Phone Scoop

printed September 23, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1048&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SGH-T629

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.75
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 34567

ITS pretty cool

 

Jun 5, 2007 by Meatwad

Well my bro and my mom has this phone, and well they say its AWESOME!

Pros: (that i see)

mp3
good bluetooth
camera is ok
flipping it is fun
comes with 4 or 5 different demo games
alarm
loud ringing when calling
theres instant mesagin
texting
good normal solid sized phone
themes are ok
strong phone (my bro drops his cellphone a lot and it doesnt break, not much scratches)
pretty cheap good phone
good internet
hmmm wat else i can think of, well tahts enough features

Cons:

no qwerty keyboard
and thats about it i think,

its an pretty good phone, for you cheap users, i say GET IT! but i already have an sidekick ID, which is COOL! but this is a great standard phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Say no to crippled t-mobile phones

 

Dec 15, 2006 by Carlx

T-Mobile had this phone designed for them, not you. Before you sign a contract and pay money to get this phone, make sure you really want it.

It plays MP3 ringers, but of course it can't just do it, they have to make it annoying.

It has high speed EDGE wireless internet and a nice large screen which would be great for web browsing, but the Samsung browser is terrible and the phone won't allow you to use any other browsers.

You can't use any of that fancy mapping stuff everyone else has because T-Mobile/Samsung won't let non-T-Mobile programs use the Internet service you paid for.

I couldn't figure out how to change the shortcut key that appears to be fixed to T-Zones.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Absolutely great:

 

Dec 11, 2006 by Holly.

I used to have the v360, bad idea, until it met its (un)fortunate end. This phone is an amazign change from the other.

Pros:
Micro SD slot
Loud speaker for MP3s
Set MP3s as ring tones.
Amazing screen resolution and color.
Can add words to dictionary (for texting)
Camera resolution
Overall size.
Reception is much better than the v360
Stereo bluetooth.

Cons:
No vibrate and ring option, only one or the other.
Screen easily gathers finger prints
Outer covering of screen prone to scratching.
Keys are sometimes unresponsive (annoying for frequent texters)
Charger and headset use the same port (not standard headset plug and can't use headset and charger at same time.)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


it is my new mobile

 

Jan 30, 2009 by anacasper

i see that it is a verynice mobile but there are some silly things i can't understand, would u please help me get it?
1- although it has an mp3 player but not all the mp3 files can be set as ringtones.
how can i solve this prob? please help me
u can answer me via mail

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Decent phone.

 

Nov 6, 2008 by pixiefairy1981

I have always used Motorola or Nokia. This is my first Samsung and first slider phone. I have had it for a full week now and have been playing with it enough to write a review (in my opinion).

Pro's
* Loud speakerphone
* Loud earpiece
* Bright display
* Ease of use
* Alarm - can repeat for everyday, everyday except weekends, or once (I love this feature)
* Expandable memory
* Camera is pretty decent for what it is
* Sleek design

Con's
* No option for vibe & ring
* Fragile - I bought a plastic cover and an LCD protective sticker, so this took care of that problem
* Organizer - not very user friendly. It took me a while to figure out how to set a reminder for something on a certain day.

Of course the con's are only my personal feelings, so someone else might not find them that annoying.

It's not the greatest phone out there, but it works for me. It's also not the kind of phone for people always dropping their phones. It scratches quite easily. Overall, this phone is good. I would recommend it to people who spend a lot of time worrying about the way their phone looks, but don't want to leave out certain features.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


deeoh1084 this is leonard from love2trade.com

 

Aug 30, 2008 by leonard8978

I got your offer and i just wanted to send you my email address so that you can contact me directly

My email address is leonard.sachin@yahoo.com

I will be waiting for your email.

Any one who gets this message should help me contact deeoh1084.

Thanks.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


text text text

 

Jul 18, 2008 by Akashrahi

okay straight to the details
I'm a texter. Plain and simple and my T-Mobile iPhone broke so I had to get a temporialy replacement for about month. Here are some pros and cons :)

PROS
* the keypad is great. Im used to touch screen but the keypad was so great that I decided that I was gonna keep the phone for a while
* the camera takes decent pictures ( slow though )
* the MMS capabilities are fresh cause my old iPhone didn't have MMS
* the screen was nice and bright
* nice MP3 ringtones
* sleek design

CONS
* screen atracts fingerprints but its a phone what do you expect
* the speaker phone is not bad.. But could be tuned up a little bit

Overall the phone is great would reccomend it **** (4 stars)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Solid phone.

 

Mar 20, 2008 by Ron96

This was my very first phone, and I must say I was pretty satisfied with what it had to offer. Its your standard slider phone with some descent multimedia functions.

It has a 1.3MP camera. I found photos to be of solid quality, definitely not the best but not the worst either. I also liked the photo editing options. They were fun to play around with. Though I was disappointed with the video record and playback, as they were average at best. The camera took a few seconds to snap a photo and video recording was kind of choppy. Theres also a camera shutter sound that can not be turned off. Didn't bother me much but still would annoy some owners.

Bluetooth was a welcome addition as well. Worked well during use and hardly ever lost connection with my headset. But battery life was noticeably reduced. Wasnt a major problem for me though. Voice commands worked great as well, on Bluetooth or off. I liked that I could just say the persons name I wanted to call. It was that easy, but sometimes it just wouldnt work.

The MP3 player was basic. Worked just like any stand alone MP3 player. Though I didnt like the interface very much. It was very generic in my opinion, and was also kind of sluggish. It did archive all my music though, which was nice. Overall pretty solid.

Now I must say this phone had pretty impressive call quality. I rarely heard complaints on the other end. Experienced not a single dropped call, and voice quality was impressive. This phone was a micro SD slot, for expansion of course. It uses Samsungs proprietary charge port, and unfortunatlely, headset port, which kept me from using this phone as my main MP3 player.

So all in all I'd say I was pretty satisfied with this phone. Pretty good battery life, call quality and feature set. As of this writing, this phone is already considered to be outdated, but still is very capable, especially if your a simple person in the market for a simple phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


stay away from this phone!

 

Jan 31, 2008 by hrstarbuck

We signed up for a family plan & got 2 of these phones. One died in 8 months & the other in 13 months. The screen looses it's ability to communicate w/ the rest of the phone. It basically goes blank & once turned off it's off for good. Slider here is a bad idea. FYI, I'm easy on phones! Do not get this phone! Even though it was "free" I'm still disappointed.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Okay phone

 

Jan 14, 2008 by ewokmonk

Very cool looking phone. Love the sliding function. Takes decent pictures. Liked the phone a lot but most of the time could not hear the ringer. The speakerphone was not loud enough either. Had it for three months, then started losing signal and dropping calls. So now have to get a new different phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 34567

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2