected but it wouldn't charge. I went to T-Mobile and decided to do an upgrade for a better model but at a reasonable price. I did my research and decided to get this phone since I saw it came in a variety of colors. I fell in love with the Purple version of the phone. I bought and was happy with it until now. Never gave any problems and I also took really good care of it. However, this May it made a year a bought the phone. Little did a know that it would start to give me problems.One day out of the blue my screen started to turn white everytime I open the phone. I thought maybe it was the batteries. from one day to the next my phone went from a white screen to a black screen. couldn't access the menu, I couldn't even see the time on the outside screen. I call T-mobile and they tell me that my phone couldn't be replaced because the factory warranty had expire two week priors. So I had to get a new phone I choose a Samsumg this time around. Since before I became a T-Mobile I used to be with Spring and owned a Samsung Phone. It was one of the best phone I ever had. It lasted a really long time besides the fact that i drooped a couple of times. ALL I CAN SAY IS THAT WHATEVER YOU DO, DON'T BUY MOTOROLA'S THEY ARE REALLY CHEAPLY MADE AND DON'T LAST MORE THAN A YEAR.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


purple keys?

 

Feb 22, 2009 by raul.diane2009

I got the phone as an upgrade on my account . . . . rep (over the phone) talked me into taking the phone!

First day, charged the phone, didnt bother to power it up and took off to work (running late)

In the middle of the break room during lunch I power the phone on, and a nice bright purple keypad exposes. LOL

I was highly humiliated and to this day people remember me and my purple phone.

I had no idea the 1st W490 came with purple keys. A new trainee walks by me and says that she just got her DAUGHTER the same phone HA HA HA

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Worst Phone Ever

 

Feb 10, 2009 by thermostatic

Ok, so I liked the sound quality and the camera was pretty decent. Pros end there.

Not only was the texting a different style than most, but the memory storage is only 50 messages per box. Now the phone its self was crap. I had it for three days, put it in my pocket at work (the local drug store, not too taxing on it) and the front LCD screen shattered and spidered its self into oblivion. Of -course- I can't get it replaced, cause it counts as a user error, but I'm pretty sure that if a phone breaks within three days by putting it into your pocket, you just wasted your money. I say, take that piece of crap off the market.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Very retarded... Motorola sucks!

 

Dec 5, 2008 by joechains

This phone sucks in almost every aspect! The Housing for the back battery comes off loose all the time. So if you drop your phone, your battery, memory card and sim card will most likely fly off in different directions! The camera is decent, the mp3 player is decent but surfing thoughout the music list takes forever... the processor itself is very slow! Terrible phone! the only thing I liked is first, I paid like 30 bucks for it (and send it right back) the screen kept going blank on me! The only thing I really truely did like about it is the fact that I could change the alert message for whenever I got a text (that one phrase from the movie "Eurotrip") and the fact that it was green (which is my club colors) so dont ever bother with this phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Suprised!

 

Jun 23, 2008 by truluv1990

I recently switched to this phone from a Samsung and was impressed. I never cared for Motorolas; I didn't think they were durable. But so far this phone is okay.

Pros:
Calls are clear
Sleek, convenient design
Can change soft keys to what you want
Crystal clear camera
Loud speakers, whether it be ringtones or
speakerphone
Date is shown on outer screen
Good battery life
Great txt message capacity..about 400 i think
Can check and reply to email on phone
Can transfer files thru bluetooth
Quality mp3 player

Cons:
Screens seem delicate...easily gets scratched
Slow response..im a fast texter so the slow
iTAP usually is far behind and you have to
wait for it to catch up
If you press to many buttons at once or open
it too fast it tends to freeze..
iTAP kinda sucks. The most common word doesnt
always pop up first
You have to go to a whole different menu just
to add a signature to your text. It should
be automatic

Overall pretty decent phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


ok phone, but i suggest something else.

 

Jun 3, 2008 by alashoop101

I got this phone about a month ago. The first night i got it i noticed a few things i didn't like but i thought i just needed to get used to the features. Now, a while later I'm just getting sick of it.

PROS
- very stylish and great design
- very thin
- large LCD screen
- Awesome 1.3 megapixle camera with 8x zoom
- You can record your own ringtones instead of just buying them
- Large inbox/outbox capacity (up to about 300)

CONS
- not too user friendly. Though I am pretty good at figuring things out so it was rather easy for me.
- front display is not great

And the biggest con is that is slow to respond. You often have to press buttons twice or even three times for it to actually respond. I use the phone primarily for texting. And it is and immense pain for me to text. I text very fast and it can barely keep up with me. When I finish typing i will look up and half the words are miss spelled from the terrible iTAP design and it is still typing about a sentence behind me.

Overall an OK phone but I am definitely looking to replace it. If you don't text much, it will be a pretty nice phone.

Another piece of advice is to go into a store and check it out for yourself.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Very satisfied!

 

Mar 17, 2008 by tboogie

I've owned this phone since November. And i love it. at first i did have a couple problems (email not wanting to work and messenger freezing my phone.) but after about a month it all works now!

Pros:
*soft keys for MP3 player.
*Memory card slot so you don't have to remove *battery.
*slick
*small
*durable
*long lasting battery (i work in a call center and so of course i have my phone on vib. and i normally text the whole day 8hr shift. and talk on the phone average 30min-1hour and i come home and am only missing one bar.)

Cons:
*Outside gets scratched easily
*One of my arrow keys in the circle is starting to crack
*I'm afraid that the top part is going to fall apart sometime. its starting to seem a little flimsy but it prob wont.

overall my sister and i both have this phone and we love it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Could be much better

 

Dec 3, 2007 by stevoe101

Had this phone for a few days took it back, found it to be a nice designed phone with lots of features but lacking in other areas. For one there is no delivery receipt on text messages to let you know they were delivered successfully, maybe not a big thing but if you depend on text then it does help to know it was delivered, it has delivery and ready notifications on MMS..go figure?. Below are the pros and cons. Very small amount of shared memory, only 5 megs.

Pros, well design,
Lots of features,
Loud Speakerphone
Good Signal
Good Battery life

Cons
No delivery reciept On text
Sound quality is not great
Low shared memory, some web pages will not load.
Processor is slow, typical motorola 5 megs

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page 12 3 

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2