Phone Scoop

printed October 25, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1052&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SCH-U420 Nimbus

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  24  

Average Ratings

3.29
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
 
Page 1 2 

Its Ok...

 

Feb 8, 2008 by nworb_213

I owned the U420 for about 4 months, at first texting was hard because of how far the slider went up. After a while you get used to it tho.
After about 3 months the top of the phone started getting really lose, my friend who also had the same phone had the same experience.

PROS:
great picture
great sound
has call waiting

CONS:
isnt built to last for a very long time

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great phone for the price

 

Oct 10, 2007 by Nicole510

I just bought this phone today when I renewed my contract with Alltel. So far, so good! It's a nice looking, small phone with great reception (in Ohio).

This is my first experience with a Bluetooth enabled phone and I'm loving that as well.

I see someone mentioned not being able to answer without sliding the phone open...yes, you can. There are 3 options to answer: slider, send key and 'any' key. The menu buttons ARE a tad small but most of the phones I looked at are going to a similar type of pad...small and sleek.

Adding contacts, setting the alarm, scrolling through the menu all took me about 15 minutes to work out...after that it was a breeze (and that was without reading the instruction booklet).

The feature that I like the most on this phone is the ability to change the font size when dialing. I have problems with my eyes and the larger font is incredibly easy to read.

I don't know that this would be the best phone for a tech-head but for anyone wanting a nice camera phone, it's fantastic!

I gave this phone a 4.5 instead of a 5.0 because it seems it would be easy to scratch the screen. The alltel rep told me they didn't have any covers because it's a slider...ebay has several. :)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


love it

 

Jul 14, 2007 by alex11

see i have had this fone for about a week now and i lov it. the only issue is that the arrow keys used to navigate through the menu are kinda small but other than taht its great. and dont be fooled wen ppl say u hav to slide it up to answer u do not u can select how to answer but overall i lov it and it is definently worth getting. the camera is good to i find it is better than on most. u can even cchange the lightness in it so it can be darker or light. i lov the fone and a good one to get.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Maybe not

 

Jun 23, 2007 by Voltman

Ok have had this phone for 2 months, I am not impressed any more.

You cant record music or sounds and use them as ring tones, thats not cool at all for when you hear a good song and want to record it and make it a ring tone.

The ringer is terrible if its turned up too loud, since I work outside and sometimes in noisy areas it sounds like the speaker is about to blow up if the ring tone is too loud.

Alltel tells me that since I was buying this phone out of my usuall calling area it would show "roaming" but I wouldn't be charged more since I had a National Plan, well I dont like seeing that "R" always flashing its very annoying.

The you cant answer the phone unless you use the slide, there are times when I just want to answer the phone and not even open it oh well thats not going to happen.

Phone gets hot after about 30 minutes of continued use, not cool when I am on a conference call.

Bluetooth needs a "code" to interface with the phone, never had a problem with any other phone I have had, seems kind of weird to me.

Is an ok phone for when I need it otherwise it just sits in my cup holder.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Wouldn't get another one if i had to

 

May 22, 2007 by babygrl81

i'm giving this one 1.5 because i had it for 3 months and loved it. but then last week the screen froze on a solid gray screen and won't come back on right. i can still make and answer calls but can't see who it is or text messages. the signal was always iffy but ok. now i got a replacement and as soon as i put the battery in it started getting hot, i know it's not the battery because it is from my old one and works great in it and stays cool in it but gets really hot in the new one. so not only is the old one messed up but the new one as well. have to wait and see what they do about it now.

pros.. loud ringer, ok signal, ok speaker, holds a good charge

cons... screen froze, battery gets hot, camera is lossy, buttons are too compact

guess maybe if you could find one that is free of those little bugs it would be a great phone. besides the screen freezing and the thing with the new one, i personally liked the phone. except for the camera but i dealt with it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Buy

 

Mar 16, 2007 by leatherwife

I would definitely recommend this phone. I'm not sure how well it works in difficult reception areas as I live right in town and haven't traveled with it, but so far I have been very satisfied.
Pros: Camera, overall look of the phone, sound quality and volume, bluetooth, price
Cons: The battery cover likes to pop off so make sure you have it snapped on tight

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I like it

 

Mar 4, 2008 by goodolphone15

I like this phone since I have had it it is a little hard to text on but is alright.I do like the Camera and the slide.Kinda Feels Cheap. The Signal Is kinda lousy too.

Overall I like the phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!

 

Dec 9, 2006 by lolz_im_addicted

it is the best EVER!!!!!!!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Returned Quickly

 

Dec 3, 2006 by dwight

when i bought my lg, i was tempted to try this one, glad i didn't. my mom got this one last week and has already traded it in. reception is terrible, dropping calls in places any phone would work. Alltel in the texas panhandle is iffy at best, but this one would struggle in town. the sliding thing was bothersome to her, and no, she isnt that old.:) the key pad was cramped and small. the back battery cover fell off everytime the phone was picked up. evidently, the menus were hard to navigate, but i can onlly assume, because she called me about ten times trying to save contacts in the phone.
in short, i can be tolerant of phone problems to an extent, but this one went way beyond that.

Pros...
it gets a .5 for the looks, i really like the slider. just thought it was cool

Cons...
flimsy
terible, to no reception
uncomfortable to hold and use
speaker phone sounded terrible
pretty much everything

pretty much there is nothing i can say positive about this phone. thankfully Alltel gives a week to try it. i see them getting a lot of these back.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page 1 2 

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1