Home  ›  Forums  ›

Shop Talk

all discussions

show all 18 replies

How bout putting the plan in my *fill in the blank's* name?

justfinethanku

Sep 25, 2010, 3:50 PM
So far I've had customers request putting phones in their:

1 underage children's names
2 Dead brothers name
3 22 y/o cerebral palsy victims daughters name (a girl who couldn't speak... at all.)

The last one happened today and took the cake.
Da_Bonehead

Sep 25, 2010, 4:12 PM
When I was a Cable TV Technician I used to see this alot. I remember one that I went to their apartment to hook up the cable and I asked if "the person who name is on the work order" was here. The Lady said yes and I asked If I could speak with him and she said ok. called him into the Living room and it was a 10 year old boy. I explained to the lady that I could not have some one under 18 sign a service agreement. She was extemely mad.
My thoughts are JUST BECAUSE YOU RUINED YOUR CREDIT DOES NOT MEAN YOU SHOULD RUIN YOU KIDS CREDIT. They should be able to ruin their own credit just fine with out your help.

Sep 25, 2010, 7:26 PM
LOL....

I ask my customers to try that when I try to sign them up for TV service. But obviously I tell them it has to be with their permission and they have to be 18.

Those examples you two gave are 🤣
Amarantamin

Sep 25, 2010, 10:07 PM
I see a lot of accounts that say 'estate of', but the customer gives me the dead account holder's name and expects me to believe them. Sadly, if they have the security information, I have to pretend; even if we've verified proof of death.
Menno

Sep 26, 2010, 2:04 PM
I have a few to add:

-a 16 year old kid who wants to add his GF to his mother's plan.
-Had a customer who wanted me to set it up in MY name (they swore to pay me every month and bring me beer)
-Customer's who refuse to give me a social, but want 2yr pricing on phones.
Amarantamin

Sep 26, 2010, 2:08 PM
Free beer just for accepting somebody else's financial liability?

Score!
Menno

Sep 26, 2010, 2:15 PM