Phone Scoop

printed October 25, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1072&s=h&p=3

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Palm  ›

Palm Treo 680

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.84
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 12 3 45

It was okay, but I gave it away

 

Sep 7, 2007 by DallasPhoneWhore

I had this phone for a few months. At first, it was the best thing since sliced bread. But quickly I grew to dislike the touch screen feature. And also, I'm very particular about the appearance of my phone and it was hard to keep the screen clean around the edges. I was forced to use a case with a clear front and I think that just takes away from the beauty of the phone. What's the point in having a nice phone if you cover it with a case? Also, I'm must be a tech idiot, because I could never find the right software to put on it so that I could watch movies. It was frustrating to be able to use that feature and not get it to work. Another downside was that I had to "get" new e-mails. They didn't just appear with an alert and an icon. That got annoying very quickly.

I have a Blackberry 8700c now and I love it. It doesn't have any of the problems that I had with my treo and it's not as bulky. I'd recommend a blackberry as opposed to a Treo.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not worth the $

 

Aug 18, 2007 by garmanfamily

I bought this phone Dec 2006 and since then have had 5 replacements due to: dropping calls, shutting it's self off, freezing up, microphone malfunctions, just plain not working.

The last time I called they decided to send me a Blackberry Curve because there have been so many problems with the Treo 680.

On the positive side, when the phone works it's a nice phone. Easy to sync, nice keyboard, and program layout.

You just have to hope that you get one of the rare ones that don't have to be replaced several times.

My friend had one and had similar problems and got a different brand phone as their final replacement too.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Great Phone!!!!

 

Aug 9, 2007 by palmdude

I just recently purchased the 680 about a week ago I don't know about any other user, but I love this phone. It does everything I want and more. It is a really good phone to have. Pros: Excellent e-mailing, txt messaging, voice quality, web capability wonderful. No cons at this time!

P.S. Did I mention I love this phone!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Best phone Ive ever owned!!!

 

May 24, 2007 by tanjohn4

This phone has been nothing but reliable.Purchased about 4 months ago and was skeptical,but has proven itself to to be my top pick. Ok,the battery life could last maybe longer than a day, but what do you expect, its running the phone and pda all at the same time and other than the occasional "freeze" (just soft reset)its perfect. I recommend this phone/pda to anyone looking for something very easy to use and have a portable office at the same time.
pros:
o Battery last a full day
o Endless, endless software to choose from
o Very, Very easy to use and customer support has been great (Cingular/Palm)
o Web browsing is fast
o Can download different wallpaper and resize to fit on your phone all within the Palm software given at time of purchase
o Syncing has been flawless
Cons:
o The occasional freeze (but what phone or any piece of electronic has never had at least one glitch?)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great if you don't need a phone!

 

Apr 18, 2007 by hawkintx

Recently switched to Cingular from Sprint in an area where Cingular is "supposed" to be the best service in town. Call quality is horrible and I'm not sure if it's the provider or the device. I've spoken with several people using Cingular with a regular phone (not a PDA) and they say the service is great, so it leads me to believe it's the device. Also an instore representative said he had experienced poor call quality with a Treo and had switched to a Blackberry and it was better. I've been using this "phone" for less than a week and I've been researching how to get it replaced since day three. I drop calls daily, much more frequently than I did on Sprint, this from the network that claims to have the fewest dropped calls. If I could get my old Sprint service back today I would do so immediately.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Treo 680 from the Treo 650

 

Apr 6, 2007 by frankiewawa

The Treo 680 is a great phone that offers many things that I need but not all the things that I want in a phone. Somethings that I think the phone is missing is a better mp3 player(very annoying to operate), UMTS, no built in instant messenger, and awful battery life. I have to charge my phone every night or when I wake up in the morning the phone is dead!
Overall the phone was a great improvement from the Treo 650, I'm happy that I stuck with Treo compared to a windows mobile phone. I'm hoping that sooner or later there will be some nice color covers for the phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


New to the Smartphone realm

 

Mar 30, 2007 by chicadam

I had this phone for a week now and all I've been doing is playing with it. Its my first smartphone and I am glad I'm going this direction. All in one is the only way to go. I was torn between the BB Pearl and the 680. I think I'd be happy with both, however, both are also quite different.

PROS:
A lot of different call options. Awesome
SD slot full accessible
Touchscreen
Great signal/sound quality
Great integration with the PDA/Palm OS
Excellent intuitive buttons, only possible with a lot of experience in building PDAs.

CONS:
Battery life
no wifi... its about that time palm
heavy
Weak camera

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Awesome!

 

Mar 20, 2007 by joed562000

It is awesome! I love everything about this phone. Granted I have only had it for one week and I have never owned a smartphone before (I had a Palm and a phone). Mine was ordered without a camera for business reasons.

I am glad I did not set it up to have push e-mail because I like not being disturbed but I can check to see if I have e-mail at any time.

The web access is as good as I think one could reasonably expect from a phone but I agree with other writers that if it had WI-FI access, it might make it even better.

The phone is great and I love having my Palm information and the phone in one device. Upgrading to this phone could not have been quicker or easier.

Overall, I think it is great!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Treo 680-The Best Smartphone on the Market

 

Mar 15, 2007 by awashi

I received my Palm Treo 680 two weeks ago and decided to wait before posting my thoughts.

Pros: Bright screen, MP3 palyer, volume and clarity, keyboard, touchscreen

Cons: Call waiting feature is wierd

I have had nothing but success with this smartphone. I had a Treo 600 in the past and stayed away from the 650 for obvious reasons. This 680 is very different in terms of not only usability but call signal, volume and clarity. Gone are the days of Volume Care (a program that enhances the volume level of prior Treos).

I have had to reset my phone 2x because it froze. Now, keep in mind I have used more than a few smartphones and EVERY one has froze at some point. I do not consider this a downfall.

The phone is responsive, loud ringers, great MP3 player and the organizer is top notch. If you prefer WM5 then go with the 750, I prefer PALM OS.

This phone is sleek in terms of the models that came before it. It fits comfortably in your hand and feels good against the ear.

Battery life could be better. I was really disappointed at first, but as time has shown, the battery is MUCH better than it was when it arrived. I get 1-3 days usage on a charge. Some days are heavier use than others. This smartphone definitely should be charged daily for maximum benefit.

I recommend this for users who want an excellent phone and the convenience of an organizer, MP3, video, photos etc. Even the camera for a VGA takes decent pictures. The VGA cameras have come a long way since its inception a few years back.

Go get one!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


cool phone thanks PAlm!!

 

Mar 14, 2007 by hottiebofy

i have had this phone for 3 weeks, and it is so reliable and cool.
there is nothing i can think of that is bad about this phone.
it is great.
thanks palm

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 12 3 45

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1