Home  ›  Forums  ›

Shop Talk

all discussions

Tech Agent question on Possible Sales Job

renfield

Jul 26, 2004, 8:33 AM
Heyall, new to the forumns here but since I have the day off due to being home witha ruptured ear-drum (Makes my call center job a tad hard to do!) figured I'd sign up and start posting since I've been impressed with Phonescoop since I found it last year thanks to a customer.
By way of introduction I am currently a Cellphone Tech for Samsung phones (Work for an outsource company here in Austin, Texas). I do Level-1 support, Accessory sales and Data Support, meaning when customers call for help with Synchronizng their i-series phones to their computers (i300, i330, i500, i600 & i700), I'm one of the schmucks they get to talk to. Previous To Samsung I worked for Siemens (Same Outsource company that has since lsot the Siemens account to anoth...
(continues)
towermonkey

Jul 26, 2004, 11:55 AM
Personally, I have NO idea why a tech would want to switch to sales (I'm in the process of moving in the opposite direction, heh), BUT...

I've worked for Radio Crack, Sprint & Verizon.

The 'Crack sucked donkeys. I hated the job, my idiot co-workers, my evil lying sack-of-**** boss, the customers, the junk I HAD to sell... I could go on ad nauseam.

Sprint was marginally better. At least I was dealing solely with phones. The customers were still pretty bad, especially all the Clearpay deadbeats. Given that the store was in a ghetto, pretty much EVERY customer was a Clearpay $125 deposit, $125 ASL. The pay was abysmal. The phones were cool, and some of them were downright awesome. The benefits were both expensive & pretty sorry.

Ver...
(continues)
renfield

Jul 26, 2004, 9:36 PM
I'm actually looking at more of a part-time Job than anything else for now, but figure with my Tech experience it should be a cinch.