Phone Scoop

printed November 24, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1100&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SGH-A727

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  36  

Average Ratings

3.32
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
 
Page 1 2 

Antenna issues are a deal killer

 

Jan 19, 2008 by jmatthewhouse

I purchased this phone from AT&T on June 18, 2007 - the day it came out. I was a big fan of the Samsung Trace and quite frustrated that T-Mobile was the only carrier offering a phone in that form factor (i.e., really ridiculously thin).

Overall my initial experience with the phone was mixed. I felt the interface was a bit difficult to work with and I've never loved Samsung's text messaging (I learned on a Nokia), but any new phone takes getting used to and I adjusted. I loved how slim the phone was and overall would have given it a 3.5 - 4 rating.

About four months after getting the phone, it started dropping calls for no reason. The drops were typically in the same geographic areas. I would show a medium-strength signal, make a call and then have anywhere from 10 seconds to 20 minutes of conversation before dropping the call. Once I dropped a call I would generally drop several in quick succession, leading to quite a bit of frustration. The problem got worse with time -- eventually I was dropping close to 100% of my calls.

AT&T replaced my handset under their warranty program, and I had that handset about 2.5 months before it started doing the same thing as the first handset. I again called in and got a third handset, which had the same problem from the moment I removed it from its box.

After doing some reading, it looks like Samsung may have antenna issues with this phone. Given that talking is a primary function of a cell phone, I cannot recommend buying this phone due to the reliability issues I've faced.

AT&T attempted to replace it with another Samsung, but after some begging they gave me a Nokia 6555, which so far (3 days in) is treating me very well. I'm having crisp, clear conversations in places the Samsung A727 never even got a signal.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Love It!

 

Oct 29, 2007 by mzdov

I switched to this phone after two days of having the LG Trax. I absolutely love it!

Minor complaints are the small keys, the not so user friendly menu options and it's a bit detailed to "connect" the bluetooth.

Other than that, this phone is great! Great sound quality, great reception, loud tones. The camera is amazing! Great color quality.

Even though I'm a huge fan of flip phones, I am very satisfied with this phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


nice phone.. me likey

 

Sep 16, 2007 by seen

ive had this phone for 2-3 weeks..
2 problems: the antenna, and the keys

the antenna is on the bottom of the phone, i get a perfect signal if i turn the phone upside down, yeah that makes a lot of sense..

the keys are tiny, but everybody else already said enough about that..

i have to say my favorite feature is the power-saving options, the screen dims & turns off after a customizable amount of time, (the nokia i had before wouldnt even let you adjust the brightness)

PS: cingular's demo games are a joke

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Ups and Downs

 

Aug 29, 2007 by illwill005

PROS

music player-
uses windows media player to load songs on it
can play music while playing games, texting, almost anything
artist, album, all, recent music, most played music in menu.
after going to artist in menu, doesnt go to album- shows all songs by artist in alphabetical order. music player minimizes, but has some really annoying features.
but i am happy with

menu-
really nice samsung ui, but buttons are wasted that could be better shortcut keys(key on rightside of phone, key across from the
music key)

look-impresses others, thin and light, great feel in the hand

CONS

reception-
is really bad at my place (0-2 bars)
when i compare it to razr, w810, nokia their reception is 3-5 bars
but....even with xtremely low bars i can still send/receive calls

keypad-
cramped and crappy. softkeys are hard to hit.
i always push center and "c" key while trying to use th d-pad

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great for light duty

 

Jun 20, 2007 by xoxma

OK, so I've had this phone for 5 days now, and these are my first impressions:

Pros:

I really like the form factor and weight
Good plastic (yes, I dropped it on a pavement already )
I like Samsung UI (coming from Motorola)
Price (I paid $50 after rebate for a 2-year renewal)

Cons:

Very tight and small keypad - do not buy this phone if you text a lot
Screen size is smallish for 2007.
RF is not as good as Moto V3xx
Apparently the microphone "whistles" on the other end if you're talking on a windy street.

Neutrals:

Battery life is less than 2 days with light calling - but that's a payment for small size
I haven't tried using it as a music player yet.
Cingular's "demo games" are really annoying.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


SGH-727

 

Jun 16, 2007 by Versed

Pro's:
Nice thin design.
Screen is sharp and bright.
Seems very well built.
Finally Cingular (AT&T) included Comcast in its email providers.
Uses same chargers, cables and software as my kids Sync's.

Con's:
Manual and menu's are confusing, nowhere in the manual after looking through index's for like 15 mins could I find how to set ring tones, in the end figured it out.

Compared to the Sync which is also a very good phone it is a tad expensive, except for video abilities and it being a bar phone, there's not alot of differences between the two.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Wouldn't Buy It

 

Jul 29, 2007 by emilasia

Pros it is the same size as my SLVR L7.

Cons I am not tech. challenged but I received this phone as a replacement for my Slvr and after trying to input phone book entry. I was so annoyed by how little the options were, that i boxed it back up and shipped it back. Sorry but I wouldn't waste my time and I work for a cell phone co.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page 1 2 

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1