We're giving away 10 HTC One (M8) harman/kardon edition phones for Sprint! Enter now!
Phone Scoop

printed October 2, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1030&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SGH-C417 / C416

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  25  

Average Ratings

2.11
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 34567

its just ok

 

Nov 22, 2006 by lukyduk04

this phone is great if you need the basics

pros:
thin design
loud ring
great signal

cons:
low speaker
camera is very basic
no good ringtones
cant put face to caller id
bluetooth sucks

overall this is truely a plain phone im going to try the 8125 pda

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


blah blah...boring

 

Oct 21, 2006 by kisstine

I've had Samsung phones in the past and was pretty satisfied with them. However, the C417 is not the case.

CONS: Bluetooth connection is horrible. I'm lucky if it connects to my bluetooth headset. It's very frustrating to have to redo it over and over until it connects to my headset. My other phones have seamless connection with my headset, so I know it's the C417 malfunctioning.

Reception is a joke. It can't hold onto the signal that great. I look at my phone and notice that it's struggling to hold on, and then suddenly goes down to bars. It does not fight for signal strength like my SE phones do. And it stays reception-less for quite a while. Even when I get back into an area that has reception, it takes a while to get it back.

UI is lacking. Basic, yes. But not enough to make me content even with a basic phone. Menu is slow, and not alot of customizing can be done.

PROS: Thin factor makes it perfect for slipping into the not so roomy pockets, and it doesn't give a big bulge. It's also lightweight.

Overall, I hate this phone, except for the fact that it's thin. Samsung needs to step it up.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Avoid this phone like the PLAGUE

 

Dec 17, 2006 by erisedilla

There are very few positive things about this phone. And what pros exist are very VERY quickly outweighed by the "INSERT SIM" messages I got constantly (at least once a day on each phone) on Both phones I had. Yes, the messages kept recurring on mine AND my daughter's original phones so we replaced BOTH of them (through cingular) and now BOTH of the replacements are coming up with the message as well. Just to clarify, when these messages happen you cannot make or receive calls, the alarms don't work, and there is only a very quiet notification that the message has popped up, meaning that you can be out of communication for hours at a time. Features aside, I need a phone that Works, and this one certainly does Not. There should be a recall - FOUR phones with the exact same manufacturer's defect isn't just a fluke. Please, Please save yourself the hassle that I've been through with this phone and choose something different!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


My phone do not see other phone bluetooth device

 

Jan 7, 2008 by dbash

The phone product is Samsung SGH-C417. It does not see other phone bluetooth device. When ever I search for other bluetooth device's it will always say "bluetooth device found".
What is the possible solution to this ?

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Phone Stinks

 

Dec 8, 2007 by Steve-o

I've had this phone for over a year and I have been losing calls on it 10 to 15 times per day. The bad part is I only talk to 2 or 3 people per day. Since I am under a contract with AT&T, I though for sure I could not cancel. So I decided to go to the store and complain about this. The moment I show the clerk the phone he tell me that the phone has been taken off the market because it is a defective phone. Unfortunately for me, the warranty was up. So now I have this piece of a phone and have to buy a new one. AT&T offered to sell me a new one a discounted price if I sign another contract. Yeah, like I'm going to let them own me for a longer term and sell me some piece phone that they are trying to dump on unsuspecting customers. Once that phone turns out to be a lemon, then AT&T can just sign me for a longer term. No thank you. AT&T sucks!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


SAMSUNG SGH- C417 C Is junk, AT&T no help

 

Oct 28, 2007 by leresource1

I purchased this phone through Cingular/AT&T had the SIM card replaced twice, phone would drop calls and miss other regularily. After complaining for six months and the battery not lasting they replaced the battery. After it continued they finally replace the phone. The new SGH had the same problems and they replaced it after three weeks with an LG phone. Today I received a 115.00 bill for the original phone, said it had damage. The thing never worked right from the day I got it. I had a friend that was more forcible and just returned it to the store. Can't wait to end my contract with AT&T. NEVER sign up for more than a year, never know what kind of response you will get from the provider! Only postive the LG is working fine.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


C417 JOKE

 

Aug 21, 2007 by p.russow

I HAVE OWNED A C417 FOR OVER A YEAR NOW AND GOT IT OFF OF A SALEPERSON'S SUGGESTION OVER A MOTOROLA. THAT WAS A MISTAKE.

PROS: SLIM DESIGN, DECENT BATTERY LIFE IN STANDBY. CAMERA IS DECENT, AND HEADSET VOLUME IS OK.

CONS: INSERT SIM CODE HAPPENS ON MINE ALMOST DAILY, IF NOT SEVERAL TIMES A DAY AND EVEN DURING CALLS. CUSTOMIZING THE BUTTONS ARE IMPOSSIBLE, DURABILITY OF PHONE IN GENERAL IS NOWHERE NEAR SOME OTHER PHONES I HAVE OWNED. I OWN SEVERAL SAMSUNG PRODUCTS AND THOUGHT THIS PHONE WOULD CARRY THE SAME QUALITY. I WAS WRONG.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Horrible phone after a few months

 

Aug 17, 2007 by bkozi

Pos: *display is bright
*very slim and light

Cons: *Insert sim error is very frequent
*Dropped Calls are frequent
*Volume is not very loud in ear piece

This phone is junk with just under a year of use. Samsung needs to get back to the basics and make a phone that works first and then work on the special features next. This phone might be light but that does not do any good if I cannot connect to place calls of if I get insert sim card errors.

My other phone is a sanyo M1 and that baby is used in the same areas and never gets dropped calls so I know it's not the signal.

I would not recommend this phone to anyone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Quality at a Reasonable Price

 

May 7, 2007 by Px3

Pro's

Slim
Bright
Clear
Appealing
Comfortable-not too small where it's going to fall out of your hand, etc
Very light
Does not feel cheap
Time always displayed
Large Font

Con's
Cannot change button's uses (up/down/left/right shortcuts cannot be changed)
Took me a minute to find the charge jack...haha. Very discreet.
Pictures are OK...nothing special
No video recording

Overall a very good phone for the price, I got mine for right around $60 after rebates.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


More Bars in More Places, Unless You've Got a Samsung

 

Oct 2, 2006 by GravityFails

My first phone was a Samsung SCH-1500 with Sprint, and it was an absolute dog. I might have used it for a total of two minutes in about a year, only partially because the airtime was fifty cents per minute.

I've had a total of three Samsung phones, and each one of them has gotten little or no reception where other phones do fine. The a645 with Alltel is also a mutt when it comes to pulling in the waves, along with the aforementioned 1500. It figures, then, that the c417 is a true Samsung in all aspects, good and bad.

First, the good.

When it comes to build quality, no other company can touch Samsung. Their stuff is always tight and compact, with no rattles, no squeaks, and as far as I've seen, no screen issues. Where their phones go wrong, at least for me, is always with regard to reception.

PROS:

+ Great-looking screen
+ Superior construction
+ Unique and, dare I say, dazzling UI
+ Good battery life
+ Monochrome external screen

CONS:

- Sub-par reception
- Lack of customizable options such as soft keys and 5-way buttons

Although this is sold as a basic handset, it feels anything but basic due to its appearance and construction. If Samsung wishes to reprise its role as an industry leader, however, the company must learn to imitate not only the design of Motorola's hottest sellers, but their functionality as well.

All in all, the c417 is not a bad phone. Just don't expect miracles when it comes to making calls.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 34567

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2