Home  ›  Forums  ›

Shop Talk

all discussions

show all 10 replies

What should I do?

charliegirl

Jul 20, 2010, 12:23 PM
I have been working for my employer for 8 years now. I have complete job security. But over the course of the past year they have cut my hours so much that I am making $10k less and our benefits keep going up so I am now paying $5k a year for basic health care(no vision or dental). I have an opportunity to go to a job that will pay at least $7k more and the benefits are 150% better and only cost $600 a year. They would also give me $100 a month towards my cell phone bill as well as free Internet. The down side is my commute would be a lot more and I don't have the job security. The job would be basically what I am doing now too and it's still in the wireless industry so I know a lot of the contacts already. Do you think I should risk ...
(continues)

Jul 20, 2010, 12:29 PM
Do you know exactly how they are 'going to make it up for you'?
charliegirl

Jul 20, 2010, 12:31 PM
no not at all. I said to my supervisor that if it is less then the $10k they have taken from me then it's not even worth discussing it. He just asked me to hold out. My review is supposed to be at the end of this week or beginning of next but I might have the interview for the new job on Frida.

Jul 20, 2010, 12:37 PM
You should probably go to the interview and see how that goes. That way you can also scope out the new potential work place, co-workers and bosses.

This way you can also not lose out on the new job opportunity and see what the 'making up' would be. If it's not what you want then you have the other one, if they give you what you want then you can politely turn down the other company.

Doing the interview for the other place is perfectly fine, and it's never a good idea to leave your current job without actually having the other one. It doesnt sound like the new job is locked in, just a possibility.
charliegirl

Jul 20, 2010, 12:46 PM