Phone Scoop

printed October 1, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1047&s=h&p=4

Home  ›  Phones  ›  BlackBerry  ›

BlackBerry 8703e

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

4.31
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 123 4 5

Whoa, a durable smartphone?

 

Feb 14, 2008 by Diermuid

I've had this phone for 15 months now, and I recently whacked the bejeesus out of it when I tripped in a parking garage... smashed the screen HARD on a steel pole. Amazingly, it sill works fine, the 'screen' is a polycarbonate cover that seems to sit 1/8" over the delicate LCD.

I've also dropped this thing from ear to concrete countless times, and it's fallen off the roof of my house twice. Still works fine! This also includes dropping the thing in a toilet just two weeks after I got it. I immediately removed the battery and left it over a air vent for a day and all that happened was the LCD sometimes dims out a bit.

This is one of the few phones that comes with a case that REALLY protects it too, the phone sits in the plastic sleeve with the (already durable) screen facing in. I was hesitant about this at first, but when you pick it up to see who is calling, the phone is ALREADY facing you.

I was worried about going to a Smartphone after years of phones crapping out too easily just from normal use. After the face cracked I went looking for an upgrade, but this phone has left me no reason to want to switch, RIM did a really good job.

The biggest downside was that I never did get around to installing all the wonderful things I probably could have. And after dozens of hard drops, it has gotten a bit touchy and occasionally has to reboot if I drop it. Give it 60 seconds though, and I am right back on Yahoo Messenger. I get the Blackberry "Users Lounge" emails, but it takes some time to add apps, and not all of them work right the first time.

Bootup time is impacted by how much space is filled up. I tend to log a lot of text messages, and when the memory is pretty much full, the phone gets doggy, so I just offload all the messages to a PC. They don't seem to download into a readable format, but I haven't tried too hard to figure that out.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Solid phone

 

Oct 27, 2007 by dmarkson

Overall BB 8703e has been great. I use BIS on VZW.

Pros:

Has the best phone section of any of the PDAs I have tried or read about. Has worked great in very fringe areas (where my e815 worked but RAZR maxx ve did not). Earpiece volume is loud enough, speakerphone could be louder. That gives the phone 4 of 5 stars hands down.

Sync with outlook great.

Push e-mail is good, but be warned that only blackberry mail is instant. Other accounts are only downloaded every 15 minutes. Would really like to be able to change that (or at least pull at will).

Build quality good. Keys solid.

Cons:

If the phone section did not work so well, these would degrade the score much more.

No media player, MMS or outgoing file attachments. The longer I have the BB, the more I miss those features.

Verizon customizations have disabled the GPS in firmware

Browser is slow and could be a lot better.

People that have said the BB is bulletproof are not quite correct, mine crashes or locks up at least once a week. I do have several third-party programs that could account for that. Jivetalk, BBToday, Freerange, BBSmart, Opera Mini.

BT limited to headset and sync. No DUN or file transfer.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


love it

 

Jul 16, 2007 by operagirl25

The only reason I can't give this phone a 5 is because I'm coming from the EnV and in 9 years of cellular experience, that was my fave phone by far!
We test the phones out here to show customers what the pros and cons are, and show them how to work them. I have to say, this Blackberry rocks! Much better than the 8830, of which I'm not a fan.
I will also say though, that unless you are familiar with Blackberry, this is not the phone for you. I don't think that's a negative, just that it's a different setup from a standard smartphone, and you need to go into buying it aware of that.
Also, if it takes you awhile to get used to phones, do not buy this unless you are content knowing you will need to read the manual. a lot. :)
Having said all that, if you are willing to sacrifice camera and mp3, this is a GREAT smartphone.....whether you're a soccer mom or a CEO!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


You'll Never Go Back!

 

Jul 4, 2007 by alert85

This BlackBerry is the best. I love the style, performance, and features of this assistant. I say assistant because that's what it does...assist you. Once you own a BlackBerry they say you are "hooked and won't go back to the last word.

Pros-
Syncs with PC
AMAZING with MS Outlook
Adding/removing email accts. is easy
Smaller and sleeker design
Easy to navigate
Bright color screen
Loud ringer tones
Free downloads available
...It's a BlackBerry

Cons-
None so far

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Blackberry vs. Treo

 

Jul 1, 2007 by michael russo

WOW!!! I am writing this review because I am so thoroughly impressed with this device. I love to work with new technology and I have owned several devices including the Treo. My experience with the treo wasn't bad, but with the Blackberry 8703e it has been incredible so far. I don't expect it to be any less than that based on what I've seen so far.

Pro's-
Very user friendly with big, bright, clear display. Download speeds are very fast(I have verizon) and seem to be much faster than Treo. Light weight compared to the Treo and doesn't feel like your wearing a brick! Blackberry enterprise syncronization is awsome!!! Anything from my corporate Outlook is automatically sync'd. Crystal clear sound in both the earpiece and speakerphone. Nice "snap" feel to the keys and the trackwheel. Enough, but not too many, settings for each application. I could go on and on!

Con's-
NONE!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great except Vista notebook modem problem

 

Apr 19, 2007 by epdobson

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This is the best phone I have ever used.

 

Mar 20, 2007 by markadmin

I have owned almost every PDA/Phone out there at one point or another. This phone is by far the best phone I have ever used. I switched from the Moto Q which was an OK device but nothing like this. I forgot how nice the BB software is. One minor issue no support for wav file playback of email attachments.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Outgoing audio not so great

 

Mar 19, 2007 by rogueLeader

My girlfriend has gone through 2 of these Blackberry's so far, due to the terrible outgoing audio quality. Every time she's on the phone I hear her say at least once or twice "Can you hear me now? I hate this phone!". This happens with a full signal quality.

While it's a great phone to have if you need to be perpetually connected to your office e-mail, it's terrible for actually having conversations. While she's speaking, her voice fades away to nothing. It literally sounds like she's slowly pulling the phone away from her face as she's speaking. There's no break-up or static, it's just the volume.

It's hard to believe we've gotten 2 defective phones in a row, which is why I'm writing this review as a warning.

She has also used it as a "modem" on her laptop, using the USB cable, and it's definitely not high-speed bandwidth. More like a 28.8 baud modem.

PROs:
QWERTY keyboard
Instant e-mail receipt (as long as your company runs a Blackberry server)
One-handed usability

CONs:
Terrible audio (outgoing) quality
Web Browser is definitely not running at high-bandwidth speed
Battery life

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


man this is awesome!!

 

Jan 4, 2007 by tazcalvin

i never used BB before in my life.
this phone is my first BB device and oh my god!!
this phone is kick AS*~

here are my pros and cons

pros:
great great reception
very easy to use "fool proof" access
nice screen
thumb wheel
very loud and clear speaker phone
nice keyboard for small/medium size hand
VERY SOLID OPERATING SYSTEM
fast battery charge and long life
easy to setup with a computer

cons:
no camera-it could be better
size - little bit wider but much lighter
thumb wheel- it could be painful when you in
hurry
vibration - it could be stronger but it isnt
keyboard - as i said it is only useful for
those of who has small/medium
sized hands
VZW service - yes it is pricey but you get
what you pay for. 45 bucks?
come on!!

my first bb impression is just amazing.
i would recommend very strongly for small business owners or students who need to
follow their schedule.

if you are sick and tired of palm treo/ moto Q' unreliable performances and lagging then
you must try this out. you will love it!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


good, but...

 

Oct 20, 2006 by susancarr

After having 3 q's, which were the bane of my existence, finally someone at Verizon took pity on me and granted my request for the BB PEARL. Unfortunately, it's only available thru TMobile and I rec'd the 8703e instead.... not what I'd expected, but alas, FAR FAR superior to the Q. Fair warning: the Q will seduce you -- it looks GREAT on paper, but simply too many bugs - you can not depend on it.

So, here's my beef about the 8703e:

CONS:
no memory card expansion slot (WHY??)
no camera
no music player (why?)

also,
no voice recognition
no voice memo feature
no GSM (vs. PEARL)
no predictive text entry

and lastly, it's too WIDE for smaller hands: it's almost exactly as wide as the Q, at 2.7" (PEARL is 2.0")

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 123 4 5

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1