Phone Scoop

printed October 21, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1041&s=h&p=3

Home  ›  Phones  ›  HTC  ›

HTC Dash / S620 / S621 (Excalibur)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.77
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 12 3 456...10

Great Phone Highly Recommendded

 

Jul 2, 2007 by nyfinest88

this phone has everything a person needs in a phone this is my first smartphone and i think i could keep this forever. the call quality is flawless the ringtones are super loud with a memory card u can put so many songs on it it can replace ya ipod and if u download windows mobile 6 it can replace your computer!!! the aim is flawless the battery life last the whole day! If I could Ill Give This Phone A All Around 100 PERFECT PHONE BUY IT!!!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Smart Phone

 

Mar 30, 2007 by pi007

Had this phone for about 4 months now andn wanted to wait a little while before adding my 2 cents.
Firstly I use this phone daily and sometimes at least a good 16 hours a day.
Overall the phones a good one, nice to hold and a little heavier than it looks so you wont drop it as easy or loose it.
Its overall power seems to be ok, I use mine alot for business and find it runs a little low on the battery after steady 12 hours use ad I have to charge it with my car jack , its actually not as good as my verizon v was on battery but I can deal with it.
Strong sound and good camera.
Text is easy and screen large enough to read the longest email.
I must tell you I have changed mine out with tmobile once already , my first dash kept freezing on some screens. My new one is working Aok but still hangs in some screens for a short time. Has not bugged me too much as yet.
User friendly ahh not so much so, it took me a little to get around the phone and trust me ive used most phones out there, im a cell junkie travel to Europe alot and use the latest tech in the UK so i think I know.
Once you get familiar with it its better, but thats the same with everything, what can we expect with a small phone thats packed like a pc???
IF you want a phone that everyone is asking questions about, one that works well with all windows software, fun with loads of applications then Dash is it.
I just looked at verizon again the trio x?? just to keep my options open:-)ahh was thinking of going back over to verizon, haaaaaaaa wont do it yet, trio x was not what I thought and im not convinced its better that the dash yet? verizon service maybe a little better but expensive, tmobile better priced and my fav 5 is a blast and saves me a ton of texts and call charges that verizon would be dingin me for right now as well as free text bundle a better way to go. Verizon cant touch that or the dash yet...

Hope this helps email with questions..

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


I'm back!!

 

Jan 27, 2007 by John IDMS

The Dash is really the Smartphone to own. T-Mobile has come a long way since I first got the PPC phone from them in 2001. Personally I think it is the addition of the 850 band that helps the reception so much. I just turned in my Blackberry Pearl which was an awesome phone...but the Dash is even better in terms of reception and call clarity.

Pro's: Everything

Con's: This device is a lagger when it comes to moving from the main screen to contacts....I mean REAL slow compared to any other phone I've owned (Pearl, Nokia 6102, Moto Blue flip, iMate SP3, TMO SDA, TMO PPC phone).

If you want a good Smartphone...this is the best on the market. I hear that HTC may be coming out with an upgraded processor on this device, but for now it has been canceled. I do miss the responsiveness of the other PDA's but the call quality makes up for the lagging. TMO has good plans and now with the addition of the 850 band, the issues of bad reception are gone. I've only had the phone for a few days, but I've really run it through the paces.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


T-Mobile Dash Customer Review

 

Nov 21, 2007 by Cellphone76

This phone is awesome! It fits MY needs and does everything it was designed to do flawlessly. I previously have owned a Motorla Razr in addition to some other cheaper flip phones, and the Dash blows all of these out of the water in terms of functions and quality. I can listen to my MP3's, check/send my emails, send text messages, surf the 'net, make phone calls, the list goes on and on and on....

Pros:
Great sound quality
Compact and slimmer than a Blackberry

Cons:
None that I can really think of....

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Piece of junk

 

Oct 8, 2007 by x2xist

This phone has had more problems then any other phone I have owned, and I have owned a lot.

The phone freezes up all the time. When I pull the battery out to restart it the home screen goes back to the default setting.

The internet freezes up all the time, requiring the phone to be rebooted.

The phone powers down all the time and freezes up, requiring you to pull the battery out to restart it.

If the phone freezes as a result of getting a text message, the text message will be gone when you reboot the phone.

I have been through two phones and it's the same on both. The new phone I got has the added enjoyment of some weird buzzing on some of the phone calls.

The alarm, once set, will not stop going off day after day even though it indicates that the alarm is off.

Do not buy this piece of junk.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone but just a lil buggy

 

Jul 3, 2007 by htrony

I've had this phone for over 6 months, using it with both WM 5 & 6. I've used other smartphones, pocket pc's, and non-pda phones before including all types of form factors.

As a cell phone itself, its quite good, though I wish the volume in the ear piece could be a little higher, but I think all cell phone's volumes should also be louder.

As a PDA, again, its quite good. There are tons of forums and sites online that give you almost instantaneous help with Microsoft phones for free. There is also tons of software for it as well. I know some people like the touch screen, but I honestly prefer this device as it gives you a great experience of one handed use (which I think is extremely convenient)

Push E-mail can be tricky to get working, but I just recommend forwarding e-mail to a Windows Live Hotmail Account, so it hardly requires any setting up besides entering user name and password.

Pro's
keyboard is great
not only slim, but nice rounded corners that feel good in the pocket
The phone is very comfortable to hold to the face (at first i thought it would be like holding a calculator to my face, but I actually like the form factor)

Con's
Battery Life is okay (it easily lasts a day, but wi-fi will kill your battery)
WM5 was kind of buggy, and so is WM6, but for almost every bug, there is usually a work around

Many people on many forums have complained about the screen internally cracking (which would cost anywhere from $60-$150 to fix, depending if you do it yourself or send it in). I've seen this personally twice, and usually it randomly happens and not a result of abusing the phone physically. So if you were to get it, I highly recommend checking out your warranty options. Apparently T-Mobile sometimes charges you a fee of $110 to fix it, and sometimes they don't.

Although my review may sound negative, I assure you this phone "gets the job done". Mp3 ring tones, calling, synchronizing data, email, its all a breeze on this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Enjoyed it

 

Nov 7, 2010 by narn3049

Incredibly durable. Both me and my sister owned this same phone, and it was always ALWAYS tossed around, and the screen went out once or twice. Keypad stopped working, making me/her having to get a new phone. But i loved it.

the phone was amazing, durable. Fun to text on..

There are no cons at all.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


best phone ive ever had

 

Jun 4, 2009 by nytro

this phone feels great and does all the stuff i want: wi-fi is fabulous

i use it for browsing,and reading books and of course e mails and texts and calls.

does it all fantasticly!

if it broke i would buy another one,i hate those touch screens !

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The worst phone ever

 

Apr 28, 2009 by aendeberya

I have had a lot of phones in my life and this one by far is the worst. I've always thought of HTC phones as a top notch, which dont get me wrong they are great. Except this phone. It takes about 10 minutes for it to turn on, it has a mind of its own, it does things I do not request it to do. It freezes up more then an old PC does. At first I thought it might just be me. My boyfriend also ownes this phone and he has the sam eproblems with it. It is just impossible to you. DO NOT GET THIS PHONE, YOU WILL REGRET IT. It is true though, some people love it and some people hate it, I guess you know what category I fall under ;)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


ITS NOT ALL ITS CRACKED UP TO BE

 

Feb 21, 2009 by raul.diane2009

I LOOOOVED THE PHONE FROM THE BEGINNING, ITS VERY USER FRIENDLY AND GIVES YOU THE WORLD IN THE PALM OF YOUR HAND. AWESOME OPERATING SYSTEM (WINDOWS MOBILE OH YEA!) & VERY USER FRIENDLY. I ENDED UP SELLING THE PHONE TO A COLLEAGUE AT WORK, WHO SHALL REMAIN NAMELESS. BAD BATTERY LIFE AFTER A MONTHS USE, EVEN WITH A REPLACEMENT BATTERY (Talk: 5 hours max HA HA YEA RIGHT). THE ALARM WOULD GO OFF AT RANDOM, EVEN WHEN THE PHONE WAS OFF AND ALARM WAS DISABLED. HIGHLY INAPPRIATE ACTIONS SUCH AS THESE IS WHAT CAUSED ME TO GET RID OF THE DEVICE.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 12 3 456...10

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2