Phone Scoop

printed October 31, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1082

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Pantech  ›

Pantech Ocean

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

4.06
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Solid

 

Nov 21, 2007 by AdMmm

Way more than satisfied with the usability of my Helio Ocean. If you don't like fast internet or streaming video capabilities at your fingertips along with complete email, instant messaging, video recording, photo uploading (geo tagged at that) and staying in touch pretty much anyway you would do in the comfort of your own home but from where ever the day (or night) brings you. SOMETHING IS WRONG WITH YOU! AND THERE IS DEFINITLY SOMETHING WRONG WITH YOU IF YOU DO LIKE ALL THIS AND STILL PAY EXTRA FOR IT ALL SOMEWHERE ELSE (SIDEKICK)...KISS MY HELIO BUTT!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


great device

 

Nov 7, 2007 by heliofan88

love this device i have had it for about two months and i wouldn't know what to do without it, great reception Internet isn't the fastest but i live in a small town love the features so much stuff is packed into it. i have had no problems with it yet. cant wait till they make the upgraded model...OCEAN II oh yeah.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


WOW

 

Aug 21, 2007 by southernceo

this is incredible.if you use this phone for 2 weeks and then switch to a another phone it feels like you went 10 years in the past. any other phone i use makes me feel helpless

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Best phone I have had

 

Aug 2, 2007 by l.nepstad

I have had the ocean for a few weeks and I have been very happy with it. the dual keyboard functionality is rock solid. The voice and clarity have been great. It holds a 3g network even if there is only 1 bar.

PROS:
-Great high quality screen
-nice shape/design feels good in hands
-3g network is amazing
-helio service(so much for so little)
-stereo speakers
-amazing camera w/ bright flash
-great keypad layout
-rubberized plastic
-unlimited messagin and IM !!!

Neither Pros or Cons:
-Games, some good some bad
-stereo bluetooth
-speaker-phone

The only con i have is that it has a few bugs to get out of it. it freezes every once in a while. Not as much as windows mobile or a razr though.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


all-around great device

 

Jul 17, 2007 by dmichelr

First off, the only reason I gave the Ocean a 4.5 instead of 5.0 is because it is a little big and Helio doesn't offer enough accessories for it (carrying cases, belt clips?!).

This device is great, and I have only experienced 1 bug so far (internet browser went to white screen, wouldn't load any pages... so just closed browser, reopened, and problem is fixed) and that bug only happened once. The best thing about the Ocean is the messaging interface, extremely easy to setup and use, just a great app!

Pros:
dual keyboards
messaging program
google maps (GPS)
camera (lots of menu options, good quality)
beautiful screen
3G speeds, youtube streaming, etc.
many others.....

Cons:
size (a little big, not bad though)
quiet ringtones (hard to hear in pocket)
non-customizable messaging ringtones

basically, the ocean is perfect for those of us that don't like full smartphones but still want great messaging functionality and web access. and with the GPS thrown in the mix you've got a winner!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The ocean is where everyone wants to be this summer!

 

Jul 10, 2007 by Blahman240

Love my ocean, although I hate the bugs. Although I have not hit a bug since the day I got the phone.

As time goes on, you learn how to get around the bugs.

Its a great phone for the money, gotta love the screen and how great games and such look on it, love the message area of the phone. Everything about this phone is awesome.

One thing I don't like, is the lack of belt carry cases out right now for it. I'm very protective of my ocean, I don't want a scratch on it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Best I've Ever Had

 

Jul 9, 2007 by Cheesyfeet

This is actually the best device I have ever had. It works well, and it has very useful features like the Integrated Contact search, or the "Ultimate Inbox." The Dual-Slide feature is nice as well.

Pros:
Full QWERTY keyboard
HTML Browser
Has email accounts such as GMail, Yahoo, or Hotmail
MySpace Mobile v2 works great
You can upload to YouTube and Flickr Easily
2.0 Megapixel Camera, w/ Flash and Zoom
Good Video camera(Most of the Time)
Integrated Web/Contact Search
Fun to use GPS enabled Google Maps
and a few others.

CONS:
If you are in a non-3G area, internet browsing is slow.
Once in a while, freezes up
not many to list.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


best device ive every owned!!

 

Jun 17, 2007 by joshuwaa111

PROS:
big bright crisp screen
regular phone pad & qwerty
3g
great signal strength (never dropped a call)
AIM is amazing! (very similar to sk3)
great plan choices
2 mp camera that actually takes decent pictures!
awesome mp3 player
BATTERY LIFE IS VERY GOOD!
myspace mobile app works very well
& many more i just cant think of right now.

CONS:
kinda buggy at times
kinda bulky (not as bad i thought it would be though)

OVERALL:
im in love with my helio ocean its the best device ive ever owned and ive owned alot (motorola q, vx 9800, sk2). i would greatly recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in touch with people and have the coolest device.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Well I like it

 

May 19, 2007 by gendur

This is a unique device with great connectivity and features. Love the keyboard search for contacts and web searches; push Yahoo email is sweet; appreciate a second keypad for dialing; screen (though small) is brilliant; Google maps w/GPS is fun, and though weighty it doesn't feel as large as I had anticipated. I think the previous reviewers were victims of the over-hype that preceded the launch. If you are looking for the perfect do-everything-device, I am not sure it has been made yet and I am finding the Ocean to be no more frustrating or dazzling than the WM5 devices (Dash, MDA) I have previously owned. They are also phones first, with unique connectivity/productivity features second. For me the Ocean and Helio have integrated all the features better than anything I have seen/owned to date and I am enjoying using it. I also like Helio's all-in plans and find them a value (just add unlimited text/data to other carriers plans and see what you come up with.) Battery life could be better but I guess there are limits and trade-offs based on the size of the device.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great but not perfect

 

May 28, 2007 by ChuX

I've used the Ocean for over a week now and here's what I think of the phone.

First of all, it is great for calls. The clarity I would rate just a tad below Verizon. As for it's messaging aspect, I love it more than the Sidekick 3 and Dash. The keyboard, in my opinion, is better than the SK3 and Dash. The spacing of the keys are great, though I wish the spacebar was wider. Beimg able to retrieve Yahoo, Gmail, and Earthlink mail is great. Though I do wish Gmail was push email. AIM works well. For me, I felt it works better than on the SK3.

The UI is great. The menu system is well laid out and settings are easy to locate and change. However, the software is laggy at times and the phone has frozen on me a few times.

The web browser is possibly my biggest complaint about the Ocean. If a page takes to o long to load, it goes back to the main screen and the browser has be started up again. Although it can go to most websites, there are a few which it can't open.

To sum it up,

PROS:
Large screen
Great keyboard
Fast EVDO service
Great messaging interface
Good size for a device which does so much

CONS:
Laggy software
Web Browser could be better
No push email for all emails
AIM is slow at times

If you're looking for a good all-in-one device, I highly recommend the Ocean. It's not perfect, but at least Helio gives you a 30 day period to try it out.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2345

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1