Phone Scoop

printed August 27, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1061

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SCH-U340 / Snap

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  27  

Average Ratings

2.97
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

I like it

 

Jan 4, 2008 by aaleksis04

PROs

-small
-sleek
-weight
-phone color
-design
-good sound
-good vibrate
-good speaker
-nice wallpapers
-camera
-$39 as a brand new prepaid, but activated online as a regular phone. ;)

CONs about the phone.

-no WAP internet browser.
-can't download more ring tones
-not video capable

I have had phones with WAP with VZW and haven't used it much, and the videos either, so it doesn't bother me too much, it bothers me half a star :)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not so great for texting..

 

Oct 27, 2007 by floha

This is not a bad phone. It took me a long time to find a suitable replacement for my last Samsung, and for the most part I like this one. My only issue is I text a lot, and it's a pain in the ass to send a quick message.

Pros:
Nice and small
Loud ringer
3 alarm clocks
Camera is awesome
In case of emergency contacts

Cons:
Can't "teach" T9 (huge bummer)
Can't quickly send a text (multiple steps)
Pre-loaded ringtones are lame
Can't add new alerts for messages/alarms

It also annoys me that I have to press the right key to get to contacts, instead of the down arrow.. I'm just used to one way.

Overall I really like it, but the text messaging thing kills me. I hate having to spell out a word because I can't teach the T9 to recognize my name, or "Damn" or anything.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Good phone

 

Feb 16, 2007 by gsy

We received this phone free when we renewed our 2 year contract online for my wife. She's replacing a Samsung A530 which was long overdue for replacement. Overall, my wife is very happy with this phone.

Pros:
Free (online w/2 year contract)
Camera (quality is okay for cell phone)
Good fit and finish.
Nice color screen inside.
Nice size, a little bigger than A530
No external antenna
Very light weight
Good voice quality (good as A530)
Keys are bigger than A530

Cons:
Battery life could be better
Speaker phone could be louder.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good Simple Phone

 

Sep 13, 2008 by john3

Phone does the job. Reception is good when talking and voices are loud and clear. The price of $40 (prepaid) is a cheap alternative to more expensive phones. This phone is for people that don't want all the bells and whistles and no one should be surprised of the lacking of such (do the research before buying). I've owned Treo's and other high end phones but returned to the more simplified phone for that reason. It's lightweight and hardly noticable in my pocket. Good fit/finish and screen is large enough. Large key buttons is a plus for big fingers. Battery life shouldn't be a complaint if you don't use keypad volume/light,dial sounds,power sound on/off,backlight off, etc. Conserve power on the frills and will have plenty of battery juice. One compaint is it will lose service where my other phones didn't but this is in places like the cellar and closed in bathrooms. On heavy, cloudy days might lose service but only for a minute. This phones basic funtion is to call and receive calls. There shouldn't be any surprises at the lacking of features (you get what you pay for).

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Samsung SCH-u340 Nice Phone

 

Feb 8, 2007 by rocketmax

This is a very nice phone. Holds the signal very well and the reception is crystal clear. Has all the features found in similar phones including a camera (not a mega-pixel though), speaker-phone, calendar, notepad, calculator, alarm(s), world clock. Appears to be well made and of very good quality. Sleek and thin with nice coloring and a bright screen. I am very happy with it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


samsung sch-u340

 

Oct 19, 2008 by delapink3

I have owned this phone for almost a year. It has lasted a VERY long time for the amount of times I accidentally dropped it. I would say that it is over-all a very simple, non-complicated phone. Here are some of its pros and cons.

Pros
nice size
loud ring tones
loud vibrate

Cons
my keys kind of got stuck down a few times
easily damaged by water
scratches easily
shuts off when dropped
CORNY ring tones

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Samsung SCH U340 pros and cons

 

Nov 1, 2007 by liz1129

It does have many good features like:
1. good color display
2. nice camera features (no flash though)
3. voice signal commands
4. small shape and simple design
5. large keys
6. "In Case of Emergency" feature
7. the call timer display under recent calls displays your entire call minutes used and how long your last call was

the things that I was disappointed about were:
1. no games
2. not Internet capable
3. not able to add words to "word" text setting
4. not able to record voice and set as ringer
5. the ringers are lame
6. not blue-tooth capable
7. vibrate not very powerful (doesn't make noise when laying on a table)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Awesome Phone!

 

Mar 4, 2007 by rgwisk

Though this phone doesn't have Web abilites, I am very happy with all it's features, including fantastic reception and voice quality. Texting and MMS work perfectly and upload / download very quickly!!!

PRO's
-Small size
-Reception (tri-mode!!!)
-Sound quality
-Loud ringers
-Great volume for calls (no problem hearing people on the other end in noisy areas)
-Price...for a retail buy being only $149, you can't beat it

CON's
-No web (would have been nice to have, even it it was only to VZW's main system)...Not deducting a 0.5 star just because of this.

If you want a cell phone for it's true purpose of, well, a phone, this is a great choice for you!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


BEST ENTRY LEVEL PHONE FOR VERIZON

 

Feb 8, 2007 by slw

PROS:

NEW MENU (NO VERIZON UI)
GREAT RECEPTION
GREAT VOICE QUAILTY
PERFECT SIZE
149.95 FULL RETAIL
TRIMODE

CONS:

BATTERY LIFE
NO BLUETOOTH
NO WAP

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


a great phone

 

Feb 3, 2011 by mushmush1

dis phone is so wonderfully its easy to use and you can take its it any where and i will still be working its a nice color its fast to lean how to use save you a whole lot of money General
Product Type Cellular phone With digital camera .Service Provider Verizon Wireless .Width 1.8 in .Depth 0.7 in .Height 3.5 in .Weight 2.8 oz .Body Color Black,
Gray .Cellular
Technology CDMA2000 1X / AMPS .Band CDMA2000 1X 1900/800 / AMPS 800 .Phone Design Folder type phone .Antenna Internal .Vibrating Alert Yes .Polyphonic Ringer Yes .Call Timer Yes .Conference Call Capability Yes .Caller ID Yes .Speaker phone Yes .Messaging & Data Services
Short Messaging Service (SMS) Yes .Internet Browser Yes .Messaging / Data Features Text messages,
Multimedia messages (MMS) .Digital Camera
Still Image Resolutions 640 x 480 .Organizer
Alarm Clock Yes .Calendar Yes .Reminder Yes .Calculator Basic .Display
Type LCD display .Technology TFT .Display Resolution 128 x 160 pixels .Color Support Color .Color Depth 16-bit (65000 colors) .Display (2nd)
Type LCD display - Color .Display Resolution 96 x 96 pixels .Power
Type Power adapter .Battery
Talk Time Up to 210 min .

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 234

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1