Home  ›  Forums  ›

Rumor Mill

all discussions

show all 13 replies

Free Roaming?!?

JeeWiz

Dec 2, 2003, 11:19 AM
Someone told me that there are codes that can be entered for some carriers that disable roaming charges. Has anyone else heard of this? Is it true? Anyone have details?
rigidchassis

Dec 4, 2003, 3:49 AM
there are some codes, but they only allow you USE all carriers, but will charge roaming
Skins56

Dec 4, 2003, 12:29 PM
What carrier are you refering to? I work in the industry and the roaming is set up to where you can use anyone's tower as long as the technology is the same. If you are off the network in which you belong and you do not have a national plan you are billed roaming.
Mendel

Mar 25, 2004, 4:34 PM
is this the case with cingular???
ralph_on_me

Apr 15, 2004, 5:47 PM
Roaming costs are worked into the plan, and the only plan with unlimited roaming is the new GSM nation. All of the "codes" for roaming are provisioned on the cingular network and only serve to turn roaming functions on or off. There's no way to access them from your handset, and you can only get to them on a computer as a cingular employee
dtownsound8

Mar 28, 2004, 7:30 PM
well... working in the industry.. i can't concieve where you possibly got that info. You can't just roam on any tower that has the same technology. Company's have to set up roaming agreements with eachother.

Example: T-Mobile has roaming agreements with Cingular. That doesn't mean that a T-Mobile phone can roam on ALL of cingular's gsm towers. The roaming agreements are only for certain areas, thus a T-Mobile phone CANNOT roam on cingular gsm towers not included in the roaming agreements between the two companies, regardless of whether or not the technologies are the same.
Worf

Dec 7, 2003, 1:38 PM
Nextel phones do not roam, but they also won't work on another network. You can pay extra to have no roaming charges on your plan, but I don't see how a code in the phone will help you out.
moobak