Phone Scoop

printed April 19, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1021

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SGH-T619

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  10  

Average Ratings

2.69
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

I liked this phone until it took a dump on me.

 

Dec 3, 2007 by stacysdad

I am a fan of the clam shell design and prefer not to have an external antenna. When I got this phone I was concerned about the durability but it held together for me. Even the power jack port cover didn't break (flimsy piece of poo). Then, after 10 months... BOOM!
Positives: Light weight, slim, good sound, decent battery life.
Negatives:
1. No Ring/Vibrate option. You have to choose one or the other.
2. Screen is blank unless you open or press the volume button.
3. Camera always makes shutter noise, even in silent mode.
4. Side camera button is too easily activates and take many unwanted pocket pictures.
5. Cannot use an MP3 as your ringtone.
6. Navigation is confusing.
7. Setting up Group/Caller ID or ringtones are frustratingly difficult.
8. No service light

Now for the FATAL FLAWS.
1. Chooses not to connect calls sometimes. You dial, it says your calling, but no tone or connection.
2. Network Failure messages
3. Inconsistent text message success.
4. Drops calls no matter where you are at.

It is apparent that the problems with this phone are due to the phone, not the network. It worked fine for 10 months then one day it just stopped working. 1 out of 10 calls go through and text messages may take 20 trys before sending. I am now waiting for my replacement from tmobile (another T619). The tmobile operator told me that they know the phone is crap and initially offered a Razor as an exchange but when she spoke with her boss they told her the Razor is not an option and that if I wanted a different model I would have to extend my contract. Not being the primary I have to settle for the same crap. They did say that if this one doesn't work they will try to add a comparable exchange phone. Per the operator, these problems are not included on T-Mobile's problem watch list for this phone. Please, do not get this phone! Currently T-Mobile it trying to eliminate it from their offered list. In reading the other reviews, this is a bad phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not bad....

 

Jan 9, 2007 by fon3xpert915

I bought this phone because I lost my blackberry pearl, I got this phone for 19.99 with a one month extension. It has to be one of the best phones out for the price, very nice camera resolution, some limitations to the video however, and mp3 player could be louder.

pros:
nice design
great price.
mp3 player
nice camera
comes with music video, 4 games,and hifi ringtone installed.
Color exterior display.

CONS:
mp3 player could be louder.
no usb cable
cannot transfer mp3 files to use as ringers as with previous phones. (if possible please let me know)
Video somewhat limited.

Overall A good solid phone, simple with a few extra's which is nice for a free/inexpensive phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Love it!!!!

 

Oct 19, 2006 by knn_dm

I just got this phone yesterday and it is one of the best phones I've ever had.T-Mobile and Samsung made a winner with this phone.

PROS:
Excellent call clarity and volume
Great Camera
Good Video
MP3 Player is awesome too.
Ringtones sound good.
Thin design
Compact

CONS:
No external memory for MP3's

....and you can set the MP3's as ringtones. Thats awesome.Overall a good buy. I recommend it to anyone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Very solid, full featured, flip phone

 

Nov 18, 2006 by rnckr

I got this phone as an upgrade from T-Mobile. I paid $25 with a 2 year contract extension. I could have gotten it for about $75 with a one year extension. I have had several Samsung phones in the past. The menu system is virtually identical to my previous phones. The form is more sleek than my other Samsung models. I like it a lot. It feels good in my hand and, I feel, looks very professional. The bluetooth works very well. I am using a Plantronics Voyager 510. (They almost match in color.)

I wish the outside screen stayed on so I could see the time. I am also disappointed that there is no service light. That means no way to tell if the phone is on and no way to know if you have a message or missed call without activating the outer screen (hold down volume button) or opening the flip. The voice recognition is different than I have seen before. You don't have to have it learn your voice. It is supposed to figure it out on its own but it doesn't work at all.

Pros:
-Great reception
-Very good battery life
-Excellent audio quality/clarity
-Bluetooth
-Sleek design
-Speakerphone volume

Cons:
-No service light
-Outer screen doesn't stay on
-Voice recognition is virtually worthless
-Turning bluetooth on and off cumbersome

Overall, a very nice phone with a few issues. I intend to use it for some time to come.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Love it for what it is!!

 

Oct 30, 2006 by crash51

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I absolutely adore it

 

Nov 5, 2006 by LayLay12

Let me start off by saying " Thank You Jesus "

The Samsung T619 is without a doubt one of the best phones Samsung has ever made. Besides the super sleek design and its light weight, the SamsungT619 has a wonderful display, speaker, and large buttons that makes it easy for anyone to type. I also love the camera/video feature of the phone. Its really cool. I'm also a big fan of Hip Hop music and I have so much MP3 songs downloaded on that little $50 thing, you wouldn't believe it. I listen to music all day and night on that phone. And the reciption on that phone is so good, I can go downstairs in the basement and talk my butt off! This is my first Samsung phone and I am so satisfied with it. I enjoy being with it. We can talk about anything. LOL. Only the Razor can top this phone.

Cons:
None

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A decent, but not too great intro phone...

 

Sep 20, 2006 by sman91282

While this is a great phone for the price ($79.99 for 2-year contracts) from T-Mobile, it is not without its flaws. There is no real support for this phone among developers. That is mostly because its new. However, even new phones have software usually available at release time. Also, it is a bit uncomfortable to hold due to its small profile and plasticky feel. The upside of course is EDGE and 30mb of usable space if you delete the default applications and a default installed 5mb music video by someone who I never heard of. Also, it has great reception and audio clarity.

Pros:
-Great reception
-Excellent audio quality/clarity
-EDGE
-30mb usable space
-MYFAVES (T-Mobile service plan)

Cons:
-No expansion slot
-Lack of developer support
-Uncomfortable to hold

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


T619 Design

 

Jul 21, 2007 by rgronenb

Got this phone as an upgrade from T-Mobile last week and already returned it. While the small and light form factor is teriffic, the RF reception is just so-so. If you live in an area of marginal reception, this isn't the phone for you Also, as many have noted, the external display is useless. Not only does the backlight go out after a few seconds but the entire display goes blank. And since there is no flashing service light, you don't even know if you have any messages waiting unless you press and hold the side button to reactivate the display. This is not a good design at all.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


CrazySexyCool

 

Nov 21, 2006 by Zhane12

This phone is so crazy, so sexy, and so cool that I just had to buy it. I was a little skeptical at first, but now I am very satisfied. I never knew how happy I would be with a device but this phone has shown me it all. Ok, now with the Pros and Cons.

Pros
Everything

Cons
Nothing, I mean seriously it's a phone people not a computer. What more do you want from it?

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good so far

 

Oct 2, 2006 by bigshoes

I've had this phone 3 days now. It is a pretty good phone so far. The clarity and volume of the calls is very good. This is the first phone I've owned where I've actually been happy with clarity and volume settings available. I have not used the bluetooth, internet, or texting with this phone yet.

Pros:
Clarity (Minneapolis)
Volume
Size and weight
Decent Camera

Cons:
Shortcut keys can't be changed
I personally would rather have an LCD external display vs the lcd, which turns off and goes completely black until you press and hold a button.

Nuetral:
Battery Life - 3-4 days of light use it would appear (200 minutes talk, the rest standby, and playing around with too, so maybe a bad indicator of future life)
Speaker Phone, not very loud, but is clear and works well for the person on the other end.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2345

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1