Phone Scoop

printed April 24, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1082&s=h&p=3

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Pantech  ›

Pantech Ocean

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

4.06
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 12 3 45

Great Phone, Great Design!

 

Apr 28, 2008 by Jared75684

So, having only owned the Ocean for a total of 48 hours, I am absolutely 100% in love with it. When PC Mag said it was the Sidekick killer, they were totally right, as I've owned a Sidekick 2, 3, and a Sidekick Slide and this phone destroys them all.

It has a great browser, and with Helio putting out the Opera Mini browser, the internet experience can definitely rival that of the iPhone. I have had great signal with the phone, and excellent call quality.

Pro's: Call Quality
Signal Strength
Design
Keyboard
Camera
Push Alerts for ALL email providers
Integrated Messaging in ONE SPOT!

Con's: Only one I have is that with the numerical pad slid up, when you access the camera, it only will let you snap a picture in the 320x240 mode, and I hate that.

Overall, phone is excellent. Congrats Helio and Pantech for a job well done.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


great so far

 

Apr 27, 2008 by bgdg1968

this phone is great i switched from a 8525 and the difference is really good for me i don't need something so business centric everything works great email is awsome can have push and not run the batt down in 4 hours the gps works in my house and even shows where i am in my house on google maps camera is nice takes way better pis than my 8525 and the best thing is i don't have to soft reset 2 or 3 times a day if your looking for a full featured phone without a bunch of stuff you won't use i say get an ocean

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Not a fast 3G modem to notebook

 

Apr 17, 2008 by Eric Lee Elliott

Wish I could praise the Ocean phone & Helio as I like the plan, cost & capabilities it was sold as having.

Fry's sold me Ocean as a PDA phone with fast 3G service and capability to use as modem to my notebooks.

Per Helio Technical Support:
Use as modem is prohibited
Windows only! Mac not supported, Linux not supported.

Most of my emails are truncated. Loading remainder of email is slow. No option to always load full email. No graphics in emails. Must command it to download from my email address. It might push email from Helio or AOL, not from my email address.

No weather map seen so far. No video has played or even moved a bit.

GPS is sure I am 7 miles from here. Can't get it to quit the route I did not enter. Can't just see my location on map without it playing routing games.

Font is too small. Useless in sun light.

It might be a good phone, but I have only talked to Helio on it. Other calls had long delays before rings & got no answer.

Wish I could praise the phone & Helio as I like the plan, cost & capabilities it was sold as having.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Youtube Review

 

Apr 15, 2008 by ThisKory99

I have posted a FULL Helio Ocean Review here on youtube.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NzJcWKz3zRY

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone But Bad Service

 

Apr 10, 2008 by thedukejr

I have had this phone for about 7 months and I love the phone but hate the service. The phone has almost everything you would want in a phone but you have to deal with Helio's crappy service

Pros:
Really good camera
Keyboard
AIM, Yahoo Messenger
Emails
Easy way to find contacts
Fast internet (when it is working)

Cons:
Bad Service
Kinda big and bulky (definitely need a belt clip)

Although I love the phone I am still going to switch to a different carrier and get the new Pearl so I can actually use my phone and not have to deal with their customer service who keep you on hold for a min of 30 mins for the simpliest task and still mess up.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I've had the Ocean almost a year....

 

Apr 4, 2008 by Naytess

...and I'm wondering how I was able to live without it beforehand! I left Sprint after being one of their (few) loyal customers for almost 8 years for this phone! For me, I don't need full PDA functionality but, close to it. I tried 2 PDA's in the past (HTC Pocket PC & Moto Q) but, the lack of customization I was used to with regular cell phones coupled with the boring layout of a Windows based device drove me to revert back to the regular clam-shells (this is also partly because of how Sprint limited their Windows based devices at the time). I work with computers (Microsoft/Windows) all day...so, when it comes to my cell phone I'd prefer to have something "different", and more fun. ---> Enter the Helio Ocean!
This is EXACTLY what I had been waiting for! The attractive UI illuminated through the 18-bit screen is so refreshing! The features that are standard on this device &/or a free download should make all non-Helio users reconsider!
I can only think of 3 "cons" for this device:
1) Numeric keypad layout - because the keys are on a "curved horizontal" layout, it makes one-handed dialing or texting VERY difficult in that it's too easy to hit the wrong key.
2) Lack of customization for message alerts - there's only 6 preloaded choices for text/email/IM alerts w/o the ability to download others to assign.
3) Removal of battery - this is probably my biggest complaint about this phone. In making the battery edges flush with the device, this makes removing the battery extremely difficult. Normally, I have to use a credit card to pry the battery out!
However, I still gave this phone an overall rating of "5" because those 3 cons are easily lived with when compared to all the fantastic features this phone offers! At this point...I have a really hard time imagining what Helio/Pantech will think of next to upgrade from the Ocean!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great device that can be used as a phone

 

Feb 29, 2008 by bilbro51

I have never owned a device with so may features. I love all the features that this phone has. Especially the flashlight. Great phone. Get one soon you'll enjoy it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


THE BEST U COULD EVER HAVE

 

Feb 29, 2008 by KANDY

when i first saw this phone my best friend had it. i asked her where did she get her phone from and she said helio, i was like what is helio and she told me it was a new wireless company that had just started not to long ago. i played with the phone to see what all it could do. when i saw that the phone could slide two ways i flipped out like i have to have it. then she told me about the features the phone had on it, myspace access, internet search, garmin, camera, and on and on. i think the coolest thing on the phone is that you can type using letters instead of having to us the number key pad to type a message. i love to text and get on myspace so this phone is prefer for me. the cool thing too about were i got my phone from was online at a place called finawireless.com you can order everything right there on the website, and if you have any questions you can call and speak with a rep and they are so helpful. the plans they have for the phone are so sick they make verizon and sprint look so over priced. i got the unlimited plan for $99/a month with unlimited everything hey u can't beat that. this was the best investment i have made in a long time i hope other people do the same.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Oc3an :D

 

Jan 16, 2008 by BeaDis

The ocean i must say is freakin awesome! I must say! I love everything about this phone. The only thing i dont like about it is that it freezes.. aka the bugs on this phone. OVERALL, this phone is worth the money! :P

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Awesome

 

Dec 13, 2007 by kaustic

Awesome device. Internet is fast, especially when compared to other carriers. If you're into Messaging, you will find NO better device than the ocean. It is sometimes buggy, however I love it. It's everything I expected and then some.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 12 3 45

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1