Phone Scoop

printed August 1, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1063&s=h&p=17

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SYNC SGH-A707

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

3.87
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1...141516 17 18

bad phone

 

Feb 6, 2008 by krs3828

SGH-A707, purchased six months ago,phone won't work inside my house.i have to go outside to use, the sim has been replaced three times, ten days ago at&t replaced the phone. today i took it to SAMSUNG's service center in plano,texas.once there i was told that i would have to mail the phone to them.i pay alot for phone service, and this phone wasn't cheap.now after all my time and trouble i must buy something that does work and wont drop so many calls.please save yourself from this fate, run dont walk from this phone,as well as from SAMSUNG.they just didn't seem to care. ken

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


HORRIBLE

 

Dec 25, 2007 by kendallptaylor

OMG this is such a sucky phone. i expected more from samsung. this is the worst phone i have ever had. i canceled my contract with att and went to verizon where i got the voyager. this is the best phone ever invented. try this instead.

U SUCK CINGULAR AND SAMSUNG!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Watch out for drop calls

 

Nov 1, 2007 by bigsisuvone

I and my husband have the same phone and have only had it for about 5 months. The phone itself is nice little bulky but OK. The signal on the other hand is not very good. It doesn't matter what carrier we are talking to when my signal is lost. We have it from Cingular and since we've had it we have problems with dropped calls. I lose complete signal in my house and have to go outside to get the signal back. I have no signal in certain stores or in the hospital. We came from Verizon and when the contract is up we are going back to Verizon. There was not a problem with Verizon signal. I do however like the rollover minutes.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


good phone bad phone

 

Oct 15, 2007 by uncle dave

pros 2.mpg camera sleek design good screen display receive cons cannot receive pic messages from any other phone battery life is awful.may times its left me with out communication even after the three hour charge time

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


My day with the Sync

 

Jun 20, 2007 by chocolateman85006

This is a pretty awesome phone. Although I didn't keep it, I don't have many negative things to say about it.

Cons:
A little time consuming to get through menus.
It only came with the phone and charger.

Pros:
Looks nice
Call quality is good.
Camera/video is good.
Music sounds good.

It wasn't a bad phone. It's a good replacement to the 6126 {I really tried to like that phone}. I just need a phone that has more, but is less time comsuming to navigate through.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


SYNC = Sub par reception

 

May 31, 2007 by schlittertex

I like the layout of the phone and the tools that it has, but bottom line out of the three phones that I have (CINGY 8525, V3xx, and the SYNC), the SYNC is the worst of the three with reception. I can walk around my house with the other phones and be fine, and this one cuts in and out of reception every two seconds.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Its OK

 

May 14, 2007 by CourtneiC

I have the phone and is good for answering and making calls but if you are looking for all the fun aspects of a phone (MP3 ringtones, clear pictures and things of that nature). Besides that the phone is ok... it should be free if u start a new 2 year contract i believe.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good feature list but poor performance

 

May 7, 2007 by isprobi

I bought the SYNC as a replacement for my Sony Z520. Unfortunately the SYNC seems to have one major flaw like poor data reception. I use the MobiTV service quite a bit and find that the SYNC is unable to establish or hold a connection when I am in a low signal area like work. I work in an area that was converted from a computer room to office space, so, there are no windows and outer walls are concrete. We do not have 3G here yet, but, the SYNC cannot even manage EDGE, nor, GPRS connection. The Sony Z520 connects 98% of the time under these conditions, but, only has GPRS. Even when I have a very strong signal the SYNC pauses and skips. I tried a Nokia E62 and it had none of these problems.

Pros:
Large colorful screen
Large key that adult fingers can use

Cons:
Poor data reception
Batteries get quite warm with extended video playback of MobiTV
Low battery warnings with extended MobiTV use even when phone is plugged in
Spring loaded flip does not allow adjustment of display for optimal viewing; it is either fully closed, or, fully open
Only holds 100 Outlook appointments

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Ok phone. Pros and Cons balance

 

Mar 14, 2007 by dave77

Pros
* Great main display best I seen
* Good call sound on regular call.
* nice sounding ring tones 10 included
* one Soft button becomes mute after answering call
* Side buttons deactivate when closed
* Camera works better than expected camcorder function also.
* 24 meg of available in memory.
* 1000 contacts can be stored on phone
* Transflash / microSD card slot useful for transferring pictures
* Large buttons
* rubber stops to keep keypad from damaging display when closed
* quad-band
* blue-tooth File xfers work well. (note tested)

Cons
* SOFTWARE BUG---> When using the one button speed dial A707 occasionally calls directory assistance rather than the programmed number. That costs you $1.79 each time it connects. This especially happens when the phone is just turned on. I know 3 phones that have this trouble. critical minus>
* Directory assistance and a few other pay features are preprogrammed into the contacts list and cannot be deleted. When I complained, Cingular told me that it was Samsung and to contact them. Samsung says the 2 companies worked together.

* No mini earphone jack (major minus)
* No auto answer option while using headset
a must for trues hands free (major-minus)
* Reception average
* excessive echo at times very annoying
* Battery life poor 2 days light use
* poor speaker phone quality
* No data cable or headphone included
* Accessories over-priced
* A little complicated
* The games not full versions.
* Had to return the first one because spring in SD card slot was not working.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


If you own an Acura that has Bluetooth..this is the phone for you!

 

Dec 7, 2006 by frod

My husband and I both just purchased this phone..and I'm very impressed. We are both mid 40's so..some of it's features we don't use much, but having them available is great. And I really like the it's sound quality in the Acura..Outstanding!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1...141516 17 18

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1