Home  ›  Forums  ›

phonescoop.com

all discussions

show all 10 replies

Number Portability

PaulZen

Oct 25, 2003, 3:33 PM
Hi guys... I work as an indirect agent for Alltel, Sprint, and T-Mobile, and we've been starting to get bulletins on the number portability process. Excuse me when I say that it looks like it's going to be a royal pain in the ass for us reps. I got a memo from Alltel Corporate, outlining an EIGHT-STEP process. Not only is there kind of a convoluted process, but there are internally specified qualifications for eligibility for customers to port numbers, each carrier having their own set of qualifications. What these are exactly, I have yet to find out... anyone else know what any given company's qualifications are? I imagine a steady payment history is the first qualifier...
prcstrp

Oct 28, 2003, 7:21 PM
I work for ATT cust care and i feel bad for u guys...we haven't even found out if anything will change on how we will look up a cust. If there insurance on their old carrier will carry over..stuff like that..it surely will be a pain i guarantee.
Myth

Oct 28, 2003, 8:47 PM
prcstrp said:
I work for ATT cust care and i feel bad for u guys...we haven't even found out if anything will change on how we will look up a cust. If there insurance on their old carrier will carry over..stuff like that..it surely will be a pain i guarantee.

I almost envy you. Cingular's taken me through Phase 1 and 2 training already, with Phase 3 as soon as they finish updating our software.

As far as I know, we are treating is as a specialized form of new account. Start activation, move number & cancel old account, apply new number.

With that model, anything specific to the old account other than the number (insurance, bonus minutes, unlimited nights & weekends, etc) is gone.

I will, of cou...
(continues)
phonemanic

Oct 29, 2003, 5:41 PM