Phone Scoop

printed November 27, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1114&s=h&p=4

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola W385

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.76
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 123 4 5678

So far so good

 

Dec 2, 2007 by siggy

After 3 LX5400 being defective,must have been bad batch or something, I love mine, so
I got the Motorola W385. Call quality is excellent, the display is not as good as LG's
5400, but the for seems better constructed.
Battery life so far is good, but my wife is not a heavy user, and stand by time is fine.
She actually loves this phone. I personally like my LG5400, but in opinion they both are
really good no frills phones. Also the camera
is not that great, and fonts are small.
Otherwise I would rate this phone a 5.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I'm Pleased Also

 

Jul 24, 2007 by GrumBag

If your looking for a well made small simple phone, this is it. All I do is make phone calls and this gets the job done.
-Feels good in the hand
-One piece rubber keypad is very nice
-Excellent reception
-Great sound quality
-very good speakerphone
-New Verizon UI-Its about time!!!!!!!!!!!!!

If your looking for a well made phone to only use as a phone and you want something small, this is it. Keeping that in mind I really can't say anything bad about it. If you want more, spend more!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Very Pleased

 

Aug 2, 2007 by honors21

Wow I have had many phones over the past 6 months Razr,Krzr,Lg vx8300,the maxx to name a few but I can stop looking this phone is amazing.
Pro's:
~Very Sturdy
~Very good reception
~Battery life is very good
~I can see the time on the outside without straining my eyes
~Same display theme as the new LG'S
~Software is fast
~Bluetooth is clear
~you can talk on the speakerphone with flip closed
~Can add wallpaper and ringtones easliy

Con:
The inside screen is small when going into the web but once your in the fonts are large

So if someone says they don't like this phone theirs is a defect or thy like bashing Verizon

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone!

 

Oct 13, 2007 by NoneSuch

After two years, my Motorola E815 (good phone) OS finally died; so after doing some research I narrowed the choices down to two. Because I thought the larger inner and outer displays would be more advantageous than the second choice, I started with the Samsung SCH-U540: call quality was not quite as good, the blackened outer display was worthless in medium ambient light and (of course) outdoors, battery life was horrible without a warning before it died, and the voice dial prompts came through the speakerphone without turning the speakerphone on (very irritating not to mention distracting to others). After getting into the hidden menus, and going through Samsung level two support (who stated there are no hidden menus) in an attempt to have the voice dial prompts output only through the earpiece without success – I nixed it.

Then came the ‘385. Call quality is better on both ends than either of the previous phones, reception is at least on par with the ‘815 and better than the ‘540 (if manufacturers report signal strength using the same scale), voice dial prompts are through the earpiece (unless the speakerphone is on), the outer display is easily read even in direct sunlight, the look is slim and attractive, it’s much lighter than the ‘815, battery life isn’t bad, speakerphone is very good and full duplex (as it should be), there have been no dropped calls, the camera is acceptable for what it is, and the menus are fast.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


great phone so far

 

Aug 11, 2009 by 3mrtext3

ive only had dis phone 4 2 days but bare with me. So far I love it. Ive sent 51 text messages and every 1 have been a joy.( who says u need a messaging phone to send text messages quickly) The clarity is decent and camera below average but who cares
By the way I have U.S. Celluar

Pros
Great look inside and out
easy to text
battery life
some cool ringtones
and alot other stuff i just dont feel like saying

Cons
Camera
No camcorder
Only 9 speed dials

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Easy to use, durable, easy to hear

 

Dec 30, 2009 by pamstein325

This phone honestly surprised me considering how good it really is. I use the phone as a prepaid phone with Straight Talk by Verizon. When I make calls, voices are loud and clear and texting is very simple; and I'm glad because I have the $45/mo. unlimited talk/text plus 30 mb plan. I am easily able to surf the web also, since all you have to do is just enter the URL you desire to visit and you're there. The phone has withstood many drops and scratches, in fact it still looks brand new. The phone avoids the complications of many phones on the market today but at the same time provides all the necessary features a phone should have. Way to go Motorola and good choice verizon.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


decent phone, but poor battery life mars otherwise flawless phone

 

Dec 18, 2008 by APCO25guy

I had the W385 before replacing it with a VE240. It was an excellent phone EXCEPT the battery life STINKS. Otherwise mars excellent performance.

Pros:
-very well built
-Excellent RF
-Call quality top notch
-Bluetooth
-Camera takes acceptable pictures
-Very loud ringer and speakerphone
-Keys are spaced well and good layout
-Nice texture on housing makes it easy to grip, and resists scratches.

Cons:
-Horrible battery life, 2 hrs talk time at best. If you buy the optional extended battery (I did) it barely makes it to 4.5 hours. This is in a strong signal area on Metro PCS. Phone and battery get warm when in talk mode.

-Charging port on the bottom left side. Why Motorola does this is beyond me. Makes it very difficult to hold the phone while charging, especially with a car charger attached.

If you don't mine keeping it plugged in all the time, it's a great phone. It's too bad Motorola put the charging connector on the side as this phone will need to be hooked up to a charger most of the time.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone for children!

 

Nov 19, 2008 by jenn1980

This phone is AWESOME! I got a phone for my daughter because of issues with her father, custody and all that fun stuff! Well I wanted a phone that I could secure myself and not rely on a system through the phone company to block everything. It gets great reception, I have ringtones on there for her & its kid friendly with the speed dials & pictures so she knows who is calling. My daughter is only 5 so I needed it locked up tight, no calls to china or whatever. So this phone has an awesome security feature that you can lock the incoming calls limited to the ones in the contacts list, the rest just go to voicemail, outgoing calls are only on her contacts list & in order to add a phone number a security code is required. I have locked the applications that I don't want her to have access to, like texting or internet, i have unlimited family texting but she's too young to worry about that. Her dad doesn't know the code & its going to stay that way. But all together its an awesome phone, it fits in her little hands, its got a rubbery outside so it slip as much & she loves the fact that it has a camera. Its easy to change the ringtone from loud to vibrate or soft or silent just by pressing the button on the side & don't even have to open the phone.

Cons:
well as of right now theres only 1, we've had 2 different phones and the internet had issues, but since she doesn't need it i'm not worried about it.

I recommend for kids if they are allowed to have a phone because of the security feature. By the way i have us cellular

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Outstanding Value

 

Jan 21, 2008 by radio11

I have this phone with Verizon service. Signal is always strong, call clarity is exceptional - even on speaker phone.

I like the rubberized housing, and the tactile feel of the keypad is just right.

Battery life is only average, and I have ordered higher capacity battery and extra capacity battery door.

I have no use for blue-tooth or music, so not having those features doesn't bother me.

My only quibble with the feature set is the screen, would have been nice to have higher resolution screen, but at this price point you can only expect so much.

Overall this is a very nice instrument, a great value for the price.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


More Useful Than High End Phones

 

Dec 17, 2007 by diabloscoot

I was planning to get a higher end phone like the V9 when my "new every 2" came up, but none of them had a front display that you can see without the backlight. I hate having to hold a button down for 2 seconds whenever I want to see the time. Honestly, does anyone care about having a full color screen for the outside display? What good is it? Anyway, I ended up with this free phone, because it had all the features I wanted, and none that I don't. I've had it for 2 months now and I'm quite happy with it.

pros:
- Outside display doesn't require backlight to be visible
- Battery life is outstanding
- Signal and sound are strong and clear
- Has vibrate and ring setting
- Feels sturdy
- Rubberized case stays looking new
- USB jack allows it to be a modem (can use dial up without verizon's knowledge)
- Ring settings don't change in my pocket (like my RAZR did)

cons:
- isn't as thin as a RAZR (KRZR size)
- speaker phone could be louder to hear it over road noise in car

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 123 4 5678

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1