Phone Scoop

printed December 18, 2017
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1066&r=24827

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung BlackJack SGH-i607

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.86
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
Page 123 4 567...11

Wonderful!

 

Nov 10, 2008 by Cindyy

this phones virtually amazing!

i looove it.
when my mom got it for me i HATED it cusz i didn't want it in the begining, but then i got used to it, it NEVER leaves my hand. fo' real!

pros:
-great battery
-able to edit pics in phonee
-awesome camera
-task manager[:
-home button nd more
-system software is bomb.(windows)
-easy-to-use
-big screen
-side keys
-scrolling bar thingy
-perfect call quality
-vanity mirror
-bluetooth capaple
-live video[:
-damn good vibration
-device lock(for those with parents)lol
-IE
-leathery complexion
-lightwieght
-Diff. ways to customize it
- i could go onnnnn & on!!

cons:
-no flash:[
-screen gets scratched up easilyyy
-the navagation button gets dirty easily
-buttons are a little tiny
-memory could be better

overall it's greatt[:
i reccomend you get it[:

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Blackjack! Perfect 21!

 

Dec 4, 2007 by hardcorehavok

This is a great device. I thought I would regret getting this instead of the Blackjack II, but I am extremely impressed with the original.

PROS:
1. 3G
2. Come With an Extended and Standard Battery
3. Extremely Easy To Use
4. Great Apps Avail including NES Emulator
5. Slim and Sleek
6. Beautiful Screen
7. Full QWERTY keyboard
8. Loud Speaker

CONS:
1. No Document Editing, but I Don't Need That

Amazing device. Media player, phone, email, full keyboard. It has everything I need or want in a phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       reviews continues below...


nothing special

 

Oct 23, 2007 by patmangan123

I'm no phone expert but, it doesn't take a genius to know that there is nothing special about this phone. If you want a practical phone with a good amount of features then this is a good buy; but if you're looking for something more on the extravagent side, then keep looking.

Pros-
good for text messages
two batteries
good mp3 player

cons-
everything is slow
no camera flash
bad calendar setup
didn't work well with windows XP (maybe this only happened to me)

If you want a good reliable phone this one is an option, but depending on your needs, it might not be the best option.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Why won't this phone work well?

 

Aug 30, 2007 by johntx

I've used this phone since January, after two hard restarts and asking enough questions, I finally found out that the antenna simply does not work well, many calls get dropped, in strong signal areas it thinks it is roaming and it won't work well in weak signal areas at all. Worst of all it started locking up while an active call was in progress and a new email came in. It turns out that when the user deletes read emails they stay in memory until you figure out how to get to the deleted folder and clean that out, the curse of Windows in a mobile device, great!!!! I am keeping it only for emails now and bought a new RAZR V3xx to use as my phone, see my review of that phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good but will not keep it

 

Aug 29, 2007 by pramodmeee

The phone is good. It has bit more CONs I guess. I got my new blackjack with my new contract. I was very exited to see my very first PDA PHONE. After I got it, I was not really comfortable with it. (May be I'm so in to SE phones)
I ordered a SE P990i phone. That is totally AWESOME.

So.. with BlackJack,
PROs,
-Very Thin (unlike SE ;-) )
-Windows Mobile
-3G
-Good battery life
-Good signal picking up

CONs,
-Phone is SLOW! :-(
-Keybord is too small.
-If we type faster, some letters won't register.
-VERY eacily hit the god dang END button when we try to push the RIGHT key.
-Does not close apps by back button. Always have to go to the task manager.
-Camera is only 1.3MP
-Camera frame rate is very low.
-No Flash... C'mon Samsung.
-Ringing tone is not loud enough for a loud env.
-No Radio
-No WiFi

I will keep stick with Sony Ericsson phones after all.

If you are going to buy a BlackJack, Try a phone first.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great phone!

 

Aug 25, 2007 by specialK_olin

Pros-
good camera quality
great signal (even in non-3G areas)
good call quality
loud speaker for music/videos
nice speakerphone
bluetooth headset-capable
Syncs with Windows
Plays all my favorite NES games
good battery life
keyboard is great for texting
any Mp3 can be a ringtone
scroll wheel and menu is great for quick access to programs
MicroSD card, and able to save pictures/videos to it
bluetooth is compatible with Windows and Mac

Cons-
no WiFi
didn't come with Headphones (bought an adapter for $1 online)
End call button easy to accidentally push (maybe its just me)
ringtones have to be on the phone to be ring tones
the three button unlock (power, Left soft Key, *) was kinda lame at first

I originally got this phone to replace my Sony Ericsson Z500a (MAJOR upgrade there) but also to to keep me occupied until I could afford an iPhone. I think I'd much rather have my BlackJack than an iPhone, it was definitely a good buy.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nice for basic smart phone usage !!!

 

Aug 23, 2007 by Altairr

As a first time smart phone user Id love to have the Apple iPhone...unfortunatley there is no justification found personally for spending this much money on it...but it is certainly fancy !!!

My need for a smart phone is basic which makes the Blackjack a great first time phone using it for internet and web mail plus basic to do list reminder stuff. Location Los Angeles CA, Carrier Cingular.

I have no need to download documents, files or games which will keep things clean and speedy.

Pros:

* Loud pretty clear sound slightly muffled hardly tho. Volume button easy access too !!!

* Really fast HTML web page loading.
Screen is ok size and has zoom.

* Easy to navigate software.

* Nice hand size seems pretty sturdy & robust ..was surprised.

Cons & Suggestions:

* Its kinda toy phone cartoon-ish the displays..reminds me of hot wheels, in a weird sort of way.

* Keys are small and very multioperational
not a big deal. They have to pack it in this is what people request.

* Turn G3 off when not using will save battery time. Also turn beams and bluetooth off.

* Always remember to quit out of apps after done by holding down menu bar which will take you directly to Task Manager then clk stop out of each app...will also save battery time. Takes 3 seconds.

~~~~~ The phone was $100 kinda cheap. Also Cingular does offer Insurance on the Blackjack. Other PDA's they do not.Hopefully
it will last for 2 years as its only 2 weeks old. Thanks to others for their reviews.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


one of the best...

 

Aug 23, 2007 by crackberry

this phone is an overall best in class device. it combines all the things you want in a pda/smartphone. reception is great, screen clear, easy navigation of menus, great phone book, STEREO BLUETOOTH... the keypad layout is the only real con i have with the phone. battery life is average. i am used to charging ANY phone i have every night so it wasn't an issue for me. if you get this phone, you won't be sorry.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Don't bet on Black... Jack.

 

Aug 20, 2007 by tougemonster

First and foremost, I am just like most people on this site that have owned many cell phones in many different form factors and operating systems.

When I first saw the Blackjack, I had to have it. But soonafter, I realized that it isn't what I expected it to be.

Long story short, I am on my 4th phone through a warranty exchange from AT&T. My issues ranged from no signal in places where any of my other phones with lesser quality and investment had a minimum of 3 bars. I also had issues with sending mmms and playing my media. In total, I have spent 5 hours on the phone with AT&T and Samsung customer service to troubleshoot and resolve some of the issues. But to no avail, the issues continued to occur and now AT&T has allowed me to trade up to the Blackberry Curve which has absolutely no negative reviews I could find.

In conclusion, the concept for the Blackjack was great but the execution failed miserably for me. So, in my opinion, purchasing cell phones are always a gamble but in this case, do not bet on Black, Jack.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Off the Hook

 

Aug 17, 2007 by woz33

So this is basically what i have to say, the blackjack can do anything from just send a quick easy text with the convenient keypad to getting on the web and searching any site you would like. I just received this phone not to long ago and it is amazing. i highly recommend this phone over the blackberry cuz those get scratched up so easily. yea it isn't a touch screen and one good thing is that it wont get scratched when u r touching it. also u can order with a free case to make ur phone all the safer. last but not least there are no cons to this phone it is one outstanding phone that u can get used to easily.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 123 4 567...11

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2017 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1

This is a preview. Click for full glossary page.