Home  ›  Forums  ›

Shop Talk

all discussions

show all 7 replies

A ghost of shop talk past needs some input

nytshad

Feb 19, 2009, 7:24 PM
Wow, haven't been on here in a short forever. Well, in case phonescoop cleared out their archives and I no longer have legitimate proof that I was a tech, please let me assure you that for 2 years I was indeed a Solectron/Flextronics tech/trainer.

And if not for an unfortunately swimming accident, I would likely still be. Now I'm a GameStop geek instead.

Having said that, I'd like a little input from the more competant techs out there. Preferably the ones who actually know what a PRL is (not what it stands for, what it actually IS).

My hubby and I are forced to get new phones, as our 3 year old V360s are in their deathrows. We are considering either the Sam T819 or the Nokia 5310. I've read the reviews and they are less than pr...
(continues)
IrishCarBomb

Feb 19, 2009, 7:45 PM
Samsung does a great job on their sliders, I had a d600 for a year and a half before I gave it to my brother, who has been using it for the past 6 months. So that is about 2 years of usage, and it is still going strong and feels almost as solid as the day I got it new. Of course, the d600 isn't a t819, but from my experience(I have helped about 10 friends get Samsung sliders, mostly the u600) other Samsung sliders have the same quality slider mechanism.

Nokia candy bar phones are always a durable product, and I would bet that if treated properly you can get 3 years of use out of it no problem. I do maybe 1 warranty claim for every 100 Nokia's sold, if not better rates then that. Personally, I am a big fan of Nokia when it comes to qua...
(continues)
ikon

Feb 19, 2009, 8:32 PM
nytshad said:
are either of these two phones solid equipment that'll last me another 3 years or am I just pissing in the wind?